We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Giorgio
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed August 30, 2006

This was described as a three star hotel. The food was mainly aimed at continental guests. The buffet breakfast was left out, uncovered and un-refridgerated. My wife and I did not enjoy the food, however the large number of flies did, some of which were found floating in the food. The waiting on staff in the evening were totally unco-ordinated. The just looked into space, and when they did venture on to the floor walked past tables full of empty dishes. The rooms were OK althought our room was up a steep gradient about 150 metres from the dining room. One star possibly.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RonaldSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2006

The hotel was approximately 15 minutes walk from centre of Limone. It was very clean, with wonderful view across the lake to the mountains opposite.

Food was very good and plentiful. Staff were polite and helpful. Rooms were cleaned every day.

Pool excellent and clean.

Limone itself was very pretty and quieter than the other resorts which was very acceptable to us.

Defintely make a return visit.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2006

We stayed in this hotel in August 2005. Myself, wife and 2 teenage boys. The location was great a 15 minute walk out of town, therefore no noise. All the rooms overlooked the lake and gardens. Views of the hils/mountains were breathtaking. A short walk to the lake-side. However the food was very poor. Breakfast was OK, usual selection of bread, cold meats and cheese. Dinner was very poor. You had to order the night before, selection was poor, choice of 3 dishes, often duplicated from previous days. Salad bar was very basic. We had to wait sometimes for an hour to be served. If you rushed them then the food was undercooked. I have stayed in many hotels, in many different countries, this was the worst food I have ever had. There were very few staff around, it seemed to be run on a shoe-string. I have am trained and have many years experience in the hotel/catering busines.
When we returned to the UK, I complained and recieved a full refund for the half-board element of the holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rickybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2006

Not the usual layout for a hotel. Feels like you're stepping back a few years. Great service, but none of the extras (room fridge, air con, TV etc)

The rooms are mainly chalet type. The hotel is split into four or five different blocks each housing a number of rooms (chalets).All seem to have a lake view. The rooms are clean and simple. To be honest if you're on a lakes and mountains holiday you're probably not going to be spending that much time in the room.

The hotel caters for different nationalities. This is something I always prefer. As the previous article mentions - it avoids the 'Brits abroad' scenario.

As the hotel has only 60 bedrooms the food choice can be seen as limited for those people used to large Spanish hotels. I found the food to be very nice, well cooked. Obviously, a lot of varieties of pasta available throughout the week. Always a good variety of salads and 'colds'. This is a good hotel for the 'fussy eater', as it is buffet service. There are not many Italian hotel which provide this. Mainly, it is waiter service at many of the other hotels.Drink price were very reasonable.

The staff were very friendly and polite.

The pool area was lovely. As the area is a place to 'get out and about' - the pool was largely empty. It would get a little busier in the late afternoon when people came back from their days out.

The bar in the reception area was comfortable and welcoming. Again, prices were reasonable.

Do be prepared for the weather though. In July we had 5 glorious days - 1 overcast day and a day of constant thunder and torrential rain -- it is a mountain holiday afterall. We lost electricity (as did the other hotels) for part of the afternoon.

If this hotel was in the centre of Limone I'm sure they'd be able to charge another 1/3 on their prices. It is about 20 mins walk to the centre - with some uphill walking. So, bear this in mind when booking. There is a bus which serves some of the local hotels. This is fairly frequent.

My favourite part was the evening drinks. If you book this hotel try the bar on the lake front. Head straight down the hill from the hotel, through the campsite, turn left when you get to the lake. ABout 200 yds on the left is a bar set into the cliff. The air seems to be different - relaxation air - A couple of hours watching the sunset over the mountains Brilliant.

Limone is nice - a quaint lakeside village. Lots of souvenier shops and ice cream places. The ferry is great - serves as a regular bus service around the lake. Excursions to venice are also on offer.

Summary -
A nice, simple hotel which lends itself to a slow relaxing holiday. The walkis not too much of a problem - just needs a little planning ahead.
I would visit again.

Stayed: July 2003
16  Thank LetzSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2005

Just returned from a 2 week family holiday in Limone at the San Georgio. First let me say that Limone is absolutely stunning and a welcome break from the usual package deal holiday spot. Not a lot happens and there is some stiff walking up and down the roads to the old town/harbour, etc. but if you are looking for a tasteful and relaxing experience away from the usual "Brits abroad" crowd do try the top (northern) end of Lake Garda.

The San Georgio is described in the brochure as a 2 or 3 star hotel offering "basic" accommodation. This is a pretty accurate description - if you are looking for a more pampered holiday experience try the Leonardo da Vinci next door (but expect to pay for it!). We found the San Georgio perfectly adequate with attentive, very hard working and friendly staff with good food, mainly local home cooked dishes. Not much variety/choice for vegetarians but the normal primo piatti of pasta/soup/cold meats and simple but adequate secondo piatti and desserts.

The main attractions are the lake views (from all rooms) and the the hotel pool which during our first week we had almost to ourselves - marvellous! There is a little camp site just a few hundred metres away on the Lake shore where you can buy basic provisions, wine, cigarettes, etc. or just have a snack/coffee in the bar by the lake. Very cheap too.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
41  Thank Adytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer etwas dunkel ohne Meerblick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herzas2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Balkon ,im oberen stock Buchen da ist der Blick am See sehr schön
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone sul Garda
0.9 mi away
Albergo Sorriso
Albergo Sorriso
#28 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
33 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Balze Aktiv & Tennis
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coste
Hotel Coste
#23 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#27 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa La Gardenia & Villa Oleandra
Villa La Gardenia & Villa Oleand...
#25 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 1, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: $95 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel
Hotel San Giorgio Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing