We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel Lido”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lido
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel Lido”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have just returned from an unseasonably very hot week's stay at Hotel Lido followed by 2 nights in Sirmione. Hotel Lido was spot on for us - a small hotel with limited facilities, so not suitable if you are looking for sports/entertainment/lounge/bar as it has none of these things. However for us the most important criteria are 1) Position 2) Comfort and quietness of rooms 3) Food 4) Service and the Lido scores 150% for all these.

Position: Couldn't be better, directly on lake (just shoreline and water in front of hotel) and only about 5 mins walk (8 mins stroll in the heat!) to Limone centre. The room balconies all look out over the lake and mountains on the other side - as others have said, just the lapping of the waves to lull you to sleep. Many hotels were on the main road or the other side of the main road up the hill, but at the Lido you can escape the traffic altogether.

Rooms: Yes they are old fashioned and a little tired, as said by others, but this didn't bother us at all. The room was spacious with a sofa, plenty of hanging/shelf space, plenty of hooks, lovely refurbished bathroom, very large balcony with good plant screening on either side, also had a very useful fridge for milk and cold drinks (we always take our travel kettle as tea making facilities are a rarity in Europe). Quiet at all times (no noisy pool activities), also no noisy indoor corridors - all the rooms are accessed by an external corridor with several sets of steps going up to the first floor. No air con (which we didn't expect to need but as it got hotter every day, this would have been a bonus) - however there was a ceiling fan which cooled the room sufficiently. Comfortable beds, no disturbance from neighbours so we slept really well.

Food: Delicious, a 4 course meal every night (excluding coffee which is extra) and all cooked to order, no dried up buffet food here - the only buffet food was the starter salad. You can sit inside (dining room is in need of a facelift, and has very 60s style fluorescent lighting) or outside on the terrace surrounded by plants, which is what we preferred. More spacious here, dining room was crowded with tables very close together, there were tables not being used so I think they could seat people a little differently to give everyone more room. Breakfast with all the usual stuff, liked the way we could boil our own eggs and that the yoghurts were kept chilled, not out in a big bowl on the counter getting warm as is often the case. Coffee excellent and a good variety of types of coffee. All very yummy indeed.

Service: Absolutely faultless. Everyone we met was so polite and friendly. We were the only English people there so it was quite funny when we arrived, they had to specially translate (with the help of our waitress Irina who had good English) the dinner menu for us as it was only written in Italian and German. After the first night we had a menu typed in English. Irina was especially charming, but everyone was ready with a smile and eager to help if necessary. We didn't notice that the final bill did have a mistake, a bottle of wine was charged wrongly, but that was really our fault for not checking - there was a long list of items to go through and normally we do check the bill carefully before paying and leaving.

There is a small pool which was hardly used, no deep end which was fine for me not being a good swimmer! It's all at 1.25 metres. You can swim in the lake, which was colder than the pool. There are also plenty of cool shady spots with sun loungers and we often took our morning coffee down to the sun loungers right next to the lake, just a few steps away from the hotel. Absolutely idyllic.

Parking was easy at the hotel, but quite expensive in all the towns (1 or 2 euros per hour) - however the driving was an experience only for the brave! The main road going round the lake is absolutely horrendous. It is wide enough for a single lane of cars in each direction, but you have to constantly contend with motorbikes charging up the middle of the road and also many, many cyclists - there just isn't room to overtake them but the Italian drivers seem to think there is and get very impatient if you stay behind the cyclists. Much tooting and waving of arms! We took this road from Verona airport as we wanted to see the east side of the lake on the way to Limone, but if you don't want to do any sightseeing on the way, I think the motorway is definitely the safer option.

Limone (and all the towns) was amazingly pretty with its harbour, cobbled streets, hidden alleyways, fascinating shops. Every town has its own character, we visited Malcesine by boat (9 euros per person return) and took the cable car to Monte Baldo - for me not a pleasant experience as they pack 45 people into the car and I felt really claustrophobic, couldn't enjoy the ride at all. Once there the air is cool and the views pretty good, but you get a lot of mist and heat haze so you won't necessarily be able to see very far. The cable car cost 20 euros per person which for me was paying a lot for 15 minutes of torture, not something I would do again. Other places we visited by car - the Hbruska gardens at Gardone are amazing, really unusual, Riva is a lovely town on a grander scale, fantastic views from the tower, the waterfall at Varone and Lake Tenne and the mountain villages also very interesting. You can just travel by bus I think, though we didn't notice many buses on the roads, or by boat (could be costly). You can hire motor boats but this costs 65 euros per hour. Everything is quite expensive, I would say a little more than at home for ices, coffees etc. Their iced coffees are to die for (about 5.50 euros). All the towns are extremely well kept and clean, despite the number of tourists. And we managed to catch one of the firework displays at Limone, they only happen every 2 months or so - brilliant.
Sirmione is similar to Limone and Malcesine but without the mountain backdrop, just lake all around it. See my review of Hotel Pace.

All in all, Lake Garda is a stunning place and Hotel Lido is the best! Next time perhaps we will try going in April or May to avoid the 35 degree heat!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the lake, first floor rooms have excellent view and no noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jilleastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

An on the beach hotel, all rooms have a lake view balcony, and the constant sound of the gentle lapping waves is idyllic.

The room itself is basic, and more than adequate (mini bar, safe, TV, free wi-fi), comfortable and spotlessly clean. The room sparkles after the housekeepers have done their daily magic.

There are plenty of sun loungers to use by the pool, the garden or on the stoney beach, there are sunny and shady spots.

The staff - They are all just lovely, so attentive, friendly, cheerful, and nothing is too much trouble. The best hospitality you can wish for.

On the first night, we walked to the centre and had our dinner at one of the harbour restaurants, which was Rather Expensive. The next evening we ate at the Lido, and the food was far superior. Everything is freshly made. The pasta is superb. You can taste the freshness in the fish. Everything is so flavoursome. I'd mark this 6 out of 5 if I can. One of the guests commented that the Sachertorte is even better than the Austrian ones!! A wide selection of cold cuts and pastries on offer for breakfast.

No hesitation in going back there whatsoever.

Limone itself is like a secret hideaway, take a day trip to Malcesine by ferry €9 return, where it is more commercial, busier, livelier. You can take a ride on the cable car up to Mont Baldo (€19, 1760m) and to the castle €6 (I think).

Tips to travellers: We needed a taxi on the morning we checked out, it was less than 1 km to the ferry stop, we couldn't drag our suitcases along the stoney beach, nor the uphill winding road - we were charged €9 for the fare, so a bit of a shock. (We were collected when we checked in). Also, if you are flying home from Verona airport, allow yourself A LOT of time, it's a 20 min ferry ride across the lake to Malcesine (first one at 9.20am €6 one way), a 2 hour scheduled bus ride to Verona €5.80 (our trip took 3 hours - not a comfy journey, no air con, no water fountain, and no loo), then an airport shuttle bus (€6, 20 mins) or taxi €25, plus all your connection times. As we had a morning flight home, we had no option but to check out one day early from Lido :( to book into a hotel in Verona the night before. Airport is only 7 miles from centre of Verona.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelUpsAndDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is ON the beach! You can see and feel the lake breath right from your room balcony. Typical European breakfast, own parking. Friendly and helpful english speaking staff. 10 minutes to walk to get to boat station. Take the boat to opposite coast to get to the top of mountains by funicular. Amazing view on Garda lake!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y_ivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Exquisite food, picture postcards views, attentive but not overbearing staff and simple but opulent surroundings made this an ideal honeymoon destination.

We were greeted warmly on arrival by the manager and shown to our room which was modern but luxurious.

Breakfast offered all you could eat and want with free per view lake and mountain views. Dinner, while somewhat pricey, was a delight on the palate, and a welcome rest from the daily Italian visitor's diet of pizza and pasta.

I can not praise this hotel highly enough. The staff in the spa in particular could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Spent three nights there with my girlfriend. It is located right next to the beach!
Great dinner and breakfast. Free WiFi but with very poor signal strength. Unfortunately our room (I think all rooms are more or less the same) was really old. Didn't feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefanTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Good service and good food. Easy to get help washing ny clothes after à 9 days MTB transalp

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salgo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from our first visit to Lake Garda and spent a week at the Lido hotel in Limone. The resort is very picturesque and the surrounding scenery of the lakes and mountains is quite spectacular. There is an excellent ferry service across the lake and the surrounding villages are equally lovely with lots of shops and little terrace cafes and bars. The Lido is a family run hotel and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. However, I would have to say that overall our accommodation was disappointing! The rooms are very basic and sparsely furnished, although cleaned adequately with new towels and bed linen regularly.
We chose the Lido for it's location as we believed a hotel within the village would be noisy. The Lido is positioned on the lake and a 5 minute walk away from the resort centre. We thought it would be ideal to walk into the village in the evening. There is no actual bar in the Lido although you can buy drinks after your evening meal and sit at your table or in the reception area. So if you're looking for entertainment then you have to find it in Limone itself!! Most of the bars and restaurants close by 11.00pm and after talking to other visitors we discovered that it's because most of the other hotels provide entertainment in the evenings! They mostly provided free drinks with the evening meal which again was not offered at the Lido although the holiday was for the same or similar price. We were half-board and lots of choice but not always very edible!! Breakfast was adequate but again seemed to be a lot less than what was offered at other hotels. The other hotels provided breakfast for those who had an early start but we were given a tray in our room with a flask of coffee made up the night before with some pre-wrapped cakes!!
All in all, after speaking to other visitors to the resort we seemed to have "drawn a short straw". We would certainly go back to Limone as we found the area charming but we would choose a different hotel next time. Sorry but it was very disappointing!

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — Lack of entertainment and poor value for money
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bob948golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Sole
Hotel Garni Sole
#30 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#25 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Sorriso
Albergo Sorriso
#22 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosemarie
Hotel Rosemarie
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido

Property: Hotel Lido
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 36, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing