We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family but disappointing hotel experience”
Review of Hotel Lido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lido
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from our first visit to Lake Garda and spent a week at the Lido hotel in Limone. The resort is very picturesque and the surrounding scenery of the lakes and mountains is quite spectacular. There is an excellent ferry service across the lake and the surrounding villages are equally lovely with lots of shops and little terrace cafes and bars. The Lido is a family run hotel and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. However, I would have to say that overall our accommodation was disappointing! The rooms are very basic and sparsely furnished, although cleaned adequately with new towels and bed linen regularly.
We chose the Lido for it's location as we believed a hotel within the village would be noisy. The Lido is positioned on the lake and a 5 minute walk away from the resort centre. We thought it would be ideal to walk into the village in the evening. There is no actual bar in the Lido although you can buy drinks after your evening meal and sit at your table or in the reception area. So if you're looking for entertainment then you have to find it in Limone itself!! Most of the bars and restaurants close by 11.00pm and after talking to other visitors we discovered that it's because most of the other hotels provide entertainment in the evenings! They mostly provided free drinks with the evening meal which again was not offered at the Lido although the holiday was for the same or similar price. We were half-board and lots of choice but not always very edible!! Breakfast was adequate but again seemed to be a lot less than what was offered at other hotels. The other hotels provided breakfast for those who had an early start but we were given a tray in our room with a flask of coffee made up the night before with some pre-wrapped cakes!!
All in all, after speaking to other visitors to the resort we seemed to have "drawn a short straw". We would certainly go back to Limone as we found the area charming but we would choose a different hotel next time. Sorry but it was very disappointing!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bob948golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2008

We have just returned from an 11-night stay at the Hotel Lido in Limone, and it certainly exceeded our expectations.
The location was fantastic - right on the lake and just a five minute stroll along the beach to the centre of Limone. The beautiful hotel gardens, filled with shady trees which lend privacy, go right down to the beach, allowing guests to take sunloungers onto the beach. There is a small pool at the hotel, which was clean and well kept, but we only used it a couple of times as we were converted to the joys of lake swimming.
The Lido is designed in a motel style, with a single story restaurant and reception building adjacent to the accommodation. Each room has its own entrance.
The rooms are basic in style, but are very clean and comfortable. Towels are changed daily and bed linen is regularly changed.
Every room has a sitting area inside and a large balcony overlooking the lake. The views are fantastic - possibly the best on the lake.
The staff at the hotel are lovely - they are all extremely helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We were made to feel really welcome during our stay, which to me is an important aspect of any holiday.
We stayed on a half-board option and the food was delicious. There was a wide choice of menu for evening meals, with a lot of local dishes and specialities. There is a choice of where to eat for both breakfast and dinner - either in the dining room or on the terrace, which is where we chose to eat every day.
The location is just right - close enough to the centre of Limone to walk to the many attractions, but far enough away for peace and quite at night.
We would both certainly return to the Hotel Lido - it's a real little gem!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Germany, Stuttgart
116
Reviewed July 24, 2003

I travel to the Hotel Lido for 20 years now - almost every year. The small 25 room hotel presents a 1960s modern, open architecture.
Perfectly situated directly on the beach, there are no disturbing streets to cross, ..It´s the place to relax under old trees on the beach and for young families and theirs children. Swimming, hiking, mountainbiking ..... no doubt, the Garda lake offers all that like almost no other place.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matteo938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank vale f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank Frithurik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank trigentin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Alla Noce
Albergo Alla Noce
#32 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Elite
Hotel Villa Elite
#15 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Sorriso
Albergo Sorriso
#26 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Sole
Hotel Garni Sole
#34 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 36, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: $139 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing