We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the #1 choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the 3rd time (over a period of about 10 years), and it still offered the same quality for everything: kindness, clean, quality of food, ... everything!
Even while traveling later in the season (September), hotel still provided animation for several evenings.
When staying at this hotel, don't forget to go for a walk up the hills next to the small stream that enters the lake at the beach, south of Limone (near ferry stop).

Room Tip: Level 1-3 is ok with breathtaking views of the lake Level 4 is at pool level, so it might be a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 627 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at the splendid palace hotel, the hotel , is spotlessly clean, and it is divided into two sections via a covered aisle, we were in room 504 and had stunning views over the lake and limone, food was ok and staff very helpful, the rooms were a little dated but clean, food was fine although you were served meat etc by the chefs, which I would've rather done this myself as sometimes they didn't give you very much, The reason I gave it an excellent was I really enjoyed it, the rep Gesteppio was good and we went on trips to Venice, Verona and The Dolomites, which were long especially to Venice, but worth the visit, the Lagotourist guide was brilliant and we had her on all 3 of our trips, her name was Aurora, Definitely Recommend a trip to Lake Garda And The Splendid Place although it took us 2 hrs from Airport And Back

Room Tip: When going on trips, go off from main shops and you will get things cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqueline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the stunning Hotel Spendid Palace. The views are the most breathtaking I have ever experienced. The friendly staff, from Reception right through to the girls cleaning the rooms are first class. Friendly, cheerful and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Superb selection of food and the free drinks with your meal is excellent. The rooms are beautifully clean and well appointed. Views from the balcony are just stunnig. The terrace from the reception and bar is one of the best places you could be - sit and enjoy that stunning view. We will most definitely visit this amazing place again.

Room Tip: All rooms are lake side, but a higher floor room has the clearest views above the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel only a short stroll from Limone centre and boat quay is an excellent choice for those who like 1. Wonderful Views: 2. Great Service: 3. Good Food.
The hotel rooms are divided into 2 main and one smaller blocks! Floors 0-4 on the main block (where reception, pool, bar and restaurant are situated) then block 5-9 (where you will find indoor pool, gym and kiddies play room - and the secret garden complete with Jacuzzi - but if I tell you exactly where I'll have to kill you!) - there is another smaller block as well! The pool is on floor 4(all floors count down, so floor 0 is the top floor) there is also a smaller pool in a garden across the path from the hotel - a code is needed to access) Access to Limone is by way of the pool area. As usual there were the selfish guests who reserved sun beds - not the Germans this time but the Brits!!!! If you get allocated a room on Floor 4 you will have a great view of sweaty bodies around the pool - but all other floors throughout the hotel have great views of the lake and Monti Baldo where you can see the kite gliders launch themselves into the wild blue yonder ( a trip up Mont Baldo is well worth it - the second cable car rotates so you have great views on the journey!)
Back to the hotel, the rooms are of good size - bathrooms are fine - towels are changed as and when you need to - and pool towels are provided. There is a fridge in the room along with plenty of storage space! Some people have commented about the décor - it's not your all tiles and stainless steel of the modern impersonal hotel but warm colours and carpets! There is no light on the balcony so acquire some candles if you want to sit out in the evening! The air conditioning works and the housekeeping staff are pleasant, hard-working and efficient. Staff on reception are keen to help and pleasant. Now the really important bit - for me anyway - the restaurant and food/drink! The food in this hotel is very good - buffet breakfasts plenty of choice (great fried eggs - bacon was OK but as usual sausages - forget! but no HP Sauce!) But there was plenty of breads, fruit and the usual continental meats and cheeses. Dinner was particularly good - again plenty of choices - quite Italian with soups, salads, hors d'oeuvre and a good choice of pastas and main courses - meat (roasts included) fish, and vegetarian. Puds were delicious (we are in Italy) and there was a good selection of cheeses. Throughout dinner there is a free selection of beers, wines, soft drinks and water which you help yourself from the taps! The wines were more than acceptable! The staff in the restaurant are helpful, cheerful and efficient! All in all - a very good hotel - I would not hesitate to recommend and go back. We did not use the bar much, preferring to explore the drinking holes of Limone - a really pleasant town with plenty of shops, restaurants/gelateria's and bars. Trips can be made by boat (can prove expensive) and bus - visit the tourist office for plenty of information. There are beaches around the town (small pebbles and rocks) best we found, go out of the hotel via the swimming pool, turn left and just by the small restaurant go right down the steep path before the Hotel Astor! It's sheltered and there is a small bar that rents out sun beds! The water in the lake is clean (but in September was not at it's warmest!)
We went on the Venice trip - an early start (0700) and late return (2000) and the journey there is long - but the guide and boat trips to and from the coach park and around the lagoon were good. All in all we had a really excellent week at the Splendid Palace - oh! one last thing - we went with Thomson (Crystal) - the reps were the best we have ever met! Steph at the SP was really helpful and informative - top marks!

Room Tip: Avoid floor 4 (they are the cheapest rooms) and go for floor 8 (biggest balconies)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Einrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel has bedrooms overlooking lake Garda, the view from the balcony was absolutely stunning, the the food was of a good standard and all the staff were friendly and helpful, in all a very good holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view ,worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broughtybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We'd visited Limone a few years ago, and decided to return, this time to the Splendid Palace.
Checkin was straightforward and we were presented with a voucher for a bottle of wine and also two welcome drinks vouchers which was a nice touch.
We'd not paid extra for one of the higher floors and were in 409. This is on the pool level, the downside being if you open your window there are people on sunbeds immediately outside. Generally we were out and about each day though so this didn't bother us, and keeping the curtains closed avoided the room getting too hot- but if you like to sit on the balcony you may want a room on one of the higher floors.
The room was a good size with fridge, tv and so on. The hairdryer in the bathroom looked a bit hopeless (like many hotels) but I don't use one anyway. Cleaning was well done every day, fresh towels provided, and always spotless.
The food was great- the restaurant is on the 1st floor, just below the bar and is a large buffet style (although the main courses are served to you after you point at what you want!)
Breakfast had a good range of hot and cold food, and the evening meals were varied with a good salad bar, always two or 3 meat/fish, various vegetables and 3 or 4 pasta dishes. Desserts were wide ranging too from small to large and some cheese.
There was wine and beer freely on tap along with soft drinks- none of it great of course, but perfectly drinkable.
Bar prices not outrageous, similar to many of the other bars in town. Service in both the bar and restaurant always friendly. The bar is on the top floor (0 - it's an upside-down hotel!) ad has a terrace with stunning views of the lake, and we spent most evenings there as the sun went down. There was some entertainment every other night or so, some of which was a little cheesy/cabaret. Remi the magician was funny though.

It's only a small walk into the village, down some steps and along a path, the ferry port being nearest. Coming back there's a bit of a hill but it's not bad at all. We had hired a car from the airport, and always managed to find a spot in the car-park. There's a paid for garage under the hotel if you want more security.

Wifi access was available at 10€ for 7 days (we stayed for 11 nights so I bought it twice). You can't share this across devices unfortunately so I ended up buying one for my phone and sharing the connection over bluetooth for my tablet and laptop. The connection wasn't the quickest or most reliable unfortunately which was a bit of a let-down for a paid service, but was perfectly adequate for uploading pictures to facebook and so on.

The only other negative point was the lift- there's only one, and it was not exactly quick, so you'd often have to wait a while for it. In addition it frequently made a "false start", jerking to a halt just after beginning to move which was rather worrying - I generally used the stairs!

Overall this is a great hotel if you're staying in Limone- the views are the highlight, and the service from all the staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor look directly onto the pool area so if you tend to be in your room a lot y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The clue is in the name of the hotel - Splendid!
Rooms, Food, all staff, location, large pool in the hotel grounds, smaller pool in the private garden with lake access - all splendid.

We emailed the hotel before going with a room request which they dealt with efficiently giving us a room in the location we requested.
We arrived on August bank holiday for two weeks at about 2100 and reception just took our passports so the could check us in and sent us straight to the restaurant which had been kept open for the late arrivals. After dining we returned to reception where all the formalities had been completed and they just handed us our keys.
The bar staff were brilliant with quick service usually followed by a chat and a joke - couldn't fault them. It was similar in the restaurant and reception.
Big bonus - very few kids and no sun beds had been saved before 0800 - in fact it was easy to get a sun bed most of the day.
Another bonus was the small pool at the lakeside which had hardly anyone there until about 1100.
The food in the restaurant in the evening was exceptional with plenty of choice and hardly any menu repeats over the whole fortnight and of course the free drinks with dinner were great. Breakfast was also very varied with a good selection of hot and cold dishes.
All in all it was a splendid holiday in a splendid hotel.

Room Tip: If you've never been before pay the extra for a room at a higher level to experience the tremend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxim3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: $115 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing