We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would visit again -great holiday!”
Review of Hotel San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Would visit again -great holiday!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Having read previous reviews for this hotel I was a little concerned. However, having just spent 12 glorious days there I can say that I need not have worried.
Rooms:
all rooms face the lake but a few have the view slightly obstructed by trees. We had 875 at the top, and on the end meaning that we got morning and evening sun on the balcony. The view was perfect.
The furniture could be described as 'worn' but that didn't worry us at all. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a mini fridge which we used to chill our own water & wine (as well as stocking the hotel's own drinks). We had carpet but noticed that many other rooms had tiled floors. The room was big and had a sofa bed, table and chairs as well as the king size bed and dressing table & wardrobe etc.
The bathroom was clean and functional with a shower over the bath.
The room was cleaned daily by a lovely cheerful lady who came back later if the do not disturb sign was showing. Towels were changed as often as you wanted (leave them on the floor if you want them changed or hang them up to use them again). Shower gel was replenished as often as it was used as were toilet rolls & tissues etc as you would expect.
There was a kettle in the room and tea and coffee provided as well. We received a welcome bottle of prosecco and some sweets which we appreciated.
There was a table and chairs on the balcony as well. The air conditioning works only when the window and doors a closed (opening them breaks the electrical circuit) - seemed to make sense.

The food:
There seems to have been a lot of criticism of the food in previous reviews. There does seem to be a German influence in the food here but that seemed to be common to several restaurants we visited in the area. Since a large proportion of the residents of the area are expat Germans and the majority of visitors to the north end of the lake are too then this isn't surprising.
We were happy with the food on offer and you would never go hungry here. Meals are buffet style but chefs serve your choice of starters and mains - you help yourself to everything else.
For starters there are three or four choices of pasta dish (or have a little of all of them if you like) as well as two soup choices. These change daily. Bruschetta and oils as well as bread rolls are available to help yourself to. There were four hot choices of mains every day. Including a fish choice. Examples are - roast meats (pork, beef, lamb), schnitzels, goulash, herbed chicken. A hot potato dish and a hot vegetable dish is also available daily and these also vary.in addition there are about 20 cold accompaniments that you can choose from including pickles, vegetables, salads, rice, pasta etc.
There were several desserts available including cakes, strudel, mousses and a mountain of fresh fruit. Again we saw people having a piece of everything - some seemed to have very good appetites!
With dinner you can help yourself to water (still or sparkling), their version of orangeade/coke and red or white wine. These drinks all come from a self service machine and there is no limit to the number of times you can refill your glass. I do enjoy my wine and, whilst these are not top class wines, they are still very drinkable.
Breakfast was buffet style again. There were always hot boiled eggs, scrambled eggs (German/Italian style) and something that looked like bacon but wasn't quite the same as in the uk - but still tasty. There was also a variety of breads for toast, rolls, croissants, cold meats, cheese, cereals, yoghurt, jams and fresh fruit - eat as much as you like again.
Filippo the restaurant manager was great as were the waiters. They work hard and seem to be unappreciated by many of the guests many of whom didn't seem to offer a please or thank you.
If I had one complaint about dinner it would be that it was too early 6.15pm to 8.30pm but you wouldn't want to get there much after 8pm to get the full choice. With the one hour time difference it made our evening meal seem very early.

The facilities:
An indoor pool which never seemed to have anyone in it and two outdoor pools.
Free coffee and cakes are available by the outdoor pool every day between 4&5pm.
A gym which never seemed to have anyone in it.
Loads of sun beds dotted around the gardens with amazing views.
A bar with live music on a couple of evenings which we enjoyed immensely - shame more people didn't come to listen.

The staff:
As mentioned before the restaurant staff are very pleasant and helpful as are the reception staff. A special mention to Rosa on reception who translated for us when our hire car broke down. Our housekeeper was a joy.
The staff had to deal with many demands from the guests who often appeared to be unappreciative so we found that a 'per favore' and 'grazie' went a long way.

The guests:
This is a big hotel with a lot of guests most of whom are German. There seemed to be several German coach tours. We were the only English although there were some French and some Americans there too. The predominant age seemed to be over 60 but there were a handful of families and younger people.

The location:
The hotel is on the side of a very steep hill about a mile from the town. The walk to the town and back is very pleasant and there are many shortcuts. If you don't fancy the climb back up (or down) the hotel provides a bus service for 80cents per trip but we didn't use this preferring to walk.
Limone is beautiful - take time to explore all of it - there is more to see than you first think. The shops are touristy and overpriced but the restaurants are great.
Visit the limonaia where they used to grow lemons and see the restoration. Visit Jonny on the quayside to hire one of his speed boats.
If you like walking there are great walks up the mountain to the back of the hotel.
Also cross the lake to Malcesine for a trip round the town and go up on the cable cars to Monte Baldo for a spectacular view (there was deep snow at the top but it was 25 degrees at the bottom).
We also visited Monza for some racing (very hard to find!), Trento, Brescia, Verona, Venice and lots of the towns around the lake. We hired a car - the driving took a bit of getting used to but was worth the effort.
We went over Easter and the temperature should have been around 16 degrees with a couple of days of rain but we enjoyed 20-25degrees daily with no rain.

We had excellent pizza at Restaurant Tovo (just opposite the hotel), yummy lasagne at the Palme hotel and great gelato at Jacky bar.

In summary - you can tell that we had a great holiday and will definitely be back again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
18 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Sue,

thank you for your kind review. We're happy to read that you had a great holiday and plan to come back. So we look forward to your coming back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    69
    28
    9
    11
See reviews for
38
98
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We originally booked the Hotel Cristina and upon arrival got told we had been upgraded to the hotel San Pietro at no extra charge.We stayed on a B&B basis.Really pleased with room! very spacious,clean and amzing panoramic view of the lake and Mount Baldo,tea making facilities are provided and a mini bar.you are provided with pool towles,robes & slippers. staff very friendly and welcoming, staying at the san pietro you get given a key to the adult only pool, we liked all the different levels, gardens, plenty of sun bathing areas, Great Location and Views! you have a choice of 3 outdoor pools, 2 with wirlpool section, there is also an indoor pool and gym. Good selection for breakfast, choice of cerals, yogurts, different types of bread,fresh fruit, good selection of fruit juices and hot food choices. We were about 20 min walk from the main resort, it is a bit steep coming back up but if my mum (who is 60) managed it everyday then so can you! the hotel does provide a mini bus for 80cents but the Germans use it and they shove and push you out of the way (they pushed a pregnant lady out of the way just to get on)so dont bother with it,its a nice walk down and we found a few short cuts.There are alot of Germans who stay at this hotel but they didnt bother us,Safe is provided free of charge and is a hole in the ground but was big enough for us to keep things like passports etc. Limone is a beautiful place, we loved it.we ate out every night and found it really affordable and cheap.We ate at the TOVO restaurant 5 times during our stay just down the road from the hotel, great family run restaurant, freshly cooked food, loads of choice on the menu and really affordable.we also ate at the palm restaurant which is part of the palm hotel by the lakeside, great service, great location and nice food. We had a great holiday and will recommend to others and we are planing on coming back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel lay-out is very disjointed and confusing at first, obviously due to being built on the mountain side. Internally, the rooms are large but decor could do with an update. It was reminiscent of a 1980s ski lodge. The bathroom had been updated and was spotless. The beds need replacing too, as well as the pillows. Our towels/sheets were not changed often enough for a 4 star hotel. They are trying to provide a 4 star offering, as slippers, bathrobes and pool towels are provided. The restaurant caters mainly for the German/Swiss/Austrian clients with hardly any 'Italian' food to be had. The restaurant shuts sharply at 9:00 pm regardless! Not what we were expecting. I would rate this as just about a 3 star hotel. A few tweaks could elevate this hotel to a 4 star. We had a few issues which the friendly reception staff handled well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Pearceperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Pearceperson,

thank you so much for your review. We're sorry that you didn't like our hotel thoroughly. We would like to thank you anyway to give us some useful information to improve our service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit hard to place at the first go, but ok. The drive is bit steep though not too difficult.
Rooms:all rooms face the lake, so you might think getting a lake view is obvious. But we were given a room in the extreme end where we could see the trees and the road leading out. Also it was quite away from the receotion and restaurant so it was bit of a walk. But on request they gave us a change of room right next to the reception building and the view was truly amazing! Clean and spacious rooms with private balcony. All rooms had air conditioning, which is a must during summer months. The minibar had beer, soda and water stocked up. Safe was available but only big enough to accomodate passports and wallets.
Service:very friendly and helpful staff. Always ready to help. Best part was they had a minibus service to Limone centro every hour, which was helpful since we did not want to drive to and fro on the steep hill.
Facilities: huge parking but still not enough for everyone.they have 2 huge parking garages which were full, we had to park in the underground parking in their sister hotel Christina. There are many outdoor parking slots which is normally allowed only for 10 mins for check in/out. Internet is free but not very fast. Wifi available. Pools are great, especially the top level one with great views and lesser crowds. There is a free tea coffee self service between 4-5 pm everyday by the middle pool area.
Food:I would not rate the food as great, but just ok. It mostly catered to german tastes. So bit of a disappointment if you are expecting an italian feast! The juice served at breakfast was not fresh but just a flavoured colored liquid, which is surprising for a 4 star restaurant. Desserts were ok. The restaurant was big enough and had great views.
I would recommend this hotel to those who want to travel for relaxation more than an action packed vacation. It is located Limone, north garda region, which is a small town with not so much to do. All in all a great hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank rvwAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear rvwAr,

thank you for your review. We're happy that you found our hotel to be great! :-) We hope to see you again soon in Limone.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel was a real disappointment. Firstly, it is not worth 4 stars, 3 at best. The rooms are large, clean and offer a great view of the lake (the only good think about it) but are really dated. The hotel has 2 outdoors and & indoors swimming pools. Be aware that the hotel primarily caters for retired Germans, so if you are a young couple like us, this is the last place you want to end up. I really blame the travel agent for sending us there! Also, avoid eating at the hotel, don’t even bother with the free breakfast, the food is terrible.
The walk down to town takes 20 minutes on foot and there are some very nice restaurants. I would also recommend doing a cruise around the lake or just crossing to the village on the over side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear oribie,

we're really sorry for failing to living up to your expectations. If you would like to, you can tell us more about what you disliked about our food, so we will be able to fix the problem. Anyway, thank you for letting us know your opinion.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We traveled to Limone in May 2011, sorry for late review! This hotel is quite a hike, however well worth it for the views of the lake. When we arrived we were given a room to the far right and although it was spacious it was hidden behind huge tree's. After a quick word with the rep we were moved to a room near the restaurant and WOW! Stunning! We stayed on a half board basis, the food and drink were okay. However, the restaurants by the lake are wonderful and inexpensive, well worth trying for an evening out. The pools are perfect for relaxing from days of sightseeing.This hotel is perfect for anyone who wishes to use it as a base to explore. We visited many places whilst here, Venice, Verona and a boat trip to the villages surrounding the lake. Limone is a very special place and I cannot recommend it enough. We will most certainly be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolbabychocice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear coolbabychocice,

it's great to read that you had such a good time at our hotel. And it's also great to read that you intend to come back in the future. So, we look forward to your coming back. :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ness ziona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel should not be rated 4*, to our opinion.
If you are looking for a 4* hotel with the luxury attached, you won't find it here.
This hotel is nothing compared to other places we visited in Italy.
You can check out my review on the Baglioni (A REAL 4* in Florence)
and Il borgo near san Gimingani (in booking.com)

to be fair I'll give you the highlights of pros and cons so you can decide for yourself:
pros:
We got a welcoming large bottle of sparkling wine,
large soda water and raisins coated with chocolate.
we also had bath robes and white slippers to use.
Great view ( but that is rather common to most hotels in the area)
a personal balcony, with a table and chairs

cons:
the general feel and maintenance: The hotel looks like its good days are over. looks dated, style from the 80, a bit rundown.
the bed is very low, cheap looking,
they only had wool blankets, I'm sensitive to wool and they had no alternative.
Bathroom with cheap plastic accessories.
you only get bath products(shampoo etc') upon arrival and we stayed 3 nights! it wasn't sufficient.
Bath smaller than standard

Some of the food at breakfast was not fresh ( fruit salad 3 days old, you could tell by taste)
beans went bad and were still served...
internet wasn't free, you had to pay for 1/2 or 1 hour and get a code at the reception desk.
After we got the code we realized the key board isn't fully responsive...
checkout is really early (10:00) for a 4*

We also had a problem with the billing.
they had a communication failure when we paid with credit card.
We tried to fix this problem talking to our bank and credit card company and the clerks at the hotel were not helpful.
eventually because of their mess we were billed twice.. a total mess.

I gave a 2 rating for the view and large room, but I won't go back and can not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanpietroLimone, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Pietro, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sharon,

we're sorry for the inconveniences you encountered. It's sad to read that you won't come back. But we would also like to thank your for giving us useful pieces of information to improve our service. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#20 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#7 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#15 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saturno
Hotel Saturno
#25 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietro

Property: Hotel San Pietro
Address: Via Tamas 20, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietro Hotel
San Pietro Limone Sul Garda
Hotel San Pietro Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing