We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Palme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Palme
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Bellagio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and perfect location”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Recently arrived back from a 4 night stay at this hotel in Limone booked through Thomson Lakes and Mountains with Crystal Holiday reps looking after us in resort. This was our first trip to the Italian Lakes and we were totally blown away by the stunning beauty of the area, and without doubt the top end of Lake Garda where Limone is situated is the most beautiful place to be. Hotel Le Palme is well situated next to the Lake and the ferry port. Some of the ferries were a little noisy but this did not bother us, just added to the feel of the place. We paid a little extra for a lake view, well worth it. Our room though not huge was perfectly adequate with large very comfortable bed. Modern bathroom with lovely powerful shower. Everything very clean and was thoroughly cleaned every day.
Having read previous reviews about the dining arrangements we wondered how we would find it. We arrived on a Saturday and the restaurant was very busy. We were seated inside and did complain. Staff were very polite and we were informed that the following night when less busy we would have a different table. The following evening we had a table next to the lake which we had each night from then. The food, though nothing outstanding we found perfectly acceptable. A good selection of salad, then a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and selection of sweets, fruit or cheeses. Wine, beer and water included. We found after a day of sight seeing and having a lovely lunch somewhere gorgeous, the hotel food was fine. Breakfast was extremely pleasant sitting lakeside with a large selection of cereals, breads preserves and hot food watching the boats.
Limone itself has plenty of cafe bars and shopping through lots of small cobbled streets, a delight to wonder round. Whilst we were there it was extremely hot with hardly a breeze so the air conditioning in our room was a welcome relief.
Getting about the top end of the lake was easily negotiated by the ferries. Riva is a lovely place. We did do a lake tour by boat available from the new port which took us to Sirmione and Garda, taking in various sights on the way which was very pleasant. We also went to Malcesine then by cable car to the top of Monte Baldo which is recommended even though the queue was huge. The scenery up there is absolutely fabulous!
All in all we had a wonderful time and would have no hesittion in recommending Hotel Le Palme and Limone, though perhaps not really a family holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debontheweb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    68
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
26
155
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A few days before leaving I read some negetative reviews about Le Palme hotel Lemone, so a little unsure what to expect.

We arrived a little late to the hotel so dinner was instant chose your meal and got sent straight to the dinning room. We were staying half board but had paid a supplement for a lake view room (not a lot extra) and we were politely shown to our table and explained that this is where we would dine each night. A great table outside with a beautiful lake view one comment quashed.

Yes the food is not the same as the paying guests but we were not paying the full menu prices but what a choice salad with either salmon or prawns etc for starters each evening four choices of starters and main meals then the sweet buffet table. If you needed more cheeses, crackers and breads the wine and beer was limitless all the time you were eating. (One point I don’t think the Italians do mash potatoes backed potatoes would maybe been a better option)
There are the safe choices chicken, pork each evening but there were more adventurous choices to Swordfish, Scallops Octopus you never know till you try so have a go at the unusual I was very pleasantly surprised.

When dinner was over Martin in reception had taken our cases to our room (many thanks Martin)

Our room was spotless bathroom clean and modern. The lake view stunning it would have been nice to have tea coffee facilities (but that’s just us Brits and our tea) we had packed a travel kettle so no real problem.

Next morning everyone greeted you with bonjorno and a smile and what a breakfast cereal, fresh fruits, cold meats, bacon n eggs, sausages, toast, croissants, breads, cheeses limitless coffee and juices.

One good point about breakfast if you are out early tell the night manager in reception the evening before what time and he will have everything ready except bacon eggs etc plenty of it too no need for packed breakfasts.

The staff can’t do enough to help you from the minute you arrive to the day you leave, while respecting your privacy they will either leave you to your meal or engage you in banter.

We were late arriving back from Venice on the gala night we had texted our rep Jim ( this lad has a very professional out look for his first season many thanks ) he informed the hotel and they served us our meal as soon as we arrived back no stress

One point to make about staying in Lemone you will be the first pick up for any excursions (except the lake tour) and you may be on the coach 2 hrs before you all leave to where ever you are going so plan accordingly you will also be one of the last to be dropped off to. Venice was a 13.5 hr day on gala night but don’t let that put you off booking a place not to be missed


The day we left to come home they gave us a safe place to keep our bags and a room to use to change and shower before the long haul back home this meant we could enjoy our last morning in Lemone what a pleasant touch many thanks.

All in all we had a fantastic time at this hotel and can recommend it to any adults wishing to get a real feel of Italy (I don’t think it has the enmities for families children etc) many thanks to all the staff, reps, tour guides and coach drivers for a amazing week in your beautiful country

O and chat to Lucka he had a fantastic grasp of English (Pleases!)

Room Tip: book a lake view room you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just returned from a week stay at Le Palme Hotel, Limone, staying on a half-board basis which was booked through Crystal Holidays. The reps from Crystal Holidays were also very good, Jim looked after our hotel and we also met Katie as well. They could not do enough to help and were easy to contact should you have a problem.
The resort of Limone is absolutely beautiful and is an ideal place to stay with easy access to the near by towns of Riva, Malcesine etc. We had been to Limone on a previous occassion and stayed at the Panorma Hotel in Limone which is a sister hotel of Le Palme Hotel, but decided we wanted to stay in the centre of town during our second visit. We were not disappointed. The hotel was excellent and definitely worth its four star rating. The hotel pool is a little small and is shared with the guests from the Splendid Palace and it is sometimes difficult to get a sun bed. However, on the third floor of Le Palme hotel they have a sun terrace with two jacuzzi spa baths and nine sunbeds so after we found this we never ventured near the pool again as the view from the terrace over the lake was fantastic. All the staff work extremely hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, from the chamber maids to the waiting staff etc. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bathrooms have been refurbished to a very high standard and the cleanliness of the rooms is first class. We found the food at the hotel to be extremely enjoyable and there was always something to choose from off the menu everynight even for the fussiest of eaters. The gala dinner on the friday night was really good too. The staff in the restaurant were really friendly and helpful, many thanks to Daniel, Luca, Liugi etc for their friendly banter. A big thanks also to Rosanna and Martin in Reception for their assistance. All in all we would definitely recommend a stay at Le Palme Hotel. Thanks again for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Room 302 has 2 windows one overlooking the lake and one to the side and is extremely light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I booked a mini-break girly get away to Le Palme hotel, Limone with my mum in August 2012. Overall we had an excellent time in Limone and the resort is beautiful; it is an ideal location to explore the scenic towns of Riva, Torbole and Malcesine. We stayed at Le Palme hotel which is situated right next to the ferry office on the lakeside, it literally takes a minute to buy a ticket and board a ferry. Also, it means you are in the heart of the town and can easily walk to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants, it really is a fantastic location. I was worried that as we were in the heart of Limone that we would be disturbed by noise but this was never an issue - in fact, on the first morning we slept so well that we missed our welcome meeting!

The rooms are decorated in traditional Italian style, dark ornate wood and lots of burnt orange bedding with a very modern bathroom. In particular, the shower had a lovely hot, powerful shower with a brilliant magnetic attachment so you cold easily lower or heighten then shower had (very innovative design!). Some of the reviews of the rooms are a little negative and suggest the rooms are dated, but I think that the bedding and bathroom are actually quite new. If you have been to Italy before you will know that this is a typical fashion for more traditional style rooms and it suits this building, which used to be an old villa/mansion house.

Furthermore, the hotel is very clean. Our sheets and towels were changed everyday and they even irregularly turn down your covers at night! This was a nice touch!

The best feature is the small sun terrace on the roof, there are 8 sun beds and 2 spa tubs. I'm surprised they don't advertise the spa tubs more as they are fantastic! It's a lovely way to unwind after a day out to have a glass of wine on the terrace or in the hot tub. You have great views of the lake from their too.

The only thing I disliked about Le Palme was the food. Breakfast was lovely, great variety and you could sit out on the terrace with infinity views of the lake. However, the quality of dinned was poor. We stayed half-board and hoped to use the dinners to save money however we ended up eating put most nights as it wasn't an enjoyable experience. Also, as a half-board guest you can only eat inside the hotel next to the kitchen, you are not allowed onto the terrace )even when there are tables are free) as they are reserved for 'paying customers' - this was irritating as we had paid a lot for this holiday and had paid half-board, in effect we had paid in advance and felt we deserved to sit outside too. It made you feel like a free school meal child or inferior citizen. You could see the larger portions and nicer food being taken out to external guests however the food served to the internal guests was not the same standard and this was disappointing. I appreciate that the food for half-board might be simpler but I think it should still be cooked well and it wasn't. I'm quite surprised as everything else about the hotel is lovely but half-board dinner really does let the hotel down, if they can rectify this it would be a fantastic stay.

I would recommend staying bed and breakfast but it's not good value for money to stay half board.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hood09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our first visit to Italy and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was a delight, quite small and very friendly and was everything we expected from a four star hotel. The attention we received from all the staff was second to none, a huge thankyou to each and everyone. The views at breakfast overlooking the lake was something you could only dream about, breakfast will never taste the same again. Thank you Le Palme for one of the best holidays we have had.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the third floor have two windows - room 302 is next to the sun terrace where the whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JandMNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just back from our 14th stay! Some might think that sad I guess,but we regard it as though staying with our Italian family.Anyway,this year every bath/shower room in the hotel has been totally refurbished to a high standard which only goes to prove that the Family Rissati really do listen to what thier clients have to say on TA.In addition the roof terrace has also been hurtled into the 21st century,now fully enclosed by plate glass screening,all new rattan style furniture AND two spa baths,brilliant! The entire staff,still managed 'hands on' by director Rosanna who seems to be there 24/7.and assisted this year by her son Martin in reception.Michele is also still in charge of the waiting staff and to listen to him and Gino in full Italian flight is a delight in itself! The food is pretty much as always,some days better than others it is only fair to say but chef Michele is a BIG guy AND we will be going back next year! And once again I will sayit,this is NOT the hotel for those seeking a big flashy establishment,instead think 'guests of a wealthy Venitian merchant' and disapointment will not be an option.I'm with you rosieb4!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iaindinnes_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a fantastic hotel, it was spotless, half board option was excellent, and breakfast something for everyone, Martin & Roseanna ( reception) were very freindly and helpful, and the waiting staff were very polite, the hotel has a very central location with the ferry port next to the hotel, and the lake views are superb, i recommend a trip to Mount Baldo brilliant views and Riva Del Garda was a lovely town with again great views, i had a wonderful trip to Limone and would recommend Le Palme without hesitation

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 646gasman1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#10 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel all`Azzurro
Hotel all`Azzurro
#17 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#6 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Palme

Property: Hotel Le Palme
Address: Via Porto 36, 25020 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Palme 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Hotel
Hotel Le Palme Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing