We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Vecchio Fontec

Al Vecchio Fontec
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Vecchio Fontec is a lovely little restaurant in amongst the cobbled streets of Limone. The waitress was very amiable and spoke great English. We shareda starter of the tominno which was their speciality, it was a filo cheese starter big enough to share. The dish was superb and surpassed our expectations. For main course we had the scallops and avocado as well as the catch of the day we also ordered a mixed salad to share. All the food was brilliant, well presesnted and very good value. The house white was nice and light went beautifully with the fish. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good food in Limone. Use book in advance as all the tables were reserved and the waitress was turning people away.

Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    77
    25
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant of the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice little courtyard restaurant with a happy hour 5 to 6?

Only has a few tables so you need to book ahead

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank eros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'a hidden gem'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This restaurant is simply a must for anyone who loves food! The setting is absolutely fabulous a simple romantic courtyard. The food is all made fresh so be prepared to relax over a glass of gorgeous wine and soak in the ambience. The Tomino starter is simply a must. The staff were extremely attentive, we were even treated to the chef coming to talk through the menu with us. We were so impressed we visited the restaurant on more than one occasion throughout our stay. The restaurant is not huge so probably best to book to avoid disappointment. By far the best restaurant we visited on out recent trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clara105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by the hotel we were staying in in Riva. It is 2 streets back from the front in Limone on a quieter narrow street. First the setting - it is in a beautiful shaded courtyard and appealed to our love of eating in traditional settings, it's not very big perhaps 8 tables outside so nice atmostphere. There is indoor seating in what was an old wine cellar that has been beautifully converted. Everything about the setting from the bathroom through to the old wine cellar to the courtyard has been carefully chosen and put together to create a warm intimate setting. We went 3 times but needed to book for the evenings. The food - on our first visit for a starter we had the Tomino which I've never had before, it's a mountain dish of cheese baked in very light filo pastry with honey, basamic vinegar and nuts and you know when you're eating something and you don't want ever to stop eating it, could have had it for starter, main and pudding. Followed that with fresh made tagliatelle with a lovely flavoured sauce, then scallops and a steak. Every single course was to savour, everything was subtle and tasty but the best thing about the food was it was authentic, real Italian very, very good quality food, not something churned out just for the tourists. The second time we went there were a lot of Italians there which I always think is a good sign. Another time there was a couple who said they'd eaten there 5 times out of 9 nights they'd been in Limone and they were trying to book another evening! The waitress too was lovely, helpful and always smiling.
With wine our bills came to between 70 and 92 euros for 2 people and we were so impressed we paid for a taxis from Limone back to Riva! We would thoroughly recommend this place and will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galmaarden
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The best restaurant we found in Limone!
The food was very good with lots of flavor. Unfortunately it was our last day in Limone, otherwise we would definitely come back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank coolsbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Vecchio Fontec also viewed

Limone sul Garda, Province of Brescia
Limone sul Garda, Province of Brescia
 
Limone sul Garda, Province of Brescia
Limone sul Garda, Province of Brescia
 
Limone sul Garda, Province of Brescia
Limone sul Garda, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Al Vecchio Fontec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing