We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Second visit to L di V. Had fabulous superior room again, overlooking pool and lake. Felt like coming home! Lots of familiar faces from last year. Same excellent service in the dining room overseen by Jonny who is as charming as ever! Reception staff lovely and helpful (thanks Anna). Thanks to Daniel, Stefano etc for keeping us entertained during the day and being so lovely. Got to see the fireworks in Limone again, fabulous. Took the opera trip to Malcesine with First Choice and had a lovely evening. Got unlucky with the weather near the end of the week (torrential rain!) but the staff did their best to accommodate everyone for lunch etc. This may not be some people's idea of a 4 star but for us it is welcoming and homely which is why we have already booked again for next year.

Ladies, you may need to take your own hairdryer! The one in the bathroom is awful!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Dear Gill, thank you very much for your kind words. We will take your remark about the hair-dryer into consideration. We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 614 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

We have recently returned from LDV hotel and would agree with other reviewer's, however this hotel is more used to the German tourists and is definitely not to 4 star standard. The lunchtime meal was poor - just burger or chicken, pasta in tomato sauce and chips and salad with fresh fruit for dessert. I know this is advertised as a light lunch but it is the same every day!!! We ate in the main restaurant for lunch several days as the weather was not great to eat at the pool or beach and were provided with plastic cutlery and paper plates! The evening meal is OK and if you get the chance use the waiter service side of the restaurant however you will have to be quick to book the day before as they only normally cover 4 or 5 tables. Limone town is very pretty and worth a visit as are the other towns around the lake both north and south. Verona was also well worth visiting however Venice is just a little too far by coach (4 hours) each way. Although we enjoyed our holiday I don't think we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLEWIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2010

Dear LLEWIE, thank you for letting us know your opinion. Unfortunately, our lunchtime is thought as a quick and light meal, that is why we provide our guests with plastic cutlery. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This was our first time to Italy and were very pleased with this hotel. We had paid extra for a lake-view room and glad that we did. Room was clean, spacious with tea/coffee facilities, small fridge, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Bed was large and very comfortable. We overlooked the main pool and the lake with a view across to Malcesine.

Apart from a small seating area (approx 12 people) in the main restaurant, all meals were buffet style. Usually we prefer waiter service for our evening meal but because it was not too crowded it was fine at this hotel.

Breakfast consisted of an excellent scrambled egg (always difficult to keep hot), bacon and sausage. Also, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread, rolls, cheese, cold meats. The cappucino from the machine was very good.

Food was also of a high standard at dinner with a chef carving a roast alongside another meat dish, a fish dish, chips, rice and vegetables within the hot area. Salads, cold meats and cheese were plentiful and very fresh. We didn't try the desserts but there appeared to be a wide choice. Also 3 cheeses with crackers and several fresh fruits available.

Lunch was outside for the first part of our holiday then moved to the main restaurant. Usually chips, hot meat dish, salads and cold meats and cheeses but with plastic plates and cutlery which was understandable on the beach or around the pool but a bit odd in the main restaurant.

The all-inclusive drinks consisted of wines (red was best in the restaurant ), soft drinks, beer and a large variety of alcoholic including amaretto and grappa.

Plenty of seating area in front of the hotel was available all day and evening and the entertainment took place there. The hotel had a friendly animation team of about 8 youngsters who welcomed you into dinner each evening and spoke to everyone.

For families, there were 2 large circular pools with sunbeds around on 2 different terraces. Although there were steps in between there was also a round water slide which the children were really enjoying. This meant that the main pool was predominantly for adults. There were plenty of other activities such as a ball park, internal trampoline, swings etc. The shingle beach had around 100 sun loungers and it was good to watch all the boats, windsurfers etc on the lake. Only drawback was that you had to cross the road at the front of the hotel to reach it and lots of steps.

There is a hotel minibus going into Limone each hour during the day except lunchtime. It was a 15 minute walk but the return could be tiring as it was uphill for part of the way. Limone was absolutely beautiful, busy in the waterfront area but fabulous for views if you walked up towards the mountains.

We did a day's excursion into Verona which was about just under 2 hrs each way but wonderful scenery enroute and the city so beautiful. We really enjoyed our trip up the cable car in Malcesine and was well worth the 45 minute wait at the bottom. Would definitely recommend this as a must-do. You feel you are in Austria when you arrive at the top, seeing the cows with bells around their necks, the goats being herded and the marmots, beaver-type animals which blend into the hillside.

All in all a wonderful holiday and very good value for money. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2010

Dear Jean Surrey, thank you very much for posting your opinion. We really appreciated your words. So, if you plan to return next year, we are looking forward to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We spent 2 weeks at the L da V and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and a very good size. We had been allocated a superior and a standard room (at the same price) when we booked but were upgraded to two superior rooms as we wanted rooms next door to each other.

There were plenty of sunbeds by the pool but, despite notices warning you not to, people do still reserve sunbeds on the way to breakfast. There are also 2 pools higher up in the complex which were not mentioned in the first choice brochure but which the kids really enjoyed - they are linked by a water slide and there are also plenty of sunbeds up here if you want to get away from the main pool.

The food in the restaurant was always very good with plenty of choice so although dishes were repeated each week it was possible to have a completely different set of meals in your 2nd week. The self service drinks were great - plenty of choice and no having to hang around waiting for one barman to get to you.

The walk into Limone takes about 15 minutes - don't go down the main road, take the path behind the hotel which is virtually traffic free and takes you almost all the way into town. After crossing the little bridge, cross the main road, go down the steps (signposted supermarket and town centre) and you will find yourself walking down to the town on a road with a path (the main road does not have a path for a lot of it and would be a nightmare to walk down with children). It is definitely worth catching the hotel bus back or getting a taxi (it is a steep walk back up and would take considerably longer).

We visited Malcesine which was lovely - be aware that the cable car only accepts cash and is fairly pricey - there are some fab side streets just waiting to be explored away from the main area - and Salo again really pretty and very "old Italy".

The animation team are an amazing bunch of young people and they work incredibly hard to make sure everyone has a great time - even down to arranging chess tournaments in the rain. Thanks to Daniel, Stefan, Meerkal etc for working so hard and being such great company at lunchtime!

In summary we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel but be aware it does have a lot of steps and steep paths so may not be suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 14thealbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Everything said before about this place is true. It is a really good hotel wih beautiful views of the mountains and lakes.
The food in the restaurant was absolutely fantastic: so much variation and choice. The antipasti selection was superb every evening.
You can book evening dinner in the dining area where you are waiter-served and you can check the menu before you book. I couldn't understand why so few people took up the option. The food was wonderful and expertly served by Johnnie and his able staff. We found it very relaxing to eat in this part of the restaurant.
The only criticism I have is that the dining room is only open from 6.15 to 8.30.pm. We would have preferred to dine later on holiday.
Loved the serve-yourself bar!
Don't go if you have any problems with steps or walking up slopes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Lovely hotel, clean and with such helpful genuine staff. Especailly Johnny the restaurant manager. (Tell him Caroline and Nigel sent you!) He is fab. I told him from this site I knew him even before we got there!

We went in August so it was very busy but we did not suffer because we did lots of trips to Venice, Verona Opera and Florence in the week we were there. Bit of a downer was that because we were first on the coach in the morning we were last off at night which made for long days. However, when we were at the hotel, although we dont have young kids anymore and indeed none now that travel with us we could see the animation entertainers were busy all the time and loved by the kids. The did a little show every night outside on their stage. Sweet.

It was quieter down on the lake beach if the pools were ever so busy so there is always that option.

The town itselt is very picturesque. Not too far away. Nearest shop we found to be on the campsite under the bridge to the front of the hotel. Lovely area to have coffee in there right on the lake. Chateau de chateau moment as me any my other half call it.

In town, best icecream in Pink Panther parlour. Enjoy yourselves!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

What can I say we are a family of four, 5 yr old and an 11yr old we are very particular with our holidays and we absolutely love this hotel. The staff are friendly, the food is fantastic (something for everyone). We have been back 3 times now and manage to get the same room when we request the same. I personally find it very hard to relax on holiday but for some reason I feel at home at the Leonardo perhaps its because we know exactly what we are getting. Clean rooms, fab food, fab weather. When it does rain its so quick and over with and clears the air. The lake is great especially the water sports as they are free. Whilst the pools and lake are cold once you are in, you get used to it. Anyway its so hot you are diving in without realising in a day or two. Beward, August it gets very busy and can be off putting. We have been in July and August and prefer July. The Italians descend in Aug and you really notice it. We were so enthusastic about the place we brought our friends with us and they are going back. Hotel rooms in Italy are on the small side so make sure you get a superior room as they cater for 4 people. The walk into Limone is quite long but its scenic and pretty. We were toying with going somewhere else next year but the children are asking to go back to the Leonardo again.
Mrs Grant of Ruislip

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichellegRuislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone sul Garda
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
380 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#27 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 3, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: $107 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci Limone
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing