We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not 4 star food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at leonardo da vinci hotel in limone for 10 days june 4th -14th. Rooms are basic, big enough, aircon, plenty wardrobe space. We had a lovely view of the lake from block 5000 and we did not pay extra for lake view. Hairdryer is useless, take your own. Food was In our opinion not 4 star! Very much catered towards mostly German guests. Breakfast poor, lunch choice shocking, evening slightly better. Self service drinks works well, no queue's at all. This is also available on the private beach which is across a busy road. There are many steps and steep banks, which is quite tiring! Entertainment needs improving a lot! We were disappointed with the apparent quiet pool which was next to the baby pool and anything but quiet and so went to beach everyday. Staff pleasant enough. Limone is 30 min walk and very pretty although not accessible at night as no bus after 6.15 and no taxis at all. So pretty much tied to hotel at night as the walk back after dark on a busy road not advised. Use the road up the bank at left side hotel as no pathway at all on the lower road. Overall scenery is breathtakingly beautiful, but we would not return to this hotel. I would advise mossie protection, although i used it and was still bitten to bits! Clientele 90% German, 10% Brits, French, Dutch etc. No tv channels except bbc world service, wifi free with voucher from reception only works in reception area. Tourist tax payable €1 pp pnight at checkout.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shopaholic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear shopaholic,

thank you for your review. We're sorry that you didn't like our choice of food. We try to cater for a varied clientele; if you have a suggestions for us, we would be happy to receive them.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    163
    105
    37
    22
See reviews for
223
239
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed Saturday 7 June to 14, we arrived relatively late (8pm) and our bags were taken away and we were sent for a meal, as the buffet closed at 8:30pm and they wanted us to check in later - very nice touch.The bags were dropped off at our room.

We found the food very acceptable, others moan edto us that it wasn't as good as other all inclusive hotels they had been to. I'm a half full reviewer, you cannot combine the last 15 holidays in to 1 new fantasy holiday!

Fantastic spot, a 20 minute walk or (3 minute free bus ride) will see you in Limone. Free there you can get a ferry to Riva or Malcesine for €9. The cable car at Malcesine is fantastic as is the castle. Pizza in Riva is well worth it.

Yeah you get a buffet lunch in the hotel, but you do need to go out and about and some local lunches.

My only gripe was that it it was hot, 30 degs C and 80% humility and the hotel was reluctant to turn on the air con in bedrooms, our Thomson rep had to get involved and it was sorted.

The self service bar is great, but you have to be careful as you might get carried away..... I was once! ;)

Really nice hotel and great area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobnob_Solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear hobnob,

thank you for your review. It's great to read that you consider our hotel to be nice and nicely located. We hope to see you again in Limone and in our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We first visited this hotel 7 years ago and loved everything about it. Sadly, on our recent return visit things were not quite so good.
Firstly, any feel of Italy has been removed from this hotel as 98% of the clientele are young German families with small children and the food and entertainment is clearly directed at them.
Public areas were overcrowded and noisy, you'd be very lucky to get any quiet, peaceful time in these areas. We only had adult entertainment twice during our week. The other nights consisted of the animation team entertaining the kids on the public stage, some nights up until 10.30pm.
Restaurant was full to capacity and very noisy, not the formal Italian style you might expect. Food choices were limited, especially breakfast and lunch, and the evening meal became very repetitive with a choice of salad starters, meat and fish and two pasta dishes most nights.
We visited during the 2nd week in June when there was a heatwave, where temperatures were around 35° yet the hotel refused to turn on the air conditioning as this was not classed as "high" season.
Surprised that this hotel is still hanging on to a 4 star rating.
On a positive note, the staff were really good and very helpful. The location is fantastic overlooking the lake and the resort of Limone beautiful with plenty to do.
We think that the all inclusive branding has spoiled this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jo,

thank you very much for your review. We're sorry to read that you didn't like our all inclusive: we try to cater to a different kind of clientele and we think that this is one of the best ways to let families spend a nice holiday. Anyway, we don't only have family hotels in Limone: check out our website for more information.

Thank you and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

A lovely hotel in beautiful Limone clean comfortable rooms food good evenings and mornings but lunch not good but edible, drinks good quality so all very good on the whole. We did eat out on a few occaisions and found prices good and were not ripped off. Lake Garda is so so beautiful it is a perfect place for all ages.. well worth a visit and only a 1 1/2 hour flight away..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Stella,

thank you for your review. We are happy that you spent a lovely holiday. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Restaurant is very efficiently managed with a selection of hot and cold dishes and you can select a table either inside or outside. The animation team work tirelessly to entertain at the poolside with various activities for adults and children throughout the day and then in the evening with quizzes, dancing, bingo etc. Staff throughout the hotel are very pleasant and could not be more helpful with any request put to them. Had a lovely holiday thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailingbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello sailingbill,

thank you very much for your kind review and thank you for staying here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We returned from a great weeks holiday on 28th May and had a very enjoyable week. Myself, husband, sister and her husband would definately stay here again. The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from Limone, however the hotel has a frequent courtesy bus service. The hotel has beautiful views across the lake and the snow capped mountains look spectacular, we walked a lot to take in the lovely scenery. There are regular ferry services to differerent locations which are worth visiting especially Malcesine, we went on market day, also visited the castle. The hotel is set on different levels which may be challenging for anyone with mobility problems. The rooms are clean and functional, and an adequate size, we had everything we needed including towels for the pool, coffee making facilities. We stayed in block 500 and the views were lovely.

The staff were, without exception pleasant, efficient and welcoming. The head reception man was especially helpful, Johnny the restaurant leader was charming, warm, entertaining and ensured the highest standards were set and maintained, his son worked there he was polite and competent, also. The food was buffet style and the range and quality really good. I am a vegetarian and had a really wide choice - loads of salad, pasta, bean dishes, veg, rice dishes, noodles, fruit etc.also pizza available. The meat eaters said they enjoyed the variety, also plenty of fish dishes. The cakes are superb and the fresh bread delicious. The tradition is that a lot of cold veg is served with the salads but hot veg also available. The drinks are all self service which worked well, no waiting as there are plenty places to access a range of drinks.

There is an entertainment team and they made great efforts to involve guests. We enjoyed dancing with them and the music in the evening, although some guests seemed to prefer just having a quiet drink. There is plenty of seating inside and out and plenty of room around the pool.

The hotel is not new and could proberbly do with an update but it is, overall, well located, nice food, lovely and clean, friendly staff who make you feel that you matter, good value for money and suits all ages. We went with thompson holiday company the tour advisor james was excellent and really did make our holiday more enjoyable with his knowledge, good advice and professional manner.

Room Tip: We were in 500 block and had fantastic view of lake and mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank durhamcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear durhamcouple,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy that your liked our hotel and service. We also thank you for highlighting the good value for money of our servces. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel is situated well with lovely views over Lake Garda, rooms are clean but a little dated... Unfortunately the food was appalling in this hotel, tried to eat here on several occasions only to be disappointed and hungry each time, a free minibus does run to Limone and the walk is pleasant, but it added an unexpected cost to our holiday eating out a lot more than anticipated, we did complain to our rep from Thomsons and to be fair he did all in his power to try to rectify our issues. Overall Limone beautiful, Lake Garda beautiful and we had some amazing trips organised by our Rep, but ultimately I'd avoid this hotel as there are other nicer hotels in this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoochonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear PoochonBob,

thank you very much for your review. We're sorry about your experience of Italian food. We try to cater for different tastes; if you have any suggestions, feel free to contact us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#15 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#18 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 3, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci Limone
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing