We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, drink & fantastic views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food, drink & fantastic views!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from 1wk all inclusive and highly recommend this hotel. It's quite a long transfer (2.5hrs), but scenic journey in the daytime. I think we were upgraded to a superior room in block 2000 - very comfortable with great views of the main pool, lake and mountains. Everywhere was very clean, especially the 3 main pools and the grounds were very well maintained.
We found the food excellent and very varied for an all inc. Breakfast was good, lunch was always a delicious pasta, chips, some form of meat and interesting salads. Dinner was fantastic - an ever changing selection of Italian anti-pasti (hams, artichokes, olives, salads, seafood etc) or soups followed by a choice of 6 or so hot main courses. Finally multiple desserts to pick from, great ice cream, 3 cheeses, fruit. Always well stuffed after this lot! Having read some other reviews, I was unsure what the drink would be like, but was very pleased with the quality of beer, wines & hot drinks available. Finally, what impressed us the most was the excellent service from all the staff - nothing was too much for them and we felt especially welcomed by Johnny (maitre d) and his son Tony. We certainly plan to return once our food has digested!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank craiganj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear craiganj,

thank you very much for your review. It's great to read that you plan to come back, so we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    163
    105
    37
    22
See reviews for
223
239
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in this hotel. My comments are very similar to Scottiedog117. I would just like to add that it is on a hillside, and if you have any walking problems, I would not advise this property. Or even a little one in a buggy. Also you must be aware that cars are allowed to drive through the hotel grounds, which are mostly on step banks, to drop off luggage outsides there blocks. Then they drive up to the garages. We felt that it was only a matter of time before there was an accident. We were also in block 2000 which has fabulous views.
We had a nice holiday only spoiled by ignorant, Germans, who obviously thought we had no right to be in there hotel.
Ladies beware, if you put on a dress, it does not have to a ball gown just a maxi or any other dress for that matter, you will be looked up and down and talked about from our European cousins. They must not know that you can change for dinner, in fact it it quite a common thing to do on holiday. English are definitely in the minority in this hotel, which does not usually matter but we were made to feel very uncomfortable here. Shame really. We would go back to lake Garda, but would choose another hotel. P.s we are a middle aged couple with a 10yr old daughter.

Room Tip: Block 2000 was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katiesgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Katie,

thank you very much for your review. We're sorry to read that you're not going to come back. We obviously welcome guests from all over the world; we're sorry though that someone was rude to you, regardless of their nationality, of course. We hope that you will come back again in spite of your bad experience. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

For the first time I came to Leonardo 10 years ago, in 2003. Since that time I’ve stayed there 3 times annually and hope know Limone and the area well. Some guests complain the hotel is dated, the lunch is not great, etc. Yes, Leonardo is not a new hotel. However let me give an idea of the expenses of a typical staying in Limone. Let’s take the family of 3 (2 adults, one kid at the age of 10) with a budget of 160 euro per day. They have at least two options: 1) Leonardo da Vinci hotel (about 160 euro per day, all inclusive, free shuttle bus to Limone center); 2) 3* hotel N (100 euro BB, no all inclusive, no dinner, no lunch, no free soft drinks/wine/beer, no free shuttle to city center). If the family chooses option 2, their average additional daily expenses will be:
• Light lunch + dinner goes in Italy normally at least 30 euro per persons (20 euro for a 10 years kid);
• 3 soft drinks during the day - 7,5 euro;
• One ice-cream - 3 euro;
• Bus to Limone center and back – 4 euro.
So the average daily expenses are about 95 euro. If the family wants like to have 2 ice-creams, but not 1 or a glass of wine or a beer or something else - it goes more than 95 euro. It means that if a family stays at 3* hotel without air conditioning at the price of 100 euro BB, it spents additionally about 100 euro per day…
In my understanding it’s better (and cheaper) to stay at Leonardo without having a headacke where to eat, what to eat, how much to spent, etc. And also get cordial greeting, smiles, empathy, attentions to all your small problems from Leonardo da Vinci brilliant staff for free :).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear 69marina,

thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you had a great stay. We're grateful to you for highlighting the good value for money of our all inclusive programme. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I visited Riva on Lake Garda a few years ago. We liked the area so much, we decided to return, this time to Limone, staying at the Leonardo da Vinci Hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 8.45pm and the restaurant was closed. We had been left a plate of cold meats, cheeses, salad, bread and fruit in the room. A nice gesture! Our room was in block 2000, which had a great view of the lake and the pool. It was very quiet. Residents with mobility issues would find this hotel a challenge, as, set on the mountainside, there are some steep slopes and lots of steps. There are lifts in each block tho'. The room was spotlessly clean and serviced everyday with fresh towels and bedding. There is plenty of drawer and wardrobe space with lots of hangers. Beach towels and bathrobes are also provided. There is a kettle, tea, coffee and a fridge. No hair drier or iron. The safety deposit box was small, couldn't fit an iPad in it, but ok for small valuables, at a returnable deposit of 30 euro. The bed was very comfortable. The decor in the hotel is a bit tired looking and some parts of the restaurant were a bit gloomy, but again, all very clean. All drinks are self service. We were disappointed that there was no fresh fruit juice on offer, all fizzy drinks. But both the wine and beer were very palatable. Breakfast was typically continental, we both enjoy fresh fruit at breakfast and missed this. Lunch was served by the pool and at the cafe on the beach. This was quite samey, salad, meat, cheese, chips and pasta. However the nectarines were delicious. Didn't like using the plastic cutlery. Dinner was by far the best meal, lots of salads, pasta, vegetables, not always chips, roast meats and meat dishes. As a non meat eater, I was vey pleased by the different fish dish that was on offer every evening. We don't eat desserts, but there was plenty to choose from. We stuck to cheese and fruit. Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss. The pool area was kept clean, mainly by residents using the waste bins provided. As was the private beach. This is accessible by steep steps across the road from the hotel. There are plenty of sun beds and a shallow slope down to the lake. Very safe for little ones. There is a small basic gym with a few weights, a treadmill, step machine and a couple of bikes. The indoor pool,was very quiet for a 'proper' swim.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We did not need to use the services of the Crystal Rep, Nick, but he was around most days and provided us with a mobile number, should we have needed it.
We did not use the courtesy bus to town, but it did run frequently. We chose to take the 15 minute walk instead. Rather than opt for the Crystal excursions, we did our own thing. There is a local ferry man who runs from the port, opposite the Hotel Sole. We did the Lake Garda Tour a full day trip, 9.30 til 5.30. Be sure to do this for 90 euro each. An ice cream in Sirmione is a must! And also you get to visit Garda.
To summarise, we had a lovely holiday. Our only words of warning are this: English holiday makers, and childless couples, English or not, are definitely in the minority.

Room Tip: Block 2000 had good views. Unsure of any other blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scottiedog117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Scottiedog,

thank you for your thorough review. It's great to read that you had a lovely holiday. We obviously welcome everyone, regardless of the nationality. So we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and only fails to get 5* because we felt the rooms were a bit tired looking and really need an update. Otherwise, this is a terrific place to holiday, particularly if you have children.
The facilities for keeping children entertained are really very good, and in particular the staff (who seem to work flat out all the time!) are absolutely brilliant with them. Our daughter was entertained, well looked after, and kept very busy. Huge thanks to Serena and Dominika.
The food is very good, with plenty of variety and the restaurant staff, in particular the jocular Jonny, do a very good job.
The hotel is well catered for swimming pools, 3 in all, and everything is kept very clean.
Definitely consider this hotel if you appreciate a relaxing holiday, with friendly, helpful staff and a simply beautiful location.
We'll be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al_7375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear al,

thank you for your review. It's great to read that you had a good time here and are going to come back. So we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week in July.We were a party of six and we booked the hotel through Crystal Holidays. On arrival we were allocated 3 rooms in block 6. This turned out to be a building on its own several hundreds of yards away from the hotel.The rooms were nowhere near what would have been expected for a 4 star hotel.They were dark and dull..They did not have the basics which you would expect in a 4 star hotel. There were no tea and coffee making facilities, there were no hairdryers , no room safes and no mini-bars.We felt isolated from the main hotel and it was a considerable trek to and from our rooms.
We stayed there for a couple of nights and then complained to our Crystal Rep and to the reception.We were then offered alternative accommodation in the main hotel provided we would agree to pay extra.. We were not pleased with this as this was not a cheap holiday to begin with nonetheless we agreed to do so.We were then allocated 3 separate rooms in the main hotel complex. One of these turned out to be infested by ants.After 3 separate incidents and complaints to the reception we demanded and were given a different room.The accommodation in this hotel is very poor.
The hotel is a few kilometres away from the village..We ended up using taxis to get to and from the village.The evening entertainment at the hotel is not great.
We have stayed in far superior 4 star hotels around Lake Garda. this hotel is to be avoided.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank belfastcouple653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear belfastcouple653,

we're sorry that you didn't like our hotel. Yet, we thank you for your review, which will help us to improve our service. We would like to remind you that our hotel has a shuttle bus service free of charge that gets you to and from Limone town centre, so there is no need to call a taxi.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family with two children aged 5 and 8 had a supberb holiday. The hotel is not the most modern, but see beyond this and you will find amazingly strong fundamentals are all here...its private beach, the swimming pools and scale of the grounds, its mountain and lake views. The food was simple yet superbly presented with delicious and healthy Italian cooking. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, and I found the fact that most of the other guests were German / continental actually a positive as everyone was very polite and encouraged you to feel at ease. A special thank you to Serena and the activity leaders and staff who were exceptional and really good - our children especially enjoyed the gentle activities of the childrens' club and mini disco. This place is a gem for those who appreciate friendly staff, good food and a relaxing holiday in such a pretty location.

Room Tip: You can either choose a room near the 'buzz' of the main pool or in a quiet annex block if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Chris R,

thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay. We'll pass your compliments through to Serena and our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#15 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#18 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 3, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci Limone
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing