We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points, some not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some good points, some not so good”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Firstly this is not 4 star, but we were lucky enough to get a superior room with the most stunning view across the lake. The room was very dated and only our pillow cases changed once in a week, but it was cleaned every day. We liked the lake side beach area as it was always quiet, but sadly the beach side grill and pool side grill had closed down, so we were only able to get drinks from the machines which were surronded by wasps. Breakfast was just ok, no fresh fruit only tinned prunes and the usual scammbled egg and bacon with a few cold cuts, lunch was very poor as all we ever had was three trays of grated carrot and cabbage a little ham and sliced cheese, chips, pasta and a burger of sorts, no sweets or friut. Afternoon snacks were small pieces of swiss roll. The evening meal was good with a nice assortment of hot and cold food, cheese and sweets. The entertainment was pretty boring with the usual electric organ player/singers. The walk down to Limone took about 20 mins, but what a beautiful place so pretty, there we hired a speed boat for an hour for 50 euros which was great fun. There was only a handful of English people at the hotel the majority were German. Well worth a visit if you don't expect too much from this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have mobillity problems this hotel is full of steps and slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moores77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Moores,

thank you for your review. We're sorry about the linen change and we thank you for putting it up for our consideration. Your opinion will be taken into account so as to improve our service. If you have anything to suggest as in order to ameliorate what we are now offering, feel free to contact us. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    163
    105
    37
    22
See reviews for
222
239
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sennen Cove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 6 days on the all inclusive package. The best thing about the hotel is it's position on the shore of Lake Garda. It really is spectacular.
We had travelled over to take in a concert and opera in Verona. As the hotel was more than an hour away from Verona by car, perhaps it wasn't a perfect choice for our needs although I guess most guests did not venture far from the hotel and its environs.
We were allocated a beautifully positioned premium room in the detached Villa right on the lakeside across the road from the main hotel building. The room was reasonable, not luxurious, but had a perfect outlook direct over the water. It did the job fine.
Whilst we only made use of the all inclusive facilities on 3 of the 6 days, the food and drink were only OK. Breakfast & evening dining had plenty of choice but wasn't great food. The staff and service throughout were terrific but it is quite basic. There was however always something to satisfy the appetite. Lunch was barely worth having, chips, plain pasta, burger, salad, etc. Drinks were OK, we got quite used to the white wine and there were plenty of other options including local spirits. The coffee was really nice and we liked the fact that everyone just simply helped themselves to customer facing drinks. There was music on most nights and there did seem to be some form of entertainments team but we didn't see anything of their activities.
The lake 'beach' is harsh underfoot therefore some shore shoes would be strongly recommended.
No shortage of sun beds when we were there.
We have visited Italy quite a few times and we thought this was a decent hotel, probably 3 star by UK/US grading.
The main attraction of the area to us seemed to be the scenery which truly is worth a look.

Room Tip: Villa Lucca is a good choice and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil&Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Neil & Sue,

thank you for posting your opinion. It's good to read that you enjoyed your holiday and find our hotel suitable for your needs. If you happen to be around Italy again, we suggest that you try another hotel nearer to Verona, e.g. in Bardolino (Parc Hotel Germano and Parc Hotel Gritti).

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

we stayed from 25 aug -8 sept 2012 arrived 1pm after 2hour coach trip via lake garda.we had booked a lake view with crystal holidays.but our room view was blocked by trees!.so i asked for a room with a better lake view .it was not a problem.anna on reception was very helpfull like all the staff at the hotel nothing was too much trouble. the manager diago was so helpful many times.the rooms are always kept very clean but as i have read before we booked a bit dated: ie 80 s .after moving rooms we were 20 mins late for lunch but the staff at the pool made us some ham &cheese rolls and fruit .when we got back to our new room 4303 our cases were there waiting.the view of the lake was fantastic .the food at lunch was fine . but dinner very good. very well cooked and always varied.we went on one trip to the dolomites we booked with the crystal rep katie .and i would say was always polite & friendly but it is a very long day ie: 11 half hours 7til 6 30 pm itwas a great trip but long.the verona trip is 11 half hours so we did it on our own we caught 7 28 am across the road next to the steps to the beach .you pay on the bus 2 euros get off at the bus station in riva del garda at 7 50 and bus to verona leaves at 8 10 arrives 10 0 clock verona .and then go to the kiost inside the bus station on left and buy tickets a green bus 90 or 91 only 1euro 50 which will take you to the centre of verona we spent 3 hours there and we were back to the hotel for 3 30 just remember the last bus from riva is 6 30.we found the walk to limone at night a good 20 to 25 mins but worth it a lot to visit there.like all around limone its very hilly i would recommend this hotel to anyone .and i would like say jonnie the restarurant manager was excellent he had great manners and spoke to everybody who came in .and made you feel so welcome .

Room Tip: 4303 above the swimming pool a bit of awalk but the view of the lake fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Patrick,

it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay indeed. We are pleased that you liked the dinner and thank you for you kind recommendation. We'll pass your compliments on to Johnny. See you soon.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I traveled to Italy with my 17 year old daughter, the last week of August. On arrival at the airport in Verona, we received a warm greeting from the crystal team reps. They guided us to our coach and we had an entertaining and enlightening transfer to our hotel. I was really blown away by the beautiful scenery and loved every minute of the journey.

When we got to our hotel we were greeted warmly by the male receptionist, he organised for our cases to be taken to our room and told us to pop into the restaurant to have dinner as it was near closing time and he didn't want us to miss out on eating. This receptionist, together with a blonde lady were the nicest 2 receptionists at the Leonardo, the others were more surly, less friendly and my daughter and I learnt to avoid them if we needed to speak to any staff.

We booked for the a la carte restaurant for one night, I carefully studied the menu to check for seafood as I cant stand eating anything that swims in the sea. It was fine, all nice and tasty food. When we took our table, Johnny (the head of the restaurant) was very courteous and entertaining, he came out with our first course, Prawn cocktail!!!! well you can imagine the horror on my face when this appeared. I am ashamed to say that I hid all in my serviette, as did my daughter and another english family, seated alongside us. Nothing wrong with prawn cocktail, but it wasnt on the menu and to me it would have been like eating maggots...so I couldnt do it. Johnny was none the wiser when he collected our clean plates and proceeded to bring out the remaining courses.....all were lovely except perhaps the mozzerella and tomato dish - which was a little bland. Johnny was hilarious though, everytime we thanked him for bringing something to our table he replied "no thanking you, thanking you" it became our most mimicked catch phrase for our stay

The indoor swimming pool was a wonderful find on our second to last day as the weather turned. It was like a warm bath, but is very deep so may not be suitable for young children, especially with no life guard. The outdoor pool was lovely on the warmer days but if you go in peak season be sure to get up early to reserve a sunbed. No point telling you not to as everyone else does. The food was lovely, lunch times a little basic but you could eat so much for breakfast and dinner it didnt really matter.


We took part in the music quiz on the last night..it was a good night and my daughter did very well for the english..very proud of her knowledge.

Hotel itself is clean and comfortable, drinks on tap, lots of staff to help you out, excellent rep from crystal. I can recommend the Venice night time excursion. I would have liked to do the Milan one but it was on the day we left resort so not possible.

The main indicator of what I thought of this place is that I will most definately return. I loved discovering all the little nooks and crannys, eg the lake beach at the villa lucia (part of the hotel complex) the free mini bus into limone, The gym, spa, underground nightclub...all discovered at various points of our stay...we didnt find the mini golf or the pool with the flume, because we were kept so busy doing other things.....the scenery blew me away. I adored the whole time there..no need to bring beach towels as the hotel provides them in your room...so helpful with the weight allowance on your luggage.

Remember the lakes are prone to storms, although short lived, in August we were in a bikini one day and a raincoat the next.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crawleylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Crawley Lady,

we are happy that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. We are very content to read that you had such a good time that you plan to come back. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay at the LDV hotel in Limone, Lake Garda. It was our first trip to the Lakes and the hotel was recommended to us by friends. We booked through Crystal and they are very good. The reps in the hotel are excellent - always there and always helpful.
We arrived on a Saturday evening in very wet conditions and as you would expect, everyone was inside the hotel sheltering from the rain. So our first impressions were that the hotel was overcrowded with no place to sit and relax.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the lovely town of Limone - most impressed with Limone. At first we thought that we were a little too far away, although the walk was a very pleasant one. When we started to look at other hotels closer we realised that the LDV had a major benefit in a private beach which allowed more space for convenience. We didn't see any other such hotel on our walk in to Limone - all seem to have small, quite congested pool areas.
The hotel is all inclusive and we thought that the breakfast and lunch were quite basic but adequate and we always found something suitable to eat at dinner.
The rooms were not very big but were comfortable. My wife however, complains that the in-house hair drier is not very efficient, and if we ever returned she would definitely take her own.
We took a trip to Venice which we both enjoyed. We booked the trip in the UK as part of the holiday package - bad mistake!!. It is cheaper to book with the rep when you are there. On the trip we booked the gondola trip and the lagoon trip and we went for the organised lunch. The trips were well worth it but the meal was just so-so. You were herded into the restaurant, served very quickly, the waiter then stood over you to collect the money and then you were herded out for the next lot to arrive. The other thing to note is that if you book the trips then you will not have time to visit inside the Doge's Palace, Clock Tower, Cathedral etc. There was a queue for each with about 30 mins wait.
We stayed around the pool on 2 afternoons. The beds are very close together, so little privacy and unfortunately the animacion team felt that the music around the pool had to be very loud so that people on the other side of the lake could benefit from it!! If it was an 18-30's holiday I could understand but seriously??
The hotel caters mainly to the German tourists but we were on of quite a few Brits there. It would be nice if the hotel could maybe cater a little for us Brits even if we get one tv channel in English.
We enjoyed our trip to Lake Garda and wished we had stayed longer as there are so many places around the lake that we wanted to visit but ran out of time. The weather at the start of the week didn't help us either. I am not sure whether we would stay at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Limone side of the hotel I believe are quieter, as on the other side there is a road wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Keith,

thank you for your review. We are sorry if something bothered you during your stay and hope that didn't ruin your holiday altogether. If you would like to, you can let us know if you can do anything else in order to improve our service. If this can help to make up your mind about whether coming back or not, we inform you that we have hotels in Bardolino and Peschiera del Garda as well. We hope to see you soon anyway. :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We returned to this hotel for our tenth wedding annivesary as it is the same hotel that we stayed when we got married in Verona.
Firstly it's worth mentioning that anyone thinking of booking through Thomsons, don't bother. Thomsons are just an agent for Crystal. We booked through Thomsons but everything from the moment you get your tickets is literally Crystal and their staff and service are excellent so nothing to worry about (you may just save a few pounds as well).
The hotel itself hasn't changed in any way shape or form since we were there ten years ago. The staff are all very friendly and helpful with fantastic English. Johnny, who runs the restaurant and bar keeps a tight ship and is both entertaining and helpful. The place is kept very clean (room cleaned daily) and the food is excellent with plenty of choice. Well worth going all inclusive as eating out in Italy is like most places these days - extortionate.
The only thing that really lets this hotel down are the rooms and the building itself. As previously mentioned, the decor dates back to when it was built maybe in the seventies. We had a 'Superior room' and I can honestly say that every Travelodge I've ever stayed in has been far better than this room. The decor is decidedly eighties, instead of a double bed my wife and I had two singles and our two children had a fold out sofa bed each. We all slept in a row (funny if it wasn't so expensive!) The main light in the room is actually a 150watt security lamp that you would find on the side of a house! Not that we watch much television on holiday but there was only one English channel (BBC World News) so my young children were not impressed. Unfortunately everything is tailored to the Germans, of which most of the guests were, towels on sunbeds by 5am, you get the picture.
I would love to rate this hotel 'very good' because it ticks so many boxes and the staff are great but the lack of investment in keeping it up to date leaves it lagging far behind it's other European counterparts and Italy is much more expensive to visit than them.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room because the standard ones must be awful in comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyboy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear matty,

thank you for your review. We're happy that you had a good stay at our hotel. Yet, we thank you also for your kind remarks about the rooms and building: we will take them into consideration. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stopped at the Leonardo da Vinci for two week and whilst we had a good stay I’m a little bit conflicted on how to report the holiday. Overall I would agree with comments that it probably isn’t a 4 star hotel as we now know them but the package of facilities and place make up for a lot of the shortcomings.

We stopped in Block 6 in 6105 a standard but very large room with effectively a second area partitioned off for our daughter to sleep (who really appreciated the lack of snoring). I suspect our room was a lot bigger than the normal rooms. Whilst the room was comfortable it was quite stark and basic but we did have a balcony with a great view of the lake. Aircon was noisy and I preferred to turn it off at night much to my wife’s displeasure. The other disadvantage of being in Block 6 was the steep road back to the main hotel complex but I suppose we got over it.

The restaurant was busy but the food was good and varied; mainly aimed at the German taste but I don’t have a problem with that. Johnnie the maître d’ was a great character and was always very friendly and helpful, it would be a good observation not in the unkind sense to put him alongside Basil Fawlty; if you read this please don’t be upset! If you stop here make use of the table service, not sure how often you can use it but it was a welcome change in the Giaconda area of the restaurant, normally some of the main restaurant food but served plated up in a 7 course meal.

The pool areas of the hotel were great but the main pool was too packed with sunbeds, the kids area underused; for a hotel like this the slide was fantastic. For me the highlight was the private beach, we always found a sunbed and the water was cooler than the pool and a lot more atmosphere; the vista was fantastic, I could lounge of swim here for ages watching people and the lake traffic. You can borrow the wind surfers and kayaks; our daughter really loved borrowing the kayak, for her one of the highlights was jumping off the pier into the lake.

A let down for me was how far out of Limone the hotel was, yes it is 20-25minutes as advertised but it can be a drag especially the climb out of the village, there is a minibus but it would have been nice for it to run at night and be better timed with the boat timetables. The hotel is effectively the last thing before going south through the tunnels so it is out on a limb, if it weren't for the private beach this would be a big disadvantage.

The animation team was Ok for our daughter but didn’t do anything for us, finding a place on the terrace in the evening was sometimes challenging.

So a mixed report but overall we had a good holiday around Lake Garda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Stw,

we thank you for posting your review. You gave us some good pieces of advice in order to improve our service. We are glad, anyway, to read that you had a good holiday. We hope that you would like to come back next time you happen to be around Lake Garda. :-)


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#13 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#17 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 3, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci Limone
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing