We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St.Annes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is a great hotel to stay at”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here between 9th and 23rd July and can honestly say it was a great holiday, The hotel is exa\ctly what you would expect to arrive at when booking through a normal package deal. I found the hotel to be clean and tidy, the staff friendly and helpful and the food excellent, The breakfast was the same each day but the range of choice meant that you could vary what you ate quite easily at breakfast. Lunch was simple but we were on the beach most days and were quite happy eating fresh salads with pasta and then fruit. The evening meals were very good with fish, meats and always a carvery roast meat. The puddings were superb. We booked a superior room and it was worth the extra because the view from the balcony was spectacular. Lake Garda is one of the most beautiful places anybody could visit and it was made more relaxing by staying at the Leonardo Da Vinci, Don't be put off by negative reviews because you would be missing out on a fantastic holiday. One last thing the beer served is German and it is the first time I have been on an all inclusive where i didn't get fed up drinking beer!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2204, the view was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cornelius1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear client, thank you so much for you review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Will you come back next year too? We hope so and we'll be ready to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    157
    105
    37
    21
See reviews for
218
234
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I chose this hotel on the mainly positive reviews, however once I had actually booked it the reviews went downhill fast and I have to say that given the opportunity I would have changed but nothing else was available. I am glad that I didn't.. First off I think if you are able to upgrade to a superior room it makes a huge difference. Our room was large and had a great view of the lake. It had a kettle, fridge, a large wardrobe with 30 hangers and a small TV which I never used.It also had bathrobes and we even had bottled water and chocolates waiting for us.
It was also very quiet, we did not hear any noise from the adjacent rooms apart from the scraping of chairs on the balcony . The bathroom was also of a good size and well lit. The shower wasn't very powerful but was always hot. The aircon worked quietly and efficiently.

The Hotel was clean throughout. I was impressed with the way all the staff muck in, we had a bad storm on one night and the next day the manager was up the ladder inspecting the roofs and cleaning out the pool. The breakfast had plenty of choice and the main evening meal had something for everybody. Not once did I choose something that I didn't thoroughly enjoy, no complaints whatsoever. The lunch I had only twice but what I did have was fine, it did not bother me in the slightest that it was on paper plates with plastic cutlery. The availability of the "free" wine and beer was worth it's weight in gold and for me made the Hotel excellent value, we spoke to some people in Limone who were paying £10 for a beer and gin & tonic. The wine was a mixture of merlot and cabernet sauvignon which you would pay about £12-15 a bottle at your local Indian and the lager was good quality German. Talking of Germans, The Hotel and Limone itself is dominated by their presence which does not really give it much of an Italian feel.
The pool area is a bit cramped and short of sunbeds so get there real early.
The Hotel is a bit dated and could do with a facelift but I can't help thinking some of the criticisms are a bit mean. I only booked a couple of weeks before departure and paid a lot less than the advertised brochure price so perhaps I can afford to be little bit more generous with my views but I liked it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superoir room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scorcheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear client, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised with our room - we had paid extra for a superior lakeview room and had been advised the view could be obstructed, but we had a glorious clear view of the lake. Our room was clean, the beds comfortable and the bathroom tiled nicely and we never lacked hot water for showers. The lighting in the main bedroom was dim, but the bathroom was brightly lit and so this was not a major problem. As mentioned by previous reviewers, most of the satellite tv channels were in languages other than English - though we did find one or two that were broadcasting English programmes - however, we did not intend to spend much time watching tv when the surroundings were so beautiful.

Don't understand complaints that the pool was too deep for children as there was a small children's pool adjacent to the main pool for those who couldn't swim, or didn't like deep water and the connected pools with the water chute didn't seem to be very deep - during our stay lots of children were enjoying playing in them. However, particularly around the pool, too many towels were left on sunbeds, sometimes for hours, despite notices saying it was not allowed to reserve sunbeds this way. We did manage to get a sunbed most times, either at the beach or on the outward facing area of the pool, which we preferred, but we did go out, so didn't depend on getting a sunbed all of the time. But the management need to take this in hand. Also the very slippery area around the pool was VERY dangerous and we saw lots of accidents happen - just standing warning notices around is not really acceptable. Some rubber matting, at least, should be provided.

There was a good selection of food for breakfast - cheeses and cold meats with salad, yoghurts, fruit, cereals, breads, eggs, bacon, sausages, beans (not so good), jams and honey as well as fruit juices, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and water to drink. Lunch was more limited and we didn't really understand why we never had pizza pieces offered, but we felt it was reasonable. Chips, pasta, cheeses, cold meats and fruit each day. There was a good selection of main courses for the evening meal and some lovely desserts as well as fruit and ice creams. You could easily have a decent 4 course meal every night. It was not the standard of individual restaurant meals served to table, but always good with a wide variety of meats and fish to choose from. The waiting staff were always helpful and cleared used plates away quickly - congratulations to Johnnie and a special mention to "Michaela" who always had a cheery smile.

Reception staff, from our experience, were helpful and friendly and we were greeted very well on arrival from Verona airport, which took about 2 and a half hours due to the busy Saturday traffic trying to get around the north end of the lake. We went on the coach trip to Venice, which took less than 3 hours each way (with a short stop en route). It was definitely worthwhile and we enjoyed our gondola trip and found the boat trip round the islands interesting and a good way to escape the crowds and heat and learn a bit more about the make up of Venice. The cable car trip in Malcesine was also a great experience and the views from the top were stunning.

The short walk to Limone centre was no problem for us and when there, the view from the bar at the Le Palme hotel in Limone was excellent - though we felt the service there was nowhere near as friendly as that at the Leonardo da Vinci.

The evening entertainers were mostly good, though not really prominently featured and at the Leonardo early to bed and early to get up is more the rule of the day.

Our stay was for just one week and neither of us was ready to leave at the end. We felt 10 days would have been ideal for us.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a bit extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrippersVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear client, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We thank you so much for your kind review and we're looking forward to seeing you again soon in Limone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This is my first Trip Advisor review and I have been compiling this in my head since we arrived at the Leonardo da Vinci 3 weeks ago.
I'm afraid I am going to repeat a lot of what you have probably already read!
Firstly -location is superb, although be aware, with several hotel stops on the transfer from Verona it took us 3 hours to arrive after a coach journey from the airport with no major road delays.
The hotel itself is very dated and in need of a serious face lift to bring it up to standard. Fixtures and fittings are dated and the bar area feels like its stuck in the 80's.
The main issue we had was the food ...and the fact you could not eat outside either for breakfast or dinner. Lunch was a joke ...for a country which boasts about it's culinary excellence, chips and a very basic salad offering was insulting....but then were we really in Italy?! 99% of the "hotel" guests (I say this as the Leonardo has a distinct "campsite" feel to it) were German.
The hotel serves German beer only, has 6 channels of TV (all in German) and unless you reserve a sun bed by the pool before 6.00am, then you won't get a tan!
Onto the positives.....the staff and the service was outstanding...very friendly English speaking waitresses and very helpful staff in reception.
We ate out for lunch a few times and even more in the evenings even though we were all inclusive. The choice of food at the Leonardo is reasonable for breakfast, dreadful for lunch and good for dinner...although not typically Italian (no Lasagne, pizza etc).
The private beach is nice, although gets very crowded and you will most likely end up with a German laying 12" from you trying to steal your sun parasol! The steps to the beach are very steep and you have a very busy road to cross.
Oh...thought about another positive....fantastic banana lollies ...which unfortunately ran out for 3 or 4 days.
Our First Choice rep (Tiziana) was lovely (a real Italian from Turin but living in Limone) and she offered excellent advice and helped us maximise our 2 week stay.
Enough of my ranting...would I go back to Lake Garda...yes...it's scenery is stunning and weather was fabulous. Would I go back to the Leonardo...no way Jose...or should I say Fritz.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TnVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Lake garda is a beautiful place however I would have to agree with the negative comments. The hotel is dated and in need of repair. windows were in need of replacement in lounge area, the toilet by the main poor had a green ceiling as it was covered in mold. The food was limited although the staff in the resturant were lovely. It was obvious during are stay that the hotel was not up and running. It could be a lovely hotel with some money put into it. I paid full price and felt that i payed over the odds as it is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOB1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your comments. We are doing our best and making many efforts to renovate the building and improve our service. I hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to demonstrate how long a way we've come. Hoping to met you again in one of our hotels we remain with best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I found several negative fresh reviews of Leonardo da Vinci hotel. Most of them focus on the fact the hotel standard rooms need refurbishment. As a guest of different hotels in Limone sul Garda since 2003 I’d like to make several recommendations. First I recommend checking the hotel pricelist. There are several categories of rooms at Leonardo and it’s absolutely normal that to get more comfortable room and a nice view you should pay more. As for me it’s rather strange to expect for something extraordinary choosing the cheapest room at the particular hotel. Second recommendation is to keep in mind that the price for the cheapest standard room all inclusive at Leonardo is less than the price of 90% Limone 3 and 4 stars hotels at half board. And the last recommendation. Relax and enjoy lake, mountains, and sun staying at Leonardo da Vinci hotel :)

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear client, we are very thankful to your for your review: we really appreciated it. We hope that you spent a pleasant holiday at our hotel and that you will be come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

this hotel could be so good however it is need of repair. broken shower, cracked basen, damp in room, broken latches on windows the list could go on. food was limited and a poor selection. drinks glasses smelt dirty and drinks often tasted strange. the childrens entertainment team was very poor the team often did not interact with the children. swimming pools very deep and not suitable for young children. in all not worth the money is not 4* i would have said it was 2*. would go back to limone but not at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank cc102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeonardoDaVinci, Web PR Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Sirs,
we are happy that you enjoyed the room change and the lake view, the cleaning, the
food the pools etc. About the air conditioning we would like to inform you that it is usually
working from middle June till middle September. Hoping to meet you again in one of our
hotels we remain with best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 3, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci Limone
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing