We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time TripAdvisor Let Me Down”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar dell'Orso

Bar dell'Orso
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time TripAdvisor Let Me Down”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Many restaurants are closed on Monday so we went here after searching for nearby places. TA has this ranked a 4. This place was a total let down. The food was terrible and the wait staff seemed really put off.

Helpful?
Thank markjs712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    616
    216
    99
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bargino, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great bar at the corner of Monteriggioni”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This bar offers delicious primi and salumi. Whether it is a coffee or a quick panino or a complete lunch, it is always satisfying. The position (next to the Firenze-Siena) at the exit of Monteriggioni is perfect. They offer also precious wine by glass (Sassicaia etc). You can sit indoors or outdoors on the sunny terrace.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank la_vera_toscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We first encountered this place by chance back in 2008 .. returning in 2012, we had big expectations and they were met plus more! We stopped here for lunch .. there is free parking opposite which is always a bonus. The food was tasty .. as we were eating lunch the place filled up, which is always a good sign. If sitting inside, prepare to share a large table with others. Worth a visit if you are near the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRaghorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
258 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Super Tuscan”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

You know about the wine, but this is the place to go if you want super Tuscan food. The appetizer platter is enough for four and features their genuine Tuscan porketta and salami with fennel. Homemade pici comes with delicious spicy sauces. The wild boar stew rivals a powerful Texas barbeque. Don't be fooled by the roadside location, plenty of locals eat here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastico Italian food”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Food, location and service were excellent. I could have stayed there all day but was dragged off to the castle on the hill which rounded the day out beautifully.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JackDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar dell'Orso also viewed

Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 

Been to Bar dell'Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing