We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Tuscan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar dell'Orso

Bar dell'Orso
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
258 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Super Tuscan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

You know about the wine, but this is the place to go if you want super Tuscan food. The appetizer platter is enough for four and features their genuine Tuscan porketta and salami with fennel. Homemade pici comes with delicious spicy sauces. The wild boar stew rivals a powerful Texas barbeque. Don't be fooled by the roadside location, plenty of locals eat here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    620
    217
    99
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastico Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Food, location and service were excellent. I could have stayed there all day but was dragged off to the castle on the hill which rounded the day out beautifully.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JackDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Busy bar right by the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Every time we drove by this bar, it seemed packed! One day when we were trying to figure out where to eat, we gave it a try. I had a very delicious plate of papperdelle cinghiale (boar) and a glass of wine. The menu is very typical for the region and the prices were reasonable. I was very impressed that they served fresh pasta. I would return here for a quick and casual meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Knock_me_out_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices with live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local and it was was filled with locals (no tourists that I could see or hear). We shared a large table with 3 other people and the food was quite good and the prices were quite reasonable. There was live music outside and everyone seemed to know each other.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but changed hands and was better in the past.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

You can eat like this in most places in Tuscany. Nice bar but with restaurant prices. Setting not great as next to main road but a good stop off on the way to Siena perhaps. Staff always just a little too rushed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizzypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar dell'Orso also viewed

Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 

Been to Bar dell'Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing