We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camere Dentro Il Castello
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After becoming lost in Tuscany we arrived in Monteriggioni and it was suggested that we try this Castello. It was a lovely two bedroom house, with parking inside the walls. Everything you could think of was provided including cook books in several languages, magazines DVDs etc, it was so inviting we stayed a second night and would recommend it to friends

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2016

Thanks so much for choosing "Monteriggioni Castello" for your vacation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad enjoyed your stay. We always strive to make our guests feet at home at do our best to make their holiday memorable.
Matteo ed Elisabetta De Martino
Monteriggioni Castello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay and the family that own it make you feel so welcome in every way.
We had six day in this beautiful little villa in the grounds of Monteriggioni Castle.
It is so very private with its own little courtyard that is gated off to others. The rooms are very generous with two bedrooms,bathroom with shower (no bath) but that was great as we never use a bath, small but lovely kitchen and beautiful large lounge to relax in after days out exploring the beautiful countryside of Tuscany.
Its so very central to everything but of course a car is a must plus a good GPS as some of the country roads can be poorly signed.
It is so close to everything Pisa,Sienna,San Gimigniano,Grieve in Chianti and Florence to which it is much easier to travel to by train which you can catch in Sienna as parking in Florence can be very hit and miss and also very expensive.
Elisabetta and her brother are so helpful they told us of many places to visit plus many good places where we could eat and very cheaply. We got a puncture while we were there and Elisabetta even organised a place where we could get it fixed by ringing and booking it for us which was a great help and it was done immediately. They also provided us with many maps

Room Tip: The hotel next door can be a little noisy especially if there is a function on. But we found the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2016

Thanks so much for choosing "Monteriggioni Castello" for your vacation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad enjoyed your stay. We always strive to make our guests feet at home at do our best to make their holiday memorable.
Matteo ed Elisabetta De Martino
Monteriggioni Castello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

A friendly village hides within the historic walls of Monteriggioni castle.
It took us 3 days to discover most of its hidden charms.
Siena and San Gimignano were a short and worthwhile drive from the
castle walls.

There are 4-5 great restaurants and for one of our lunches we eat a little bit
of fresh bread , a little bit of cheese and Chianti wine in the olive garden of
our hotel. It was heavenly.

Room Tip: Upon arrival don't be shy to drive directly thru the castles narrow opening and straight forwar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdussaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2016

Thanks so much for choosing "Monteriggioni Castello" for your vacation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad enjoyed your stay. We always strive to make our guests feet at home at do our best to make their holiday memorable.
Matteo De Martino
Monteriggioni Castello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our family of 5 was very comfortable in the apartment for a relaxing week touring Tuscany. Everything was well maintained and very clean. There was a brand new pack n' play crib for our toddler. The kitchen was thoughtfully equipped. We ate almost every meal outside on the private patio. It was helpful to be able to park inside the castle walls rather than hiking up from the parking lot below town. Monteriggioni is small, charming and beautiful. There are about four restaurants and several other shops. There are a couple places to get gelato (a daily essential!). A small supermarket is only a few kilometers away. We made day trips to Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, and Firenze. Firenze was only about 45 minutes easy drive. The apartment was quite reasonably priced, especially for the location, size, and amenities. Thank you to the lovely Elisabetta and her family!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2016

Thanks so much for choosing "Monteriggioni Castello" for your vacation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad enjoyed your stay. We always strive to make our guests feet at home at do our best to make their holiday memorable.
Matteo De Martino
Monteriggioni Castello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was our first stop on a month long tour of Tuscany and we couldn't have chosen a better starting point. We stayed in Monteriggioni Castello for 11 days. It is perfectly situated for day trips by car to Sienna, Chianti, Panzano, S. Gimigniano, Montalcino, etc. For days when we just wanted to relax and read, the little terrace was ideal. The terrace was also our dining room -- a charming spot to enjoy meals. The online photos and description of Monteriggioni Castello are accurate; no disappointments! The apartment is clean, well maintained and well stocked for cooks. Also, there is lots of good information provided -- books, guides, and magazines about the area, culture and art. Elisabetta and Matteo were fabulous hosts as were their parents. We love the DeMartinos! All in all, it was a wonderful experience to stay there and we highly recommend this property.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank 996richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile signor Richard,
Grazie per aver scritto questa recensione e grazie per aver scelto "Monteriggioni Castello"
come location per le vacanze estive della sua famiglia. I nostri alloggi sono dotati di tutto e di tutti i confort. Quando si viene a "Monteriggioni Castello" si deve vivere un'esperienza diversa, una vacanza che non si è mai vissuta prima d'adesso. Per questo i clienti dopo che sono stati nella nostra struttura tornano anche negli anni successivi.
Sono felice che abbia notato tutti gli accessori della cucina compresi i libri di cucina ( nelle diverse lingue ) che servano per le signore che vogliono cucinare con le proprie mani piatti tipici toscani che hanno assaporato in ristoranti della zona.
Grazie ancora per essere stati nostri ospiti
Matteo De Martino, Monteriggioni Castello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The villa is well situated in the middle of Monteriggione fortress and it's not too far away from Sienna and Firenze not either. We got very warm welcome for Matteo and Elisabetta and lots of information about Tuscany like places to visit. We had wonderful days enjoying every moment.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paipeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2016
Google Translation

Grazie per aver scritto questa recensione e grazie per essere stato nostro ospite.
Il Castello di Monteriggioni è un luogo dove il tempo sembra che si sia fermato e quando si soggiorna nel castello sembra di rivivere nel tempo del medioevo.
Nella nostra struttura che si chiama "Monteriggioni castello" cerchiamo con il nostro calore vogliamo far vivere un' esperienza memorabile che i nostri clienti possano portare ancora con se per il resto della vita.
Spero d'avervi ancora come nostri ospiti in un prossimo futuro.
Grazie
Matteo ed Elisabetta De Martino. Monteriggioni Castello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The house is wonderful.
The location is perfect.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful.
Me, my wife and daughter choose Monteriggioni as central point to explore Turcan region. The result was exatly what we were expecting. Even better.
The house is very well conserved, with very good taste and quality furniture and the city is gorgeous. Small amd quite.
The city is very near to Siena and other small cities that provided all necessary supplies.
And, I may not forget, there is a marvellous restaurant in town, called El Pozzo, where you can eat the most expectacular Bisteca Fiorentina. Unforgetable experience.
Last, but not least, how talking about Toscana without talking about the wine ? Chianti, Montepulciano, Montaltino, one better the other !
I expect to return, and bring friends !

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiz_f_Ramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile signor Luiz,
Grazie per aver scelto la nostra dimora che si chiama "Monteriggioni Castello" per trascorrere la vostra vacanza estiva. Sono felice che vi siate riposati bene nella nostra casa e che abbiate avuto un' esperienza positiva. Sono felice che abbiate notato la cura dei particolari del nostro alloggio infatti da sempre cerchiamo di stare attenti ai dettagli.
Spero che le indicazioni che vi ho dato per visitare la toscana vi siano state utili e che abbiate visto tutte le cose che vi avevo segnalato.
Spero che tornerete in futuro con i vostri amici
Matteo De Martino, Monteriggioni Castello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
0.9 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monteriggioni
Hotel Monteriggioni
#6 of 11 in Monteriggioni
179 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Montarioso
Villa Montarioso
#7 of 11 in Monteriggioni
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Ebbio
Agriturismo Ebbio
#8 of 27 in Monteriggioni
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast In Piazza
Bed & Breakfast In Piazza
#7 of 14 in Monteriggioni
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camere Dentro Il Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camere Dentro Il Castello

Address: Via Primo Maggio 19, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $106 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming holiday-house within the medieval walls of Monteriggioni. A fortified village right in the heart of Tuscany a few km away from Siena and Florence. Recently restructured it's both elegant and refined, family-run it also has an informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Camere Dentro Il Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteriggioni Castello Hotel Monteriggioni
Camere Dentro Il Castello Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing