We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”
Review of Borgo Gallinaio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Borgo Gallinaio
Ranked #6 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2012. Alessandro is very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We sat on the balcony on our last evening with a meat and cheese platter and bottle of wine and watched the sun go down over the nearby hill town of Montereggioni. The place is spotless and so peaceful. Very relaxing and friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommended.
Elayne and Brian, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. Great location, very peacefull. Our room was spacious, cosy and superclean! Breakfast was very good, we also had dinner there every evening.
This was excellent, local dishes, so you get to try new things, and every meal was delicious! Deborah the waitress is very nice, has a big smile every day. Overall a pleasant surprise, a place to go back to!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

If you search for a place to relax, enjoy the quietness, listen to nature, like to take a walk through nature or make a bike trip, you surely have to go to Borgo Gallinaio. It's a beautiful hotel in the middle of nature with a very friendly staff. Alessandro will tell you all you need to know about the area. But it's also not far away from beautiful cities like Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra ..... After a long day you can relax at the swimmingpool. Breakfast is also very good with different kinds of bread, meat, cheese, fresch fruit and so on. The rooms are nice and clean! A nice place to stay among friendly people!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannah098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Pleasant welcome and stunning from the outside. Basic rooms. Probably needs a thorough clean as cobwebs not always a welcome sight in a room. Pool is great as lost between the olive trees. TV very dated and only 2 channels. Fine for staying the night and relaxing by the pool but don't expect to want to spend time in the room. Recommend for the region and for a great spot if you want to relax between the vines an olive trees.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VincennesFrance100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I stayed here for three nights with extended family, including children, and the entire experience was wonderful. The rooms were immaculately clean, wonderfully air conditioned and the atmosphere welcoming. The breakfasts were typically Italian: fruit, bread, cheese, meat with freshly made coffee. We ate there one night too and the food was very good indeed. Some of our party were vegetarians and this posed no problem at all. The courtyard where we ate was lovely and on the upstairs terrace there are spectacular veiws over the vineyards. The grounds are beautiful: you apporach Borgo Gallinaio via a long drive and feel you are truely 'away from it all'. A walk through olive groves and gardens takes you to the swimming pool which is far enough away from the sleeping accommodation to allow children to have fun at all hours of the morning and night and not worry about disturbing others. There are a few biting insects though so take insect repellant especially at night.
Overall, I can't fault it and would recommend it wholeheartedly to others.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Good location with a lovely view at the towers of Monteriggione.
Nice fresh room with an increddible bathroom!
Fantastic service ,breakfast and dinner are delicious....

The only disadvantage.... We could only stay 6 days

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kurth1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2004

My husband and I stayed 1 night at this villa when driving through Tuscany in June 2004. The villa was beautiful, very clean and and appeared to be newly painted inside. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a porch outside with a view of nearby Monteriggoni.
It wasn't the cheapest place we stayed in Italy (136 Euro), but certainly the nicest. We'd had great difficulty finding a villa that didn't require guests to stay at least several nights. Borgo Gallinaio is a bed and breakfast and they were happy to have us for just one night - and the breakfast was delicious. The owners were very friendly, kind and helpful.
Our only negative comment would be that the swimming pool (which we didn't have time to use) was some distance from the villa.

2  Thank Rose244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
1.4 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
555 reviews
3.2 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Monteriggioni
Hotel Monteriggioni
#6 of 11 in Monteriggioni
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Castel Pietraio
Castel Pietraio
#9 of 11 in Monteriggioni
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Borgo de Brandi
Borgo de Brandi
#8 of 14 in Monteriggioni
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fattoria Agriturismo Il Colombaio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Gallinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Gallinaio

Address: Strada del Gallinaio 5, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $117 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Gallinaio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Gallinaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Gallinaio Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing