We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We´ve never visited central Tuscany, only east part and then the main cities Florenc and Siena, but stay at Poggiarello has was the best choice. It´s rather hidden place, but charming!
There are old farm house with auxialiary buidings which ware reconstructed to rustic apartments in Tuscany style. Everywhere is beutiful view in typical Tuscany countryside, and from example from our bedroom was unusual view of towers San Gimignano!
Children appreciated big and clean pool, and me - central position between Florenc (40 km) and Siena (14 km), close to Chianti area (15 km), 50 km to the main Etruscan towns or monuments, possibility make a short one day trips. But the best things were people about, Nino, Roberto a Paulo, and their delicious cuisine and human approach, to help and full all wishes. Simply great place, great people!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan61Czech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 398 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Second time we have been here..and it was as good as the first time 8 years ago.
Pogiarello is not just another address where you can eat perfectly, enjoy the astonishing views of Tuscany, relax at the lovely pool and perfect basis to discover all Tuscane sights.
Pogiarello is much more.....and that is all due to the owners.
Nino and his wife, Roberto (and his lovely wife to be) gave us again the feeling that you are part of the family. The personal touch and attention for their customers is one of a kind that you do not find easily.

I would recommend it to anyone who loves authentical Italian food in a perfecet setting and takes the small road to get their for granted.

Pogiarello is one of a kind.....!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aad_kraaijvanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Antico Borgo Poggiarello is a former village in the middle of wood transferred to the hotel. It is far away from other villages, our GPS Navigator hasn’t known the address. The road snakes through the forest, we have twice seen peasants near it. Our house was renovated stable with real hay, divided in huge dining room with the kitchen and bedroom with bathroom. Internet was working fine. We haven’t tried breakfast or dinner, but it’s provided. The owner was very welcoming and has told us a lot about the place. Unfortunately we’ve stayed only 2 nights and weather wasn’t warm enough to use swimming pool.
The price is quite high, as all accommodations in and around Siena, you can find a room palace for the same price, but we wanted apartments.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCzerniawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was our first visit to Poggiarello and we enjoyed it very much.We stayed for 7 days. The farm house is beautiful, and very well situated to explore the ancient villages, castles and farmhouses in Scorgiano,and Montereggioni. The view of the Scorgiano countryside from the farmhouse was breathtaking . I liked particularly exploring the smaller roads leading to centuries old castles and farmhouses. Niño, Roberto, Paolo and the staff including the family dog Chiro were very nice.
Lapo the chef allowed us to observe while he was preparing a dinner of local Tuscan food.
Tuscan food and wine were superb. We all had a great stay.

Room Tip: Our apartment Civita had a good location and very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

It is a little out of the way but worth every penny. We stayed 4 nights and Nino-Paolo and Roberto were amazing hosts. They are very attentive toward your requests. They give opinnion and direction to all the sights.Now, it is not a hotel but rather apartments in a very old restored Vila. You are self contained and entertained. You will how ever experience cooking as good as it gets . The family has a restaurant that is exclusive to its guests. They ask that you read the menu -every morning- and let them know by 11 am if you will be joining them. I would definitely recommend that you do so. One other thing to note--Nino has an excellent wine cellar.

Room Tip: Be prepared to do your own every day cleaning and bring the essentials such as milk-coffee-munchies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RSV_Golpher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was a fourth visit to Poggiarello and we loved it just as much as the first time. This really is a very special place to stay. We have never returned to any other holiday destination before and Poggiarello holds a very special place in our hearts. We are very surprised by some of the negative reviews. We found Poggiarello through 'Alistair Sawdays' and you don't get to be recommended by Alistair Sawday if you aren't at the top of your game. Make up your own mind but we will be returning for a very authentic Italian experience including amazing food, fabulous views and great company.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueloz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in August 2011. It is a very special place. It is not a five star hotel in the centre of an Italian town/city. It is a beautiful farmhouse in fabulous Tuscan countryside overlooking the best views you can imagine. The rooms are spead around in outbuildings all connected with paths. Our room had a large kitchen/diner with our bedroom upstairs. Very traditionally decoreated and very comfortable. It is possible to cook for yourself in your room - but why would you when the breakfasts are terrific and in the evening you can eat the best Tuscan four course meal you could have anywhere. Eatimg in the evening outside the old farmhouse and looking across to the best sunset - why would you go anywhere else? Perfect. We will definitely go back if we are in the araea again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6,928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
2.7 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
917 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
555 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
729 reviews
14.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo Poggiarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Address: Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $118 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Antico Borgo Poggiarello 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Borgo Poggiarello, a special place to stay!Farmhouse in Tuscany, Senese Chianti, Italy, with swimming pool, Roman Bath, 14 holiday apartments, sat-tv and Free Wi-Fi Internet, a typical restaurant with the best traditional food and Chianti wines. The interiors and exteriors of the village in common use are equipped to accommodate people having difficulty walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Antico Borgo Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Poggiarello Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing