We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Village on sylvan hills of Chianti Senese” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Village on sylvan hills of Chianti Senese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Antico Borgo Poggiarello is a former village in the middle of wood transferred to the hotel. It is far away from other villages, our GPS Navigator hasn’t known the address. The road snakes through the forest, we have twice seen peasants near it. Our house was renovated stable with real hay, divided in huge dining room with the kitchen and bedroom with bathroom. Internet was working fine. We haven’t tried breakfast or dinner, but it’s provided. The owner was very welcoming and has told us a lot about the place. Unfortunately we’ve stayed only 2 nights and weather wasn’t warm enough to use swimming pool.
The price is quite high, as all accommodations in and around Siena, you can find a room palace for the same price, but we wanted apartments.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCzerniawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    58
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
139
114
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was our first visit to Poggiarello and we enjoyed it very much.We stayed for 7 days. The farm house is beautiful, and very well situated to explore the ancient villages, castles and farmhouses in Scorgiano,and Montereggioni. The view of the Scorgiano countryside from the farmhouse was breathtaking . I liked particularly exploring the smaller roads leading to centuries old castles and farmhouses. Niño, Roberto, Paolo and the staff including the family dog Chiro were very nice.
Lapo the chef allowed us to observe while he was preparing a dinner of local Tuscan food.
Tuscan food and wine were superb. We all had a great stay.

Room Tip: Our apartment Civita had a good location and very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

It is a little out of the way but worth every penny. We stayed 4 nights and Nino-Paolo and Roberto were amazing hosts. They are very attentive toward your requests. They give opinnion and direction to all the sights.Now, it is not a hotel but rather apartments in a very old restored Vila. You are self contained and entertained. You will how ever experience cooking as good as it gets . The family has a restaurant that is exclusive to its guests. They ask that you read the menu -every morning- and let them know by 11 am if you will be joining them. I would definitely recommend that you do so. One other thing to note--Nino has an excellent wine cellar.

Room Tip: Be prepared to do your own every day cleaning and bring the essentials such as milk-coffee-munchies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSV_Golpher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was a fourth visit to Poggiarello and we loved it just as much as the first time. This really is a very special place to stay. We have never returned to any other holiday destination before and Poggiarello holds a very special place in our hearts. We are very surprised by some of the negative reviews. We found Poggiarello through 'Alistair Sawdays' and you don't get to be recommended by Alistair Sawday if you aren't at the top of your game. Make up your own mind but we will be returning for a very authentic Italian experience including amazing food, fabulous views and great company.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueloz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in August 2011. It is a very special place. It is not a five star hotel in the centre of an Italian town/city. It is a beautiful farmhouse in fabulous Tuscan countryside overlooking the best views you can imagine. The rooms are spead around in outbuildings all connected with paths. Our room had a large kitchen/diner with our bedroom upstairs. Very traditionally decoreated and very comfortable. It is possible to cook for yourself in your room - but why would you when the breakfasts are terrific and in the evening you can eat the best Tuscan four course meal you could have anywhere. Eatimg in the evening outside the old farmhouse and looking across to the best sunset - why would you go anywhere else? Perfect. We will definitely go back if we are in the araea again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our second stay at Poggiarello, and what a stay it was. Wonderful admosphere and great hospitality by Roberto and family. Good swinging pool, opportunity to have a authentic dinner, prepared by a enthousiastic cook, with a passion for his proffesion. The best view ever on Tuscan landscape with view on a San Gimignano on the horizon.
Accomodation what you can expect, good bed, good shower and own cooking facilities.
From Poggiarello the Tuscan towns San Gimignano, Siena and even Florence are nearby and, ofcourse, well worth a dayvisit. Also a ride through the Chianti wine area and a visit to Castellina is wonderful experiance. Sure to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
219 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

First impression - a gypsy camp full of hobos. Awful, just terrible, the place has no A/C but the owner says in a flippant and condescending way, "oh, well, in the night time just open the windows because we are in the mountains and it cools down." OK but what about in the afternoon if you want to relax in your room? No chance, because it's 100 degrees in the room and outside in the summer. Pool area is full of derelicts trying to escape the heat. Dinner options extremely limited and served in an unappealing environment. Breakfast area totally unacceptable. Owner creepy. Rooms stark and no imagination or effort to be attractive. A long and rugged road from the main road to the property. Do yourself a favor and spend a few extra Euros and stay in a nice place, and not this far-flung hobo camp.

Room Tip: There is no best room! Run like hell
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poggia, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your review, we point out that despite all that you wrote, you were in my farm only 15 minutes, so you have not had the opportunity to test the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
1.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
8.6 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 110 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
8.3 mi away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Borgo Poggiarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Property: Antico Borgo Poggiarello
Address: Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Antico Borgo Poggiarello 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Borgo Poggiarello, a special place to stay!Farmhouse in Tuscany, Senese Chianti, Italy, with swimming pool, Roman Bath, 14 holiday apartments, sat-tv and Free Wi-Fi Internet, a typical restaurant with the best traditional food and Chianti wines. The interiors and exteriors of the village in common use are equipped to accommodate people having difficulty walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Antico Borgo Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Poggiarello Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing