We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living the Tuscan Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monteriggioni
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you want to sample the idyllic dream of life in a medieval Tuscan village, a few days here are about as close as you can get without splashing out on a villa. You feel pretty special when you drive through the narrow gate into the town..just a little different to the tourists traipsing up the hill from the parking down below

The location is perfect for touring Sienna and the villages nearby.Try dinner in Scorgiana in the tiny cafe that spans the road at night. The hosts at the hotel are a local family with deep connections to the local wine industry.Take their advice on places to eat as they are well worth the drive.

Rooms are well equipped but would try to avoid the ones on the ground floor next to the road as passing walkers disturb your inevitable summer siesta!

Room Tip: Go for a room facing garden rather than street. Check that the medieval festival isn't on ( typi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UluruAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is in an historic building which dictates the size of the rooms. However, they are well appointed and the bathrooms were adequate - though the shower was a bit of a squeeze. Added bonus - there is a small pool which was a treat, set in a small but pretty garden where breakfast is served. Our room overlooked the street which was busy, but interesting as everyone was preparing for the Mediaeval festival that began the next day. Belongs now to a German chain - Romantik.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is in an amazing location in the center of Monteriggioni a tiny medieval town on the top of a small hill.

it is full of charme and it is worth to spend few days there. breakfast is good.

The swimmingpool is really small and the rooms are not generous in terms of sqm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is not a fancy hotel, but it is lovely and serene. The owner (Gigi) is a great host. It's a perfect spot from which to explore the Tuscan countryside.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank travelfan94611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel sits right inside the walled citadel of Monteriggioni with its own parking and charming outdoor area with small pool and breakfast space which was always beautifully set. The entry area is very nicely decorated.The garden was also a good place to catch the late afternoon sun and have a glass of wine.
It is a lovely place to stay a couple of days and use as a base to explore the local area. The village gets very busy during the day but is peaceful to return to for an evening meal in the nearby piazza.
Our room was small but attractive and had a lovely view to the west but sounds from adjoining rooms intruded. The owners daughter is particularly helpful with good English.
Make sure you have clear directions after leaving the motorway as there are no signs due to local rules. Drive up and through the main gateway and across the piazza to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary-53-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My wife and I spend 5 nights at this lovely little hotel withing the walls of Monteriggioni.
The ancient building has been beatifully updated. Our bedroom was spacious and had a great view of the chianti hills. The breakfast was excellent each morning with fresh fruit and a beautiful presenation. No evening meal is served but excellent wine and light snacks are.
The staff was quite gracious with the owners very active and helpful.
Monteriggioni is a short drive from Sienna and less than 2 hours from Florence. We used it as a entral point for day trips throughout Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Monteriggioni in mid-September. The hotel was very comfortable and nicely decorated. We particularly enjoyed the garden with a view of the medieval walls where breakfast is served each day. Owner Michael and everyone there were incredibly helpful and welcoming. We chose the hotel because it is located within the ancient hill town of Monteriggioni, and by staying at the hotel one is allowed to drive into the town and to experience its quiet and mystery after the day visitors are all gone. We dined all 4 nights within the town walls and enjoyed all the restaurants, but the best place there is Il Pozzo. Although many maps don't show it, there is a good and very direct road from Monteriggioni to Castellina in Chianti, making Monteriggioni an excellent base for exploring the Chianti region. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
2.5 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
565 reviews
3.1 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casalta Hotel
Casalta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Monteriggioni
19 reviews
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
#5 of 11 in Monteriggioni
93 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Montarioso
Villa Montarioso
#8 of 11 in Monteriggioni
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteriggioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteriggioni

Address: Via Primo Maggio 4, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $196 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteriggioni 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building, which is in the heart of this charming medieval fortress, dates back to the 17th century and is now home to the superior 4 star Hotel Monteriggioni. The original architectural style has been preserved during the restoration, creating, together with the tasteful furnishings, a luxurious setting where guests can enjoy a private yet elegant atmosphere. Twelve luxury bedrooms – each with its own particular character – and “La Maison”, a most charming apartment, look out over the boundary walls made famous by Dante in his Divine Comedy. The centuries-old olive trees and the stone swimming pool in the garden offer our guests quiet areas for reading, enjoying a long breakfast or simply relaxing. The owners, Michela Gozzi and Luigi Cagnazzo, are always ready to answer any questions about the major Tuscan art cities and the ancient villages of the area. They can give useful advice about local events, city or airport transfers, guided tours and local excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Monteriggioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monteriggioni Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing