We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've been to Italy several times...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo La Gavina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteriggioni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo La Gavina
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I've been to Italy several times...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

...And never have been offered such an authentic taste and feel for the country as I did when we stayed at La Gavina with Emiliano and his adorable family. If you only ever visit Italia once in your lifetime, this is where you should stay. The lodgings, surroundings and the food (especially the food) will leave you breathless. Trust me, this place is paradise. Baci e a la prossima!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were gone almost one month to Europe, and our five nights at La Gavina were the highlight!! Emilio and his lovely family were warm, caring, and provided the perfect "home away from home". Their beautiful farmhouse is full of character and history. After spending long days exploring the wonderful hill towns in the area, my husband and I loved coming "home" to Emilio's delicious, farm-cooked dinners, a fire in the fireplace, and the good company of other interesting guests. It was our favorite food on our trip! Simple, honest, REAL food of such great quality. The breakfasts were just as wonderful - fresh, local ricotta cheese, honey from La Gavina, delicious homemade breads, yogurt, fruit, espresso, and more. To Emilio and family: Thank you for your wonderful kindness and hospitality. We will tell everyone to stay at La Gavina and will never forget our memories with you! ~Karen and Steve N.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karrie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family stayed at La Gavina in June of 2012 and it was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Sergio and Lorraina are wonderful hosts who spend a great deal of time and energy taking care of their farm and their home. Lorraina is a wonderful chef and effortlessly whips up amazing authentic meals made from scratch every night (fried potatoes, pesto and her tiramisu were some of our favorites!). It is wonderful to relax and visit with people from all over while eating fabulous meals family style. La Gavina is a little bit off the beaten path, but a must for anyone who wants to explore the countryside of Tuscany. From La Gavina we took day trips to Sienna, San Gimignano, and Monteriggioni. It's also a great place to relax by the pool or in a hammock!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Our 4 nights here was one of the highlights of our trip around Italy for sure! The owners Sergio and Lorraina were so sweet and lovely! Our rental car fell through for our stay in Siena and they offered us rides and were so generous about helping us. Sergio gave us a ride to the train station when we had to sadly leave. Emiliano, their son, is a FANTASTIC chef and fed us like royalty. It was so relaxing to be surprised every night for dinner (definitely chose this option!) and breakfasts were amazing as well with a fresh coffee cake or bread made every morning. Just about everything we ate was fresh or jarred from their farm or a near by farm down to the vinegar on the table! Wine from their own vineyard was served every night as well. It was so enjoyable to sit down with the rest of the travelers every night and get to know people from around the world. We compared stories of our adventures from the day (ours weren't too exciting as we didn't have a car to explore- DEFINITELY rent a car!) but it was fun to hear about everyone else's. We had been traveling and very busy up until this part of our trip so we took advantage of the peacefulness and pool while we were here which was nice too. The weather was a bit cooler than expected and the downstairs rooms hold in the cold so bring warm clothes just in case as dinner is served outside- weather permitting. We are from Hawaii so our cold tolerance is not quite up to par. I just drank wine to warm up but others were quite cold.
My mom and sister are very interested in cooking and baking and Emiliano was very sweet about letting them watch him in the kitchen and even gave them a pasta making lesson! Sergio also showed my sister around his garden explaining some of his farming techniques. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiicc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We loved La Gavina. It was approximately 10klms from Siena. Very peaceful, but a short scenic drive to Siena and other medieval villages. It was very reasonably priced, and we loved the fact it had a kitchen so that we could cook our own food. Travelling for three months we sometimes get tired of eating out all the time. The hosts were lovely, but did not speak English. So brush up on some Italian! Very informative on local attractions and directions.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

La Gavina was our first stop in Tuscany, after a stay in Rome followed by Sorrento. What a peaceful, charming farm! Sergio and Lorriana were wonderful hosts. We stayed in their independent apartment, which was a short walk through the vineyard. The apartment was a little more rustic than the B&B rooms (we started our own woodstove for heat each night) and found a cute little scorpion in our shower (don't worry -- they are very timid and don't go into the main house).

Each night, guests from around the world gathered for the most amazing dinners, often prepared by Emilliano, Sergio's son. Emilliano was such a delight. He would describe each course, where ingredients came from, how he prepared -- and the food was amazing! We enjoyed getting to know the other guests and made new friends!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJDPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Sergio and Lorriaina and their dog Lana are kind and wonderful hosts. The meals were excellent and very reasonable. The farm and grounds were natural, charming, ancient and beautiful. The surrounding area of Santa Colomba was walkable and Siena was a reasonable taxi drive away if you didn't have a car. (their were six of us and unlike most of the guests we did not have a car.) During our visit, the other guests (two couples from Germany) and a very gregarious Italian gentleman kept the conversation during the evening meal lively and entertaining. Sergio is a very kind and accommodating host - always willing to make suggestions and call for taxis or relay messages from the drivers. We especially loved breakfast -- with fresh apricots, figs and plums from the trees on the grounds, a fresh baked tart or pastry, crusty breads, cheese, fresh juice, yogurt, excellent freshly brewed coffee and eggs to order!! I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
2.0 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fattoria Il Casone
Fattoria Il Casone
#2 of 27 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
#1 of 27 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo Novelleto
Agriturismo Novelleto
#6 of 27 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria Il Colombaio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Gavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Gavina

Property: Agriturismo La Gavina
Address: Strada di Casabocci, 34 | Loc. S. Colomba, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Monteriggioni
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 8 kmnorth of Siena, the agritourism centre is a small, family-run organic farm, with 6 bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, set in the green countryside of Monte Maggio, with wonderful views, surrounded by woods, olive groves, vineyards and meadows.Restaurant where guests can enjoy traditional food made using typical organic Tuscan products.Natural cooking, Tuscan traditions, organic, environmental friendly, Km 0 make up the pleasure of sitting down at a table that unites quality, wellbeing and flavor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Gavina Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing