We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Casalta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albergo Casalta to your Saves list
Albergo Casalta
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Matteotti 22 | Loc. Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

No air conditioning, broken tv, no wifi signal. Sleeped with 35 degree celsius. Host didn't change our room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dnespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We drove past the turn off road to 'Abbadia a Isola' and 'Strove' (which is where Albergo Casalta is located) and ended up at the Monteriggioni Castle - but it was easy enough to ask for directions from there. What a beautiful drive!! (Highly recommend renting a car).

We loved the hotel, the staff and the countryside!
Open the window and shutters in the room and listen to the birds chirping in the trees!
Easy to drive to other areas for day trips.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening and it was delicious! (5 star quality menu in our books!)
For picnic/road trip days - we often purchased salami/cheese, etc. at the Co-op just down the block - very convenient and affordable.

We stayed 12 nights and it was wonderfully relaxing - esp. after how hectic Rome was!
The owners are very helpful and friendly and the staff are wonderful as well. They truly care about you and your stay and go above and beyond to make your stay pleasant!

We would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

First off the address is very wrong we couldnt find it with a GPS. It's in a small village called Strove. The hotel was nice and simple very old fashioned. The bed was comfy but the bathroom was tiny and the showerheads looked like they havent been replaced in a while. If u have a car it's ok to stay there otherwise not really recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hnjammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We booked Casalta at the last minute when we changed our travel plans during our trip. We were very pleased with this find! Although it was difficult to find (it says it's in Monteriggioni, but it's really in the small town of Strove about 6 km from the town - we walked it and it took 2 hours), it was worth the effort. It was very peaceful with great views of the surrounding area. All the staff was very helpful, especially Barbara. We ate one night in the restaurant, and while expensive, it was well worth it. The rooms were air conditioned clean. The only downsides were the hard bed and the difficulty in getting there without a car. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbshell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here in early June, the room (#6) was a good size and very peaceful. No noise except the birds chirping. The only downsides were the shower head (they need a new one but it is servicable) and my side of the bed was too soft (could feel some springs). the staff were nice and helpful.

We did make the mistake of thinking this was in the small town of Monteriggioni but even with this being 5kms away, were happy with the location.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystad
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Tripadvisor is helpful. We found this hotel and checked it on Tripadvisor. All the reviews proved to be true. We had a lovely time at the hotel, nice room, good breakfast and perfectly located in the herat of Tuscany, near Firenze and close to Sienna.
On dissappoiting thing was that the staff seemed a littel unattentative.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Appelgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We used Small and Elegant Hotels to book our travel in all of Italy. They recommended Albergo Casalta as charming place in the heart of the Chianti area that would allow us access different areas. They were right, the bed and breakfast was located in the tiny town of Strove and allowed us to drive to different towns in the area for lots of quick day trips.

Pros
- Wonderfully helpful staff - the main "concierge of sorts" was amazing and so helpful in helping us navigate the area
- Easy to get to different areas - Sienna, Monteriggioni, San Gigamoni (spelling is probably off on all of these)
- Most AMAZING food we have ever had. There is a Michelin rated restaurant in the hotel and for guest you have an option to do a 3 course pre fixe meal. We chose that and started with a wonderful fresh pasta bolognes which would have been a meal in itself. Then they bring out this filet with some veggies and OH MY GOODNESS - I can't even explain but it was the most amazing steak either of us had ever had and while we had no room after the pasta we ate as much as we could. Seriously almost made us cry - it was that good.
- Breakfast was very good and fresh coffee and espresso made for you

Cons
- We could hear the person snoring in the room next store
- Bathroom kind of smelled due to the open toilet bowl (the part of the toilet that distributes the fresh water)
- Seemed to be only able to take one shower, as when we tried in the afternoon it was just cold water


Overall we had an amazing stay in Tuscany and were not in our room very much, rather out exploring!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
0.3 mi away
Castel Pietraio
Castel Pietraio
#8 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#5 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Monteriggioni
Hotel Monteriggioni
#6 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi
#3 of 18 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
7.3 mi away
Villa Gloria
Villa Gloria
#2 of 2 in Quercegrossa
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Casalta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Casalta

Property: Albergo Casalta
Address: Via Matteotti 22 | Loc. Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Casalta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Albergo Casalta Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany
Albergo Casalta Hotel Monteriggioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing