We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly magical place.”
Review of Borgo Stomennano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteriggioni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borgo Stomennano
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My new husband and I rented Stomennano and its estate out for our wedding this August (2011) and what a FANTASTIC place to host a wedding it was. I cannot begin to describe what a magical place that Stomennano is. I felt like a princess for the entire time we were there. I had the use of the main villa, with a bridal bathroom the size of a London flat, it was the perfect place to get ready and have a glass of champagne with my bridesmaid.

I cannot recall just how many guests have said how fabulous all aspects of the venue were and I am sure this is down to the amazing venue that Stomennano is, but also down to its fabulous owners. Luisa and Nicolleta couldnt have done anymore to ensure that we and all of our guests had a wonderful time and we shall definately be going back.

If you are thinking of getting married in Tuscany - or just going for a visit - I cannot recommend Stomennano highly enough!

Room Tip: The main villa is just exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

We held our daughter's 3 day wedding extravaganza here in late August 2011. They had hired the entire estate for the event and to house some of the guests.
It was amazing from start to finish. Nicoletta and Louisa made the entire stay extremely easy and pleasurable. The review below sets out some of the amenities, but whatever you need the owners accommodate it. I cannot recomemnd it highly enough and we hope to re-visit in the near furture.
We held a welcome BBQ on the first evening around the infinity pool which overlooks the Tuscan hills. The Wedding Ceremony was held within the grounds and went on until the early hours of the morning. Our guests had a splendid breakfast in the granary each morning. You will never get bored of returrning. Excellent.

Room Tip: The main villa houses antiques but kitchen facilities are away from the main accommodation. Therefo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We celebrated our wedding at Stomennano in July 2011, and had exclusive use of the main villa and the apartments.

I don't think words would do justice to the magnificence of this estate. Myself, my new husband and our close family stayed in the main villa, were you are simply transported back in time. Each room is exuberant, full of original features and artifacts true to its 17th Century origins, but fully restored and in immaculate condition. I was overcome by a sense of awe when I entered the building. It is comparable to a museum, but with the added comfort of an extraordinary home.

The other apartments were more modern, and had the characteristics of a charming farmhouse. Each kitchen was fully equipt with cooking utilities, plates, crockery and glasses, with a complimentary bottle of red and white wine from the estate, which was fantastic, and bottled water. There are also generous living spaces, ideal for relaxing in an evening.

By the main swimming pool (an infinity pool, with a breathtaking back-drop of the Tuscan hills) is a delightful patio area, complete with 2 BBQ's, which we used on the first night of our stay. It makes a perfect location for a party, with tables and chairs for eating, sun loungers, and umbrellas to provide some shade. As we had the whole estate to ourselves, we had free roam, and there seems no area out of bounds.

On the wedding day itself, we had the ceremony in Siena, which is about a 10km drive. We had organised transfers for our guests, however if you are staying here and intend to travel around a car is fairly essential. We then returned to the villa to have our reception. We had champagne and canapes on the front garden just outside of the main villa, and then our caterers had set up a long imperial table in the rear garden, just behind the pond. The location is perfect if you are celebrating a special occasion, and will be truly memorable to all your guests.

In addition to the wonder and beauty of the villa and grounds, it is worthy to mention Luisa and her family, the private owners of the villa, who welcomed us from the start. Luisa was attentive from the moment of our arrival to our departure. She allowed us to check in far earlier than scheduled, despite not having provided her with any notice, in order to allow us to prepare for the arrival of our guests. She was fundamental to the success of our visit in terms of organization. Before our arrival she had provided us with restaurant recommendations, made a reservation for us and negotiated on our behalf a change of menu. She helped us with travel arrangements, booked taxi's (enough to accommodate 32 people, which is no mean feat, especially given the remote location!), and checked and printed off train timetables for our guests.
The staff at Stomennano were all friendly and amazingly efficient. Each morning of our stay no trace was left of our gatherings the night before, which inevitably resulted in mess that we have intended to clean up ourselves the morning after, however were seemingly not quick enough to get there first!

I can't find fault with any part of the villa or our stay. I already dream of returning and reliving its magic. Don't hesitate to make your reservation, you shall not regret it.

Room Tip: If you can, opt to stay in the main villa. It is a remarkable experience, full of history, grandeur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We just sent a week at Borgo Stomennano - and left feeling that we were a part of an adoptive Italian Family. Luisa and her parents were warm, charming, and helpful, Others of the small staff were kind and considerate of our needs. Our villa was comfortable - not luxurious - and more than met our needs - we even had a washing machine. It was self - catering, but we arrived to find eggs, milk, bread, fruit, wonderful wine from their estate, and many other items for our comfort. We were afforded a tour of the estate - truly a remarkable family with a great heritage. The location is perfect for touring central Tuscany. If you want a warm welcome, and a visit with a great family, Borgo Stomennano is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife and i spent a week here. We cannot imagine a more perfect base from which to explore Tuscany - both in terms of location and the level of comfort and service provided. Luisa and her staff are supreme - we found the comforts of 'home' so alluring that on several days we chose to laze or walk around the property rather than drive. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

This 13th-16th century villa and farm exude early Tuscan history. Located amid the Tuscan hills, Stomennano has ancient (winery, chapel, stable, villa) and modern (new swimming pool, bathrooms, attractive sleeping accommodations) features. The managers are charming and very responsive to every need a guest could have. Our extended family filled the farm house, taking daily day trips to nearby Tuscan villages, and convening for dinner (if not eating out in one of the many wonderful local restaurants) to compare notes on our days.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasArrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Stomennano for a family reunion and to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary this Spring 2010. This was our 3rd visit to Stomennano and we were thrilled to have had the opportunity to go back and spend such a special time in our lives at such an wonderful place amidst the warm hospitality of the Lupi-Grassi Family.

First of all, the location is impossible to beat. Set in the hills between Siena and Florence with views over the countryside and the medieval hilltop city of
Monteriggioni. There is plenty to do right there at the house, they
have a lovely infinity pool that they just put in along with plenty of space to lounge and read. Some of our party did the walk from the house through the woods to Monteriggioni and did some biking as well. The place is great for children as well as adults. Our toddler had so much fun exploring the gardens and everything
else around the house, a real treat for all of us.

The location is ideal for day trips all over Tuscany as it is quite central and within an hours drive of San Gimignano, Pienza, Montepulciana, Siena, Florence and so many other fantastic sights. Nicoletta and Luisa supply all sorts of
information on sightseeing as well as local dining – there are so
many fantastic restaurants with easy reach that you are spoiled for
choice. Having said that the kitchen in the farmhouse is stocked
with all of the utensils you need to cook for a large group we had
several dinner meals at home and could easily seat and accommodate 12
people.

For something special for our anniversary, we asked Luisa to cater our celebratory dinner – she is an amazing chef and we had an incredible 4 course dinner and a
night that we will cherish for the rest of our lives.

We can't say enough about the accommodation or the location but what makes Stomennano so special to us and so many other guests is the warm welcome that we have received over the years – the hosts really make you feel that you are part
of the place and part of a very special family. We are looking
forward to going back to celebrate the next big family event.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perachios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
1.7 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
564 reviews
3.9 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
940 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
205 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Montarioso
Villa Montarioso
#8 of 11 in Monteriggioni
318 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casalgallo
Casalgallo
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Stomennano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Stomennano

Address: Loc. Stomennano, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Monteriggioni
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the enchantig tuscan countryside and only a stone's throw away from siena and monteriggioni, stomennano and its borgo offer a unique setting for unforgettable vacations with a very personal touch.with accoodation solutions rangig from the luxurious 17th century villa to the warm elegance of the volta, tinaione and corte country houses stomennano offers high quality lodging guaranteed to ensure a very pleasant and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Stomennano Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing