We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tuscan Villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Ranked #5 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We left Florence early to spend a night near Siena. Found this hotel on line and booked via telephone while we were in an internet cafe in Florence.

We got sooooo lost trying to find this place! But the staff was incredibly patient, and kept us on the phone while they guided us in. Strove is a very small town about 15 minutes drive from Siena, but if you don't look closely at the many signs when you exit the Autostrade, you will get lost.

Hotel was beautiful. We almost had to stay in the one room which was at the top of the stairs, but we said it was too many stairs to climb and they moved us immediately to another more convenient room off the elevator.

We were greeted with Asti Spumante and a bowl of fruit in our room. Breakfast was wonderful, staff was wonderful, room was clean, comfortable and wonderful - our only regret was that we were unable to stay there longer . . . yes, we would stay there again! Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 259 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2006

Stayed at the castle for two nights, and it was bliss! The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere so a car is a must. The grounds are wonderful, supplying a 360 degrees view of the Tuscan countryside; even San Gimianno can be seen in the very far off distance. The pool was clean and there are plenty of chairs and sun beds.
Our room was a junior suite next to the reception, it was more like a studio, with large lounge, TV and sofa and cooking facilities, with the large bedroom separate.
The hotel looks very nice when driving up to and the overall effect was superb.
The room was not the best, although clean it seemed not to offer any touches of luxury we had expected from the internet pictures. The bath was a Jacuzzi one but even that was poor, small and quite literally a bath with a few jets. The real downside to the room was no view, only by opening the front door next to the reception was this achievable, and unfortunately that of course meant seeing the to and fros of other guests.
Overall a nice hotel, very pleasant staff (Thanks Claudio) combined with stunning views of the Tuscan countryside,Location, location, location.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank danlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We stayed at Castel Bigozzi recently for 3 nights and it was exactly what we wanted- quiet and away from it all with a fantastic view. The rooms are like small apartments and most have an outside patio. The pool area is weel kept and has adequate loungers and tables with a fantastic almost 360 degree view. there are some very good resaurants within easy access, we found the best were in Monteriggioni, which is much less touristy than San gimigiano. Our only complaint was that on the morning of departure we were told that we should vacate our room at 11.30. We spent our last few hours relaxing by the pool only to be interupted by the 'cheeky' receptionist who asked if we would vacate our room now - 10.45, as the next guests were waiting to get into our room!! - As check in time was 3 pm. we were not that eager to move!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobbieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2006

We stayed there for a week with our baby in April 2006.

The hotel is located in Strove close to Monterigionni and you definitely need a car to reach it and enjoy the main places to visit around. The hotel itself has around 18 rooms. It is an old building, very charming. The rooms are more like suites, with a sitting room separated from the sleeping room. It has also a small kitchen, quite basic, but usefull if you don't want to go outside every evening (our case with a baby). Small supermarket located a few 100 meters from the hotel, offering a good choice of food ... and wine !

All the rooms are different, some on split levels, some with a private entrance outside. The hotel has also a separate buiding close to the swimming pool (outdoor, must be nice ... in summer !) with 2 or 3 rooms and a meeting room.


The decoration inside is maybe the point to enhance in the future. Though some beds are historical beds (but he mattresses and lining are new !) as well as some pieces of furnitures, some tables and chairs are more old tired Ikea style ... but really nothing unaceptable !

The staff is very helpful and trying to give you advice on restaurants and places to visit. A particular greeting to Simona, very oftern welcoming guests and also serving breakfast in the morning.

Breakfast is good with cold cuts, cheese, a few cakes & croissants. You can also take a drink at the bar with a limited selection of light food as well.

the real enjoyment comes from the garden, I should say park, around the hotel: very quite, some sitting places arranged for people wanting to sip a glass or eat or read a book. The view is fantastic. You can see up to San Gimignano. No modern building around, except a few houses. A very quite place for people looking for a rest !

We would recommand the place for families and lovers wanting to dicover Sienna and the region, while wanting to ejoy the tuscany campaign in the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LGSLGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2006

The Relais is located close to everything in south central Tuscany. Major towns and cities are an easy drive away. The service at the hotel is great and the front desk staff and management more than helpful.The Castel is beautiful and is set up on a hill with 360 views. Several great hiking trails lead from the Castel into the countryside.Vineyards surround the hotel in all directions. The only downside are the rooms which are sparsely decorated and definitely need a sprucing up.

2  Thank blonddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2005

If you loved the movie, "Under The Tuscan Sun" you will love Castel Bigozzi. Location, Location, Location! This is in the small town of Strove and between the lovely walled city of Siena and San Gimignano. It is a hard place to find especially in the dark. But, well worth it.

You do need a car if you are going to stay here. And, the great thing is if you get lost, people are so friendly to help you find your way.

Our room was upstairs and had tuscany surrounding us at every angle. Our breakfast was good too. Our luggage was lost upon arriving in Rome therefore we had to wait till 6pm for it to arrive and needed to check in past Castle Biggozi's normal hours. They were very hospitable and made arrangements for us to get our key after they were closed. In addition, we had missed breakfast because we were so tired and they brought cappucino's and croissants to our room. We stayed their 3 nights and I wished we could've stayed longer. Its so beautiful and relaxing in Tuscany. The room was spacious and came with a small kitchen, fridge and dishes to use.I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gabrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2005

We loved the Castel Biggozi! We were there pre-Relais but fully understand why they bought it. Our room was spacious and opened up to a patio that overlooked acres of rolling vineyards. Heaven! The people were very nice and very helpful. Buffet breakfast was lovely and the location was A+ for daily trips through the hilltowns. There is one restaurant in Strove (La Leggenda dei Frati) and it was excellent. I would most certainly return to Castel Biggozi!

Stayed: May 2003
2  Thank MJSKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
1 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
974 reviews
19.6 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
562 reviews
14.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castel Pietraio
Castel Pietraio
#9 of 11 in Monteriggioni
137 reviews
12.6 mi away
Castello di Tornano
Castello di Tornano
#3 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castel Bigozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castel Bigozzi

Address: Loc Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $105 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castel Bigozzi 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel Bigozzi, one of the oldest and embattled castles of this area, rises in the land of Strove.In the Middle Ages this castle belonged to the ancestors of the ancient noble Montanini Family. Its coats of arms well relates its history: a red shield, like the earth that surrounds it, a black lion, symbol of courage and battles, glory and defeat .Historical chronicles in fact report that it was a place of refuge and protection for Ghibelline troops. Today, Castel Bigozzi is a hotel residence, offering hospitality to guests from the four corners of the world.A place of antique charm, immersed in the stillness of the Tuscan countryside, where you will feel enveloped by the warmth of the hospitable environment and by the richness of a land that speaks the language of Art, History, Nature and Traditions. An ideal place to find peace and to spend a totally relaxing holiday, in a land that never fails to surprise all year around.To Nature lovers this area offers many pathways for outings on foot, mountain bike or on horseback, following trails of bygone days, bringing the wanderer to breath-taking landscapes like the famous "Crete" of Siena (the Senese Clavey Hills), the Chianti, or one of the many thermal springs of the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Castel Bigozzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castel Bigozzi Hotel Monteriggioni
Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing