We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Ranked #4 of 19 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Great central location”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Relais Castel Bigozzi is quite nice but the weather did not cooperate enough to allow us to use the pool. we had kitchen but nothing to cook with though. Overall, a pleasant experience. Great central location. Very nice breakfast. a few quality restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Al Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimo c, Direttore at Relais Castel Bigozzi, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for the review that you have kindly left. We are pleased that you had such a good stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you as our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    65
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
39
134
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here in the last 6 years. The hotel is beautiful, set in a lush picturesque location. The hotel has a generous swimming pool set in the garden surrounded by vineyards. Just stunning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ZacTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimo c, Direttore at Relais Castel Bigozzi, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for the review that you have kindly left. We are pleased that you had such a good stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you as our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved our stay at this beautiful property which provided a beautiful end to our Tuscan holiday. The hotel is located close to Monteriggioni and a short drive from Sienna. The hotel staff are very helpful and the rooms were well appointed. The breakfast room also has an outdoor terrace area and a dip in the swimming pool provided the perfect end to our long days touring about in the region. There are no restaurants at the hotel but it is just a short drive to several dining options nearby.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have great views over the Tuscan countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is remote and there is no restaurant. However, there is a nice breakfast every morning in a detached meeting space. We stayed 4 nights and our room was adequate and some would call it rustic. In other words, doors and windows were old and might not close all the way. During the day, windows in common areas were left open for the breeze and flying insects came in. The closest place to eat was a "coop" at the bottom of the hill where you could get a few limited items. You definitely need a car to get around in Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimo c, Direttore at Relais Castel Bigozzi, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for the review that you have kindly left.
Sorry if some of our services have not fully satisfied you.
We will try to improve them certainly. We hope to welcome you as our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The views and the grounds are amazing. The room we stayed in had a kitchenette but there weren't any utensils or pots and pans. The rooms were sparse but comfortable. All of the beds are very firm in Italy it seems. Unfortunately a group of kids were staying there on a field trip while we were there, that was a bit annoying as they were loud and left messes everywhere. You really must have a car as everything is pretty far away. Also keep in mind that most everything is shut down on Sundays. Siena is a 20 minute drive away and worth the trip. Monterrigioni is only 10 minutes away and is a lovely small walled village. The staff was excellent and the breakfast was was very good. A great place to relax.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so if you have issues with steep steps be sure to request a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteriggioni
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The bed was horrible, too hard, specially the pillow.
We were on the basement which is nearly underground.No view except bars on the window.
But the staff is very kind and helpful, and the garden wonderful.



  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massimo c, Direttore at Relais Castel Bigozzi, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for the review that you have kindly left. We are pleased that you had such a good stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you as our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Castel Bigozzi for four days in the middle of a 17 day trip. The grounds were beautiful, it was quiet and a perfect place to rest after several hectic days. The view from the outside breakfast area was breathtaking and the selection of food was wonderful with meat, cheese, pastry, croissants, and especially the fresh fruit. On a clear day we could see San Gimignano across the valley with lots of vineyards, olive trees and flowers. The pool area is, as are the entire grounds, beautifully landscaped. It is an absolutely gorgeous location. One evening as we were sitting watching the sunset a gentleman came walking up the road playing bagpipes. Certainly not something one would expect in Italy!

The Castel can be a bit difficult to find if using Google Maps or a GPS. If you make it to Strove and see the Coop, turn on the road that goes in front of the Coop and it will take you right to it at the end of the road.

We stayed in a suite and the rate was very reasonable but this is where Castel Bigozzi should take note. The bathroom was huge but dark. It was difficult to put makeup on because of the lighting, and while I was grateful to have a large shower, the interior was dark there too. There is a little shelf in front of the mirror, about 2" wide, to put your stuff and in the shower there is no shelf at all for soap, shampoo and such. For that matter, there was no soap (perhaps why there is not shelf?). There was shower gel, and shower caps, but no bar of soap. Furthermore, one did not receive more toilet paper until the roll was EMPTY and there were no tissues to use in an emergency. I understand trying to be cost conscious, but skimping on toilet paper is not the place to get it.

As for the beds, the one in the main bedroom was so hard that we could not sleep on it. We subsequently learned hard beds are not that uncommon throughout Italy. Fortunately there were two single beds in the upstairs room that were less hard.

The WiFi connection was good and the Staff were helpful. Aside from the issues with the paper products, we did enjoy our stay and would definitely return to Castel Bigozzi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioBuckeye826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
1.0 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
849 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#4 of 12 in Monteriggioni
506 reviews
2.9 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castel Pietraio
Castel Pietraio
#8 of 12 in Monteriggioni
125 reviews
14.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
12.7 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castel Bigozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castel Bigozzi

Property: Relais Castel Bigozzi
Address: Loc Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castel Bigozzi 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel Bigozzi, one of the oldest and embattled castles of this area, rises in the land of Strove.In the Middle Ages this castle belonged to the ancestors of the ancient noble Montanini Family. Its coats of arms well relates its history: a red shield, like the earth that surrounds it, a black lion, symbol of courage and battles, glory and defeat .Historical chronicles in fact report that it was a place of refuge and protection for Ghibelline troops. Today, Castel Bigozzi is a hotel residence, offering hospitality to guests from the four corners of the world.A place of antique charm, immersed in the stillness of the Tuscan countryside, where you will feel enveloped by the warmth of the hospitable environment and by the richness of a land that speaks the language of Art, History, Nature and Traditions. An ideal place to find peace and to spend a totally relaxing holiday, in a land that never fails to surprise all year around.To Nature lovers this area offers many pathways for outings on foot, mountain bike or on horseback, following trails of bygone days, bringing the wanderer to breath-taking landscapes like the famous "Crete" of Siena (the Senese Clavey Hills), the Chianti, or one of the many thermal springs of the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Castel Bigozzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castel Bigozzi Hotel Monteriggioni
Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing