We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly staff, Wonderful views - we loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Ranked #5 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent 5 nights here during the first week of August. We had reserved a triple room with breakfast. It was actually a 2-room suite with en suite bathroom and a private patio.The bedroom was air conditioned, dark and comfortable for sleeping. The second room had a pullout sofa, small table and chairs and a kitchenette. It was not air conditioned, but the owners brought us a fan that worked well enough for our daughter to sleep comfortably since the evenings were very pleasant. There was a Coop Market right down the road, and my husband walked down a couple of times to buy meat, cheese, fruit, wine, and bread. We used the little kitchen to fix lunches and hors d'oeuvres, which were consumed on our private patio - also a good place to stargaze before bed. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a charming room that also had covered outdoor seating available. The pool was well kept and surrounded by shady areas to read. Needless to say, we loved it and would gladly return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio, that added alot to our visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maroonedcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 259 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice people, good sized rooms, a pool with a nice view, great breakfast. Really the kind of location you think about when dreaming of Tuscany..... I would recommend it to everyone without a doubt!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Here is my objective review of the good, bad, and the ugly of this Hotel.

The Good:
Beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside
A great base to explore the Tuscan area.
Away from all the hustle and bustle of the city.
An authentic Rustic tuscan feel to the large rooms
Beautiful Castel and grounds with a nice pool
Friendly Staff

The Bad:
Breakfast was only mediocre and expensive for selection as compared to other hotels
Kitchenette in the room was completely non functional including the sink
Somewhat hard to find without a GPS
No restaurants nearby, you will have to eat somewhere before you come back
No do not disturb service
Charge for pool towels, Really?

The Ugly:
A/C was basically non functional, one small a/c unit for a two very large rooms, a control wouldn't let you lower it beyond "cool" in an attempt for them to save money. I hope they don't respond to this and say they would move us if we would have asked, the bottom line is your guests should be comfortable in any room at any time of year. This may not be as much of an issue if you are not staying in the summer months.

The shower was a joke, we stayed in smaller hotels with less stars that had much much better showers. A rickady accordian style shower without any place to even place your soap, the hot water is in and out the entire shower.

So in summary, if you are willing to give up some conveniences for a great Tuscan location than this is the hotel for you. Personally I wouldn't go back, I would rather roll the dice on another place. Many of the reviews seem enthralled with the look of this place, which is great but not worth overlooking some of the basics a hotel at this price and with this number or stars should have.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ep2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I came here in June. The hotel or castel was very private and had incredible views. We stayed in a main floor room and it was large, good air conditioning, comfortable and felt "spa"ish. We especially enjoyed the fantastic breakfasts (huge selection) while having a view of the country side. We enjoyed sitting out by the pool each night taking in the sun set and enjoying a bottle of wine. Free internet, very friendly atmosphere. Went to the restaurant in Strove and it too was absolutely incredible. I would definitely recommend Castel Bigozzi to anyone traveling to the Tuscan region. It is close to all sights and was simply incredibly relaxing. We would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler10098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Relaxin Place, Wonderful, and charming.
I have been there for 3 day and I loved it! only one suggestion for the owner...the hotel is not very near other resturant, for that it will be grat if the resturant by the pool open also for dinner..
The brekfast also was very good and setting on a wonderful terrace!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeFlambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, and the hilltop site is absolutely beautiful.If you think of this place as more of a rustic bed and breakfast, then you'll be happy. But as a 4-star hotel, it needs some fine tuning. The staff, though nice, are very laid back. We had a "suite" with a large sitting room, good sized bathroom with two sinks and comfortable bedroom (good view from our bedroom window). But the suite was somewhat spartan and the bathroom was equipped more like a 2-star. The tight shower was a little flimsy plastic enclosure that felt like it might fall over if you leaned against it. There wasn't even a place to put your soap in the shower. There was a bar, but it was not well equipped, the ice machine was broken and the staff really didn't know anything about mixing drinks.

There are several redeeming qualities of the hotel, however. It's an old castle, so you get the feel of history. The views of the Tuscan hills are unbeatable, and the grounds are lovely. Breakfast is served in the pool house, and was very good. You sit out on the pool house patio, with great views at breakfast---reaqlly pleasant. The pool is large and there is a nice sitting area around it. Plenty of free parking. There is free internet. No restaurant here, but there is an excellent family-run place in Strove, which you can walk to from the hotel, or there are several good places in Monteriggioni a 5-10 minute drive away. Overall, I would consider it a 3-star hotel in a 5-star location. A few fixes would make it truly a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very comfortable rooms. Staff was very helpful. Wooden bucket as the sink in the bathroom was fun. Big shower you could turn around in. Breakfast was superior. Location between Florence and Siena was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
1 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
976 reviews
14.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
19.6 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castel Pietraio
Castel Pietraio
#9 of 11 in Monteriggioni
137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castel Bigozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castel Bigozzi

Address: Loc Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $105 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castel Bigozzi 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel Bigozzi, one of the oldest and embattled castles of this area, rises in the land of Strove.In the Middle Ages this castle belonged to the ancestors of the ancient noble Montanini Family. Its coats of arms well relates its history: a red shield, like the earth that surrounds it, a black lion, symbol of courage and battles, glory and defeat .Historical chronicles in fact report that it was a place of refuge and protection for Ghibelline troops. Today, Castel Bigozzi is a hotel residence, offering hospitality to guests from the four corners of the world.A place of antique charm, immersed in the stillness of the Tuscan countryside, where you will feel enveloped by the warmth of the hospitable environment and by the richness of a land that speaks the language of Art, History, Nature and Traditions. An ideal place to find peace and to spend a totally relaxing holiday, in a land that never fails to surprise all year around.To Nature lovers this area offers many pathways for outings on foot, mountain bike or on horseback, following trails of bygone days, bringing the wanderer to breath-taking landscapes like the famous "Crete" of Siena (the Senese Clavey Hills), the Chianti, or one of the many thermal springs of the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Castel Bigozzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castel Bigozzi Hotel Monteriggioni
Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing