We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Site---Hotel a Little Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Ranked #5 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, and the hilltop site is absolutely beautiful.If you think of this place as more of a rustic bed and breakfast, then you'll be happy. But as a 4-star hotel, it needs some fine tuning. The staff, though nice, are very laid back. We had a "suite" with a large sitting room, good sized bathroom with two sinks and comfortable bedroom (good view from our bedroom window). But the suite was somewhat spartan and the bathroom was equipped more like a 2-star. The tight shower was a little flimsy plastic enclosure that felt like it might fall over if you leaned against it. There wasn't even a place to put your soap in the shower. There was a bar, but it was not well equipped, the ice machine was broken and the staff really didn't know anything about mixing drinks.

There are several redeeming qualities of the hotel, however. It's an old castle, so you get the feel of history. The views of the Tuscan hills are unbeatable, and the grounds are lovely. Breakfast is served in the pool house, and was very good. You sit out on the pool house patio, with great views at breakfast---reaqlly pleasant. The pool is large and there is a nice sitting area around it. Plenty of free parking. There is free internet. No restaurant here, but there is an excellent family-run place in Strove, which you can walk to from the hotel, or there are several good places in Monteriggioni a 5-10 minute drive away. Overall, I would consider it a 3-star hotel in a 5-star location. A few fixes would make it truly a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 258 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very comfortable rooms. Staff was very helpful. Wooden bucket as the sink in the bathroom was fun. Big shower you could turn around in. Breakfast was superior. Location between Florence and Siena was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Relais Castel Bigozzi was perfectly suited to our needs. We booked early, got an excellent rate, and the included daily breakfast. The location requires a car but is very near the main highway and parking is free.
The name is slightly misleading. It is not a 'Castel' but more like a renovated large main farmhouse with gorgeous views of the rolling hills and nearby towns. An olive grove lines the entrance, while vines surround the back. The rooms are very clean but not luxurious. Do not expect to be 'every last whim' pampered, but come with an excellent guide book, an interest in the area, and a full tank of gas and you will not be disappointed. The breakfast is in a bright room with more excellent views, and is ample.
There is a Coop supermarket on the road with all the important staples, and the Futura Osteria in nearby (7 minute drive) Abbadia Isola was exceptional and affordable, and is open for lunch and dinner.
Our highlight was the classic Tuscan scenery, while the major drawback were the very, very, very thin walls. We could hear our neighbors wash their hands and ....

Room Tip: 2nd floor double w veranda has sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Pats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

After touring all the main cities in Italy, we were ready to spend the last several days of our vacation in the Tuscany area. We reserved a room at Castel Bigozzi and were truly in heaven. The property is relatively small and intimate, which is what we were looking for. The views of the Tuscan countryside made you gasp as you sat by the pool, on the patio sipping your favorite beverage or while eating breakfast. The breakfast had everything from fresh fruit to delicious cakes and pastry. Definitely something for everyone. We would love to return here and maybe even try a massage next time. The town of Strove is small, but other communities are in very close proximity. Strove has only one restaurant, so if you want to eat there, definitely make reservations. The meal was fantastic and offered a special dinner and price to hotel guests. On our last day, we drove to the Castel Montigerroni, which was close by. We wish that we would visited it earlier since it had a number of interesting restaurants and we would have loved to try one during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I have travelled a lot in my life and maybe it's because I wasn't expecting much (having travelled in Europe before) but this place blew me away. I remember when I first arrived there, I was literally brought to tears. I couldn’t believe how lucky I was to have just happened to have chosen a place that magnificent. The views are stunning from every corner on the property but especially from the pool area and the area where you eat breakfast. It was so amazing that one day my friend went to Florence and I decided not to go (I've never been) because I wanted to just stay and lounge by the pool. I live in a city so I go on vacation to get away from the hustle and bustle and this is the perfect place for that.
The staff was so friendly and incredibly helpful. The food at the restaurant down the hill is to die for. The wine we had by the pool was divine. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy.
Location is great. You are in the heart of Tuscany. You are minutes to Monteriggioni (neat history, nice restaurants, great views and best ice cream I’ve ever had in my life), 20 minutes to Siena (great shopping and restaurants), 30 minutes to San Gimignano (beautiful). If you go there, you definitely need a car.
I cannot say enough good things about this place. This was the best trip I’ve ever taken in my life and my favourite part was my stay at Castel Bigozzi.
Tip – if you are traveling by plane from place to place, pack light...the shorter hauled flights have VERY strict limits on baggage allowance and you can end up paying a fortune in overage fees. Olympic airways was the best.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days of our honeymoon, and absolutely fell in love with it! We wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were absolutely beautiful, and the views were breathtaking. The hotel was scituated in an area that allowed you to completely relax and enjoy the countryside, and if you chose to do something more active, it was very easy to access many of the tuscan hill towns. The girls working at the hotel during our stay were incredably helpful with recommending places to eat and sightsee and giving us directions as to how to find some of the places! it was the highlight of our vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at this property for 4 nights and I must say that the scenecry and setting is lovely, but the rest leaves a lot to be desired. We booked a suite and got poor quality apartment style accomodation which with a little bit of care and attention could be a lot better, but currently just isn't 4 star standard at all. The bathroom whilst a decent size had a tiny shower and broken toilet seat. There was a small kitchenette type set up in the room, but a bit useless to anyone as not a single bit of crockery or cuttlery or even glasses provided. The most noticable and disappointing factor was perhaps the attitude and service of the staff who just didn't seem at all interested and were only just passbly polite. In summary I would not recommend this property as there are a lot better nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnonymousAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
1 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castel Pietraio
Castel Pietraio
#9 of 11 in Monteriggioni
133 reviews
2.9 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casalta Hotel
Casalta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Monteriggioni
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
#1 of 27 in Monteriggioni
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Castel Bigozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Castel Bigozzi

Address: Loc Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $109 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Castel Bigozzi 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel Bigozzi, one of the oldest and embattled castles of this area, rises in the land of Strove.In the Middle Ages this castle belonged to the ancestors of the ancient noble Montanini Family. Its coats of arms well relates its history: a red shield, like the earth that surrounds it, a black lion, symbol of courage and battles, glory and defeat .Historical chronicles in fact report that it was a place of refuge and protection for Ghibelline troops. Today, Castel Bigozzi is a hotel residence, offering hospitality to guests from the four corners of the world.A place of antique charm, immersed in the stillness of the Tuscan countryside, where you will feel enveloped by the warmth of the hospitable environment and by the richness of a land that speaks the language of Art, History, Nature and Traditions. An ideal place to find peace and to spend a totally relaxing holiday, in a land that never fails to surprise all year around.To Nature lovers this area offers many pathways for outings on foot, mountain bike or on horseback, following trails of bygone days, bringing the wanderer to breath-taking landscapes like the famous "Crete" of Siena (the Senese Clavey Hills), the Chianti, or one of the many thermal springs of the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Castel Bigozzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Castel Bigozzi Hotel Monteriggioni
Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing