We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Tuscany”
Review of Borgo San Luigi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Borgo San Luigi
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Certificate of Excellence
Amalfi, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise in Tuscany”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here in January for a weekend getaway in Tuscany. From the moment that we drove through the pine-tree lined drive way we knew the weekend would be wonderful. The property is extensive and the rooms are typically rustic. They are well looked after and full of character. Rooms had aircon/heating & Wifi. We ate in the restaurant on the property both nights and were nicely surprised by great food & service. Breakfast was also full choice, with lovely fresh croisants, fruit, yoghurt & cooked breakie choices too. The restaurant/bar area by the pool has a lovely big fire place to sit and enjoy a glass or two before or after dinner. The property is located awat the main road, so perfect for an idyllic stay. It is also in a great location for day trips to San Gimignano & Volterra. We were sad to be leaving and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiminitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    239
    73
    28
    26
See reviews for
217
362
8
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Staying here is like staying with family. I've now stayed here three times and would not dream of choosing any other place to stay while visiting Tuscany. The place really has a comfortable feeling and the staff is simply excellent! They do everything to make your stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlhoooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What can i say...everything was fabulous at this resort. The service, the food, the lodging- excellent! It's a bit off the beaten path but well worth the drive. We definitely intend to visit this resort again.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the Torciano Vineyard for a wine tasting and cooking class...its just 24 mins a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were not expecting to find such a wonderful oasis during our stay in Tuscany. But once we arrived, we knew we had stumbled on to somthing really special. This resort was a great place to recuperate from the fast pace of our time in Rome and Florence. We felt very much cared for by the staff at this location and would recommend it to anyone wanting a memorable experience with either a family or just as a couple' retreat.

Room Tip: Plan to dine in their restaurant during the evenings for the best of what this resort has to offer i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel atmosphere (grounds, drive up, restaurant, sitting areas, pool, etc.) were excellent! The staff were friendly too! We were hoping for a little nicer rooms and a little better concierge service.

With a rental car we explored other sites during the day and then came back to the hotel before dark each day. We love exploring and experiencing different destinations when we travel so we were a little worried about eating dinner at the same place each night, but the restaurant at the hotel ended up being a great way to wrap up each day. The menu changed each night and the main courses were delicate and delicious!

The concierge (young gal) was difficult to work with, but the next day an older gentleman in a suit was at the front desk and was very helpful :)

It was obvious to me that the Inn has put a lot of time and effort into updating the common areas and if they update the rooms next this place will be a true gem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We refer to this as the "place we stayed in the middle of nowhere". When you finally find it (GPS isn't helpful) it is a wonderful place to stay. We got lost several times trying to find it, but that was part of the fun. The grounds are beautiful, and having wine by the pool was fantastic. The staff is very freindly. Rooms are comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We really loved this hotel. It is very rustic with typical stone construction and cobblestone walkways. Our room was very large with a sleeping area and a sitting area and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting outside in the courtyard each evening with our bottle of wine and cheese we bought. The breakfast was very good and include meats, cheese, fruits, yogurt, an english breakfast and pastries. We ate dinner at the hotel one night. It was very good, but the menu is limited. We found the staff to be very helpful providing a number of good restaurant recommendations. It is hard to find, but its no problem if you have a gps. We would love to stay here if we ever go back to Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjs712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
3.9 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#4 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
12.7 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Luigi

Property: Borgo San Luigi
Address: Strada della Cerreta 7 | Loc San Luigi Strove, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monteriggioni
#2 Family Hotel in Monteriggioni
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo San Luigi 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo San Luigi Relais offers 73 rooms, most with private terrace or garden, allowing a pleasant stay in the heart of the Tuscan countryside, near Sienna. The five buildings making up the original seventeenth-century structure, in the midst of the 60.000 square metre park that surrounds the hotel, have been restructured respecting their original architecture. Due to its remarkable location, between Sienna and Florence, the hotel is a perfect starting point to visit a territory celebrated all over the world for its incomparable natural and artistic heritage, not to mention its food and wine.Borgo San Luigi Relais offers a choice of rooms, including Suites, Junior Suites, Deluxe and Classic Rooms, found in the different buildings within the park. The entire complex follows a rationale that encourages outdoor living, and most rooms therefore have a private balcony, terrace or garden. Guests may thus experience moments of total relaxation and peace in the open air, while enjoying total privacy.!!!!The architecture of the hotel rooms has been preserved in the original structures, with furnishings remindful of ancient country houses of the nobility. Every detail has been carefully considered, period furnishings and textiles have been chosen and matched with flooring in traditional red Tuscan tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Borgo San Luigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Luigi Hotel Monteriggioni
Borgo San Luigi Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing