We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Borgo San Luigi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casalta Hotel(Monteriggioni)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castel Pietraio(Monteriggioni)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Belvedere(Colle di Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sabolini Hotel(Colle di Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo alle Mura(Poggibonsi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Della Rovere(Colle di Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Vecchia Cartiera(Colle di Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Tre Perle B&B(Colle di Val d'Elsa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Monteriggioni(Monteriggioni)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveler rating
562
290
87
34
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
290
87
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome drinktennis courtsbeautiful groundscypress treessun loungerssitting areasofa bedbuffet breakfastprivate terracetour groupswimming pooltuscan stylebeautiful hotelrental carrelaxing stayaway from the hustle and bustlebottle of wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2010

There is nothing around this hotel for miles (Kilometres).

Drive way can't be negotiated by the tour buses and you have about 150 metre walk up a gravel drive, when we arrived cases were brought up in an old van, there was no porterage or lift in the hotel so cases had to be dragged up several flights of stairs...when we left we had to trundle them down the drive ourselves.

Initially extremely disappointed, but we tried to make the best of it, we were given a room in the main building...it was very small, the bed was up a ladder (Hotel probably thinks it was stairs) which are a bit of a hazard, in my opinion dangerous, descending the stairs you can see only the first about 10 centimetres (4") of the step, furniture was old, dark and worn.
When you climb the ladder and lay on the bed the roof is no more than 1.2 metres (4' 0") above and you look at the underside of the tiles and the 'Bush' poles used for rafters, initially my first thoughts were of a Barn but when I saw where the bed was I thought of Pigeon coop.

The meals are served near the pool which is about a 100 metres down a path open to the weather and would be pretty bleak going in winter, we were there in mid Autum and it was raining some of the time.

The dining area was pleasant enough and food was average for Italy and nothing to write home about.

If it was advertised as "Quaint" or "Charming" or "Last century Tuscan" it might have been a more honest description.......But four stars it ain't, but that didn't stop them charging like it was.

However if it was advertised as is the reality it might appeal to some, but not us we wouldn't return.

Stayed: September 2010
1  Thank bill437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed at Borgo San Luigi for three nights after spending seven days in an okay villa south of Rome. When we initially saw the hotel we felt like we hit the jackpot! The grounds are beautiful; the pool is huge (Olympic size) and inviting; and the rooms are lovely and well-furnished with all of today's modern conveniences. There were three of us in a Junior Suite: my husband and I had the front room, and my son had the back room (divided by a glass etched pocket door). Wonderful setup with plenty of space. The staff is extremely accommodating and made wonderful recommendations for local dining places. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was delicious as was the antipasti buffet we had one night. It's obviously a favorite spot for special events since there were two weddings there during our short stay. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Born_2_Travel1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Very nice hotel near Monteriggioni and close to Siena and beautiful San Gimignano. The location is definitely nice and quiet as well as the rooms (maybe a little bit old, bathrooms especially need renovation).
The staff is very kind and willing to help with suggestions about what to see and directions, breakfast is very good. It hosts weddings also (this makes you understand it is a very charming area), maybe check before booking just to be sure you can profit from the relaxing location!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooltravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The driveway up to the hotel is beautiful, as are the gardens and pool area. This sums up what we thought of the hotel- it's nice as long as you are not indoors or having to deal with any of the staff! We were met on reception by someone who just grunted 'passports' at us. We were silently shown to our room, with no information offered about evening meal timings, or breakfast etc... The room was very disappointing, small and dark with very old furniture- handles falling off drawers if you tried to open them etc. The bathroom was also very tired- broken tiles and poor toiletries- no conditioner or body lotion...If you add to this the fact that ironing is charged for (no irons available for guest use), internet is charged for, even pool towels are charged for! Basically, the hotel is very poor value, and in this price range, one of the worst i have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie-likes-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel and thought that the price was wonderful!! They have tennis courts, beautiful walking trails, a wonderful swimming pool, and a VERY helpful staff that speaks multiple languages. If you are going to stay here, yneed to rent a car, which the hotel can help you with. This is close to many wonderful towns in Tuscany and with a car you can see the beautiful country side. I will stay here again!

Although the hotel is hard to leave, if you have time to drive to any other cities I would recommend driving to Monteriggioni, Siena, and San Gimignano! All of these small towns are very close and beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews