We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Il Ceppo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteriggioni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Il Ceppo
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Il Ceppo to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 18 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode-Saint-Genese, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have not tried the bed & breakfast, but everytime we are back in the region, we go there for breakfast or lunch! The choice of food is typical Toscano. Very informal, excellent value for money, a must try!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giova590501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    24
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
94
152
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you want to veer from the beaten path - out into the country to see the way Italy really lives and eat -- then book some nights in this affordable, clean, charming, perfectly situated roadside tavern. That's what my sister and I did. We had a rental car and made day trips across Tuscany on roads that never see tour buses: winding postcard journeys to Sienna, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Motereggioni, Volterra, the Crete Sineses, and the charming truffly villages of real Italy. Our hosts at Il Ceppo fortified us well with a massive breakfast every morneing, travel tips, restaurant recommendations, and good humour. We stayed in several B&Bs and small hotels during our 14-day Tuscan tour, and nowhere else did these two women feel more safe, more looked after, and more welcome than at Il Ceppo. This is the real Italy.

Room Tip: Book something upstairs with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlgebraTrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great breakfast, nice room, amazing view of the country. Not so far from Siena and from Monteriggioni. The service is very nice and kind. We also had lunch there and was fantastic, it totally worth and it was really cheap (probably cheaper than a sandwich in Siena), the wine was good and the food great. Really nice place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xarabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marudo, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Have spent 3 nights in this lovely bed+breakfast just north of Siena on the ancient road Cassia. Living the traditional Tuscan hospitality it is as simple as surprising. First approach with the hotel management was really nice and warm; they offered my girlfriend and me two coffees and arranged our luggages to be set in our room in a really few. Our room was of a fine, countryside style; clean and silent are two of the best adjectives to describe it. Bathroom was large, with all comforts. Clima is efficient and silent as well. General make up every morning.
In the morning, just before starting spending the day, an incredible break-fast was served, including the standard Mediterranean formula (mild style) and the Senese formula (local meats, eggs, cheese) both in very rich portions to choose.
Personnel is very nice, informal but friendly and polite and this of course, helps the structure to be even more attractive eventually. Definitely the place to visit Minor Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lysmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Thanks to trip advisor, I found this place. It was everything and more of what I had read about it. I can't say enough about Raphael and his staff. They greeted us like we were part of the family and was so helpful in making sure we visited everything of interest in the area. He took his time to draw out routes for us and fed us one of the best breakfasts we had in 3 weeks in Europe. I almost hate to write this review because I don't want him to get so busy that there won't be a place for us next time were in Italy . I want to thank you all again for the wonderful but short time I spent with you and hope we can stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KB1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

What a find this place was! Friendly helpful staff. The excellent large rooms were very clean and tidy! Waking up to the sounds of birds singing and just the odd car driving passed. Open the shutters to see the wonderful view of the poppies and the Tuscan countryside! Loved it.The breakfasts are something to behold and you wont need any lunch! Ideal location, easy cab ride to Siena.We stayed 6 nights and didn't want to leave. Best value of all the places we stayed. Would stay here again if I ever get back to that part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne07051976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Il Ceppo for two nights as part of our honeymoon and it was great! The rooms are clean and tidy, and the breakfast will keep you full for hours! The staff are the best part of this place, they were so helpful showing us maps of the area and giving us adivce on where to park in Sienna, and the best places to eat and visit around the area. We were trying to organise a cooking class and Raphael called in one of his friends who spoke English to see if she could organise something for us. The parpadelle al cinghale is also delicious, as is the coffee you must try it. Unbelievable value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaandLachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
5.4 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
4.1 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#4 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villa Montarioso
Villa Montarioso
#3 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel I Platani
Hotel I Platani
#2 of 18 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Il Ceppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Il Ceppo

Property: Bed and Breakfast Il Ceppo
Address: Via Cassia Nord 3, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast is located between Monteriggioni castle and Siena, at a few miles from the beautiful Sienese Montagnola. It's a family runned lodge, with only 12 cozy, comfortable rooms. We offer a rich Tuscan breakfast (cold cuts, cheese, fresh pastry, bread-butter-jam, warm drinks, etc). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Il Ceppo Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing