We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic hotel - could not fault it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Montarioso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Montarioso
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Monteriggioni
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - could not fault it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night with 3 friends. We had a hire car (with sat nav) so found it very easily, although from reading other peoples reviews it may be hard to find it you are going by a map?

Anyway, on arrival we were very impressed with the grounds of the hotel. Very nice and picturesque. Then when we were checking in the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful, she showed us a map of Siena and told us what to see - even where to park for free and how to get there! We were then given our room keys and were expecting just an "ok" room but were amazed at the quality! It looked brand new, with big wooden shutter windows and a fantastic view of the countryside. The bathroom was immaculate with heated towel rails (which was a god send as in October in Italy its not too warm so when you get out of a shower this was fantastic)! I'm convinced the rooms had under floor heating as well as it was very warm when I was walking around bare footed.

Beds were very comfy and the room had the cheapest priced mini bar I've ever seen (only 1 euro for quite a large bottle of water)! Even the alcohol in it was cheap!

The next morning at breakfast (which is outside reception over the courtyard), was lovely! A woman asked what drinks we'd like, then we helped ourselves to bacon, sausages, eggs, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, toast, croissants and lots more!

Overall I would definately stay at this hotel again and would recommend to everyone I know staying in Siena!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    131
    48
    7
    8
See reviews for
50
171
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

This is a very beautiful, romantic building set in the Tuscan countryside, just outside Sienna.

NOTE: This hotel is hard to find!!! Follow the hotels directions as described. However, once you have exited Sienna Nord, follow the road until you come to a roundabout - you should take the last exit (left hand turn), you will come to another roundabout - you should go straight on, and then you will come to your final roundabout, you should take the last exit (left hand turn). You should follow this road until you come to the VW garage on your left. Turn left immediately after passing the garage - follow the signs for the hotel.

We got lost and drove to Monteriggioni (as it is on the hotel's address - it is however, 10 km away from the hotel!) However, on a brighter note, after several calls to the hotel, they directed us back to the original roundabout and then drove out to us, so we could follow them to the hotel.

The hotel laid on a generous buffet breakfast - a selection of cereal, fruit, pastries, cheese and cold meats, bacon, eggs and yogurts plus juice and all the usual hot drinks you would expect.

Lovely grounds and plenty of photo opportunities. A nice hotel if you want to chill back and relax and easy access to the local area.

However, don't forget to set an alarm - once you shut the window shutters, it's pitch black and you could sleep till lunchtime!! Rooms are extremely clean and comfortable with a large bathroom with plenty of towels and toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trixie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

I had stayed there for one night only and the hotel is really nice, rooms are clean and really large and they give us a two-bedroom apartment. One had three beds and the other had a queen size bed. Free wireless internet, THe staff is really nice and helpful. Very reasonable price. Please take the Siena Nord exit when going to the hotel. I will definitely go back and recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love-travelling-080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

We booked a night at this hotel at the last minute and was able to get a great rate online. It's a little out of the way (and not that easy to find) but was worth it. The hotel is clean and updated. Service was okay. Breakfast was good and is served in a charming little room across the path. Parking was free. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed here for three days and it was a most pleasant experience. The rooms were celan and well proportioned, good beds and an excellent en-suite. The hotel people could not have been nicer and more helpful. Breakfast was also good, with a variety of different options. The only down side, is that it is located at the back of a small industrial estate, but that should not put you off. It also does not have air conditioning which was a bit frustrating on such hot days.The hotel is also only a few minutes from Sienna.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

The hotel is located 10 mins by car from the Siena train station. A good base to visit Siena and surroundings with easy car access. There is a bus shuttle between the hotel and Siena city centre. The hotel is clean, quiet and new and free wireless internet in the rooms. Though the rooms have no air conditioning, the rooms do cool down well at night. The breakfast is basic with little variety. Considering the rates, the hotel is a very good value for money, compared to other hotels in Siena.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joectk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

This is our second time at Villa Montarioso. It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. BUT...we were very disappointed that a hotel of this quality would not have air conditioning! Plus they did not have fans to provide for the guests. It does cool off enough during the night, but it was too warm to lounge around in your room during the day. Come in the spring!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarcelonaGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
0.7 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
6.0 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#4 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
4.5 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
#1 of 2 in Quercegrossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montarioso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montarioso

Property: Villa Montarioso
Address: Via Montarioso 35 | Località Montarioso, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montarioso 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Montarioso is an ancient noble palace of 1800 set inside a private park where you can relax and walk as long as you want.Ideal refuge for holidays and trip for job, come and discover the ancient tradition of Siena staying at the Villa.All our rooms are equipped with minibar, safe box, 19" LCD TV, telephone, free WIFI connection and private bathroom with shower and hairdryer. Reception is open from 7am till 7.30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villa Montarioso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Montarioso Hotel Monteriggioni
Montarioso Hotel Monteriggioni
Villa Montarioso Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing