We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Italy B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B La Canonica di San Michele
Ranked #4 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here during our 2.5 week Italian honeymoon. Loved it so much that I really didn't want to leave! Really have nothing but positive things to say about this beautiful place. Owners were very welcoming, giving us a tour as soon as we arrived and offering plenty of information about the local attractions/had good suggestions for our itinerary since we had limited time in Tuscany. They have a whole library of tourism books (in a variety of languages) available to guests, which we found very helpful. Room was very nice - clean, spacious, comfortable bed, large bathroom with all the comforts of home. Only place we stayed in Italy that had wash cloths! It's the little things sometimes. ;) Good wifi signal in our room which was also helpful. We felt the most comfortable/welcomed here than at any other B&B we stayed at in Italy.

Breakfast was wonderful with a great variety of items offered - something for everyone. Claudia made us eggs to order with local cheese that was delicious. Best B&B breakfasts we had during our entire honeymoon. Eating outside on the patio was very relaxing and a nice change of pace for us during our busy trip. There is a charming one room chapel right next to the house that Claudia opened up for us to see. The house is located up a quiet dirt road - we had no trouble finding it though since Claudia sent us good directions ahead of time with GPS coordinates to plug in - made it easy!

We traveled all over Italy and this was hands down, my favorite place that we stayed. Close to Siena and within reasonable driving distance to many Tuscan villages. No hesitations recommending this B&B to others. I only hope that I'll be able to return for a longer stay someday! Thank you Claudia and Carlo for your wonderful hospitality! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealtorE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for B&B La Canonica di San Michele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

La Canonica di Fungaia was an absolutely magical place. It was a little hard to find, but when you see the gorgeous 1600’s farmhouse with the serene backyard (which is too wonderful to describe) you will feel like you are in a dream. The location was only 15 minutes from both Siena and Monteriggioni and a great place to use as a home base while exploring all of Tuscany. Claudia and her husband were so sweet and did everything they could to make sure we had a wonderful stay. I looked forward to breakfast every morning in the yard with a wonderful spread of food and coffee and juices. While we were there, Claudia’s grandson Adriano was staying with them and he was the sweetest boy and such a joy to have around. You really felt like you were staying at a friend’s house…if your friend owned a villa in Tuscany!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with its own private entrance and sitting room. We loved having our own staircase...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place fully lives up to its rave reviews. Historic property, gorgeous scenery, abundant charm, and gracious and knowledgeable hosts--a great base for exploring the surrounding area. My only regret is that we didn't walk the nearby paths and investigate the adjacent medieval town. Next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arob82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a fabulous stay here with Claudia and Carlo two years before. This time we returned with 2 friends of ours and stayed 6 great nights. The B&B was just super again and once again Claudia and Carlo were awesome hosts! This property sits at the edge of a large natural park area and has a number of trails which we have hiked. It has a simply awesome view of Siena and the surrounding area from its hillside site. Sitting just a little ways north of Siena and near Monteriggioni it's a great base for exploring areas such as Volterra, the Chianti region and also places to the to the south of Siena such as Montalcino and the Crete area. The accommodations are well furnished. Claudia and Carlo are available and always happy to make suggestions and to help with any reservations for nearby restaurants and attractions. We cannot wait to return since we have only scratched the surface of this area of Italy.

Room Tip: Nice roomy corner suite has views and seating areas.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troutman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Claudia and Carlo are exemplary hosts.

My friend and I rented a car in Florence to get to the La Canonica di Fungaia and unfortunately despite our best efforts and our rental car's gps, we got lost. We stopped at a small pizzeria and Carlo was good enough to come and get us and guided us back. We were very grateful. Once we arrived Claudia showed us our room. The rooms are big and immaculate. Breakfast is an experience unto itself. Just wow. Fresh squeezed juices, thermos of American coffee, espresso, dozens of teas, homemade cakes and pastries, local cheeses, prosciutto, salami, yoghurts, breads, croissants, eggs made to order blended with fresh local cheese. Your table is situated outside facing the Tuscan countryside.

We stayed two nights and spent one day visiting Sienna. When we got back we decided to open a bottle of wine we bought in Montalcino. Our corkscrew broke and Claudia offered to give us a bottle of her own wine. I declined and instead got some pliers and removed the cork with a little help from her brother in law. When he saw my wine, he told Claudia that it really needed some proper glasses and so Claudia went into her own dining room and returned with some beautiful crystal wine glasses. Thank you so much Claudia. My friend and I sat out by the pool and enjoyed the wine and listened to the crickets and watched the stars. There is wifi by the pool too (they just realized it could reach that far).

You will love La Canonica di Fungaia. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zipz503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at this beautiful B&B and would recommend it to anyone.
Location: Central for exploring the area both large and small cities. It is located in a rural location (and the great news is once you've found it - Claudia and Carlo provide a typed instruction list of how to get to lots of places in the area). You could easily drive to Siena and Monteriggioni within 10-15 minutes.
Room: Attention to detail would be my best description - as others have said it is an amazing building. The room was made up every day - toilettries replaced, bed linen changed half way through our stay, extra glasses or cups depending on what you need and more!. It didn't need air conditioning and it was 35 degrees when we were there! We had amazing views over the hillside and we would see deer in the mornings!
Breakfast: We were initially the only guests - yet it was a banquet fit for ten! If we went out early on a day trip (and I mean early!!!) we'd be left some breakfast AND juice and bottles of water for our journey! Finding out our favourite tea type is another example of attention to detail. Breakfast includes meats, cheeses, eggs cooked for us, cake, toast, fruit... we ate well.
Our stay: The BEST part was all the help for planning our week - met with a map, instructions, lots of books and tips of where to go - BRILLIANT! We did visit Rome and the help of printing train times etc were very thoughtful.
Wildlife: A chance to see wild boar, deer (we even saw a badger!)... All at a safe distance!
Accommodation: Bedroom and bathroom to ourselves, shared living room and dining area. We would have dinner (that we'd buy - after all it is a B&B and NOT a hotel!) - but they'd lay a table for us and we had a treat from them of some Chianti!
The surroundings had hammocks set up, a swimming pool, chairs in the sun and shade around this tranquil place... You could use it as a base or as a full on 'do nothing' B&B...
We have nothing but praise for our stay here. Thank you Claudia and Carlo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shifnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've stayed in many B&Bs all over the world and very few reach the level of La Canonica di Fungaia. Claudia and Carlo's heart and soul make the place a precious place to stay. The location and buildings are stunningly beautiful as well as historical, the breakfasts were lovely, and the rooms comfortable and clean. Claudia and Carlo were exceedingly helpful: making us dinner the first night because we arrived after a long day, providing us with sightseeing advice, showing us the church next door, and making a phone call for us because we don't speak Italian. We felt right at home and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
1.1 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
203 reviews
4.0 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
542 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
#4 of 11 in Monteriggioni
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
906 reviews
3.8 mi away
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi
#5 of 14 in Monteriggioni
252 reviews
3.1 mi away
Borgo de Brandi
Borgo de Brandi
#8 of 14 in Monteriggioni
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Canonica di San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Canonica di San Michele

Address: Strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località Fungaia, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy (Formerly La Canonica di Fungaia)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $130 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B La Canonica di San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Canonica Di San Michele Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing