We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Canonica di Fungaia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Canonica di Fungaia
Ranked #4 of 18 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while we drove around Tuscany. Situated a 20 minute drive from Siena and even closer to Monterigioni and San Gimignano, this B&B is in a delightful spot off the beaten track, with beautiful scenery and grounds, a swimming pool and fabulous hosts (Claudia and Carlo) for whom nothing was too much bother.
It's not by any means a 5 star city hotel but it's clean, well kept, and a perfect place to get away from it all.
I'd recommend this to anyone travelling in the area or as a stop-off along the way on a bigger journey.
Note, you must have a car to stay here and be prepared to drive along a gravel track for about 7 minutes off the main road - interesting at night, potential for spotting some good wildlife as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Unless you feel compelled to stay in a four star hotel or be within the walls of a city, I strongly encourage you to consider this wonderful B&B located in a medieval village between Monterrigionni and Siena. We recently stayed here for three days ane are very glad we did.

There are many good reasons to stay at La Canonica. The first of them is the excellent hosts -- Claudia and Carlo. They will not only make you feel very welcome, but do anything they can to meet your needs, including in my case go fetch some packages being sent from the U.S. unexpectedly. Notjhing is too large or too small for them to do. You will be greeted with a map already marked with suggested places to go, scenic routes, and other information. Claudia will tell you where to park to most easily reach your destination, including making use of the escalators up to Siena. She not only recommended an exellent restaurant for our first night dinner, but volunteered to make the reservations.

Second is the location. It is out in the countryside with great views, which I found very refreshing after 5 nights in cities. You are close to both Siena and Monteriggioni, and an easy drive down to towns such as Montalcino and Montepulciano, along a wonderful scenic route. Our room -- Crete -- which had a separate sitting room was very nice. The only minor reservations I have are that the shower stall was small, and that sound from the adjoining room traveled easily the night we had neighbors. Other than that, it was very quiet.

Breakfast, either inside or out, depending on the weather, is excellent, including Claudia's handmade pastries. She is happy to make cappuccino, Caffe Latte or scrambled eggs, and will ask you if you want any.

All of this comes at a very reasonable rate. We would very much love to return to our favorite lodging in Italy.

Room Tip: The Crete room, with a seperate sitiing room and nice views was very nice for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We recently stayed at La Canonica di Fungaia for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The B&B is in the countryside, very quiet with a wonderful view of Siena in the distance. Our room was exremely comfortable with an adjoining sitting area. Our breakfast was probably one of the best that we had in our two week stay in Italy. The amenties were perfect but the thing that we will remember most about this B&B was the wonderful couple who ran the B&B, Claudia and Carlo. They welcomed us into their 'home' and treated us like family showing us around the property and letting us sample some of Claudia's baking. After leaving the B$B we went on to Assisi where my wife discovered that she had forgotten her jewellery case at La Canonica di Fungaia. She called Claudia who found the case and then with Carlo drove part way to Assisi to meet us and return the case in order to save us the long drive to their B&B. It was an unexpected and gesture on their part that was really appreciated. We very much recommend the B&B but keep in mind that you will need a car to get to it and to enjoy the surrounding area. If you do stay there, get directions to a restaurant called Il Pozza in a tiny fortified village called Monteriggioni. It was a recommendation of Claudia's and was a wonderful dining experience..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Amazing hospitality, the views and surroundings are gorgeous, everything is very very clean, comfortable rooms, great breakfast, only 15 mins from Siena but right out in the countryside, rent a car if you want to stay here, there is nothing available on foot. We absolutely loved our stay here, wholeheartedly recommend it and we will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: "Crete" has a little sitting room and it's own entrance which we loved, plus the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Draiocht32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, MA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was a wonderful introduction to Tuscan hospitality. Claudia & Carlo met our every need (one of us needed gluten-free foods, and Claudia did personalized food shopping). The rooms were clean, the views great. We toured the little church attached to the home, and we felt part of the family there! A good location to use as a base to visit many of the hill towns. Full breakfast was good. It's helpful to have a GPS with Italy chip to find the B&B and other local sites.

Room Tip: Ask about size of showers if you need a larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a friends recommendation as part of our honeymoon and we only wished it could have been for longer! The rooms are immaculate and clean, and the house really feels like a home away from home. The views are breathtaking and the whole place is decorated so beautifully. The staff, Claudia and Carlo put on a fantastic spread of breakfast complete with devine chocolate milk. Our flights were potentially going to be cancelled, and we had no wi-fi, and Claudia helped us sort it all out, and recommended some yummy restaurants too. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Not a room recommendation but...The road up to the place is a dirt road so be wary if you are drivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaandLachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Claudia and Carlo are the most generous and welcoming innkeepers. The wrap you in their warmth, always ready with a restaurant suggestion or driving directions. Breakfast was the best way to start the day with delicious food and a view unsurpassed in beauty and serenity. Claudia shared her home with us, showing us the church that dates from the Middle Ages to the gothic charm of the wine cellar, which reminded me of the setting in Poe's , "The Cask of Amontillado" to the fantastic kitchen right out of Tuscany books. Family pictures, and treasures gave the place a feeling of being in a relatives' home for the holidays. And the conversations were like talking to friends. We loved seeing her son's book and photographs. Our only regret was that we didn't spend a few days just soaking in the scenery and blessed sunshine. But, we will be back! Thanks Claudia and Carlo for a memorable trip.
Peggy and Arnie Johnson, Granada Hills, California

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
4.0 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#4 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Monteriggioni
Hotel Monteriggioni
#6 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tre Madonne del Lago
Tre Madonne del Lago
#7 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
3.8 mi away
Relais Castel Bigozzi
Relais Castel Bigozzi
#3 of 18 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Canonica di Fungaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Fungaia

Property: La Canonica di Fungaia
Address: Strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località Fungaia, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Canonica di Fungaia shortly reopen its doors after a facelift that it was necessary, with many new features dedicated to our customers and to their welfare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your La Canonica di Fungaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Fungaia Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing