We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah! The highlight of our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B La Canonica di San Michele
Ranked #3 of 14 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Claudia and Carlo are the most generous and welcoming innkeepers. The wrap you in their warmth, always ready with a restaurant suggestion or driving directions. Breakfast was the best way to start the day with delicious food and a view unsurpassed in beauty and serenity. Claudia shared her home with us, showing us the church that dates from the Middle Ages to the gothic charm of the wine cellar, which reminded me of the setting in Poe's , "The Cask of Amontillado" to the fantastic kitchen right out of Tuscany books. Family pictures, and treasures gave the place a feeling of being in a relatives' home for the holidays. And the conversations were like talking to friends. We loved seeing her son's book and photographs. Our only regret was that we didn't spend a few days just soaking in the scenery and blessed sunshine. But, we will be back! Thanks Claudia and Carlo for a memorable trip.
Peggy and Arnie Johnson, Granada Hills, California

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 166 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

Situated about a fifteen minute drive from Monteriggioni and Siena is the delightful La Canonica di Fungaia. We had a four day break here driving down from Verona in under 3 hours. Easily found with a satnav! A car is essential to see all the amazing hillside villages via some very scenic routes with hardly any traffic.
Claudia and Carlo met us on arrival and provided all the information needed to enjoy our stay. You will not find more generous and hospitable hosts. The historic building provides an amazing atmosphere and very comfortable accommodation. Breakfast is fantastic.
The location in the hills with incredible views of Siena and the surrounding countryside, the swimming pool and gardens complete the experience.
Also highly recommend is a day we had out with Donatella (Wine Tour in Tuscany). We visited three very small wine producers in amazing locations in the Chianti region. The trip included wine tasting, the wine making process, balsamic vinegar tasting and production. Some very special cheeses, local honey and olive oil were also provided. One of the wine producers was also a truffle hunter aided by two truffle dogs! A subject I was particularly fascinated by!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

What a wonderful B&B! Claudia and Carlo make you feel right at home with their caring and generosity. You can see the loving touches everywhere. A great place to sit and relax, enjoy the view and the pool after a long day of touring. Breakfast was the Best in Italy! Home made scrambled eggs with cheese, homemade sweet breads, lots of coffee and tea and many other selections. The room was neat and clean and well maintained. We enjoyed every minute we were there!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and faced the hills. Wonderful breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lball1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

La Canonica di Fungaia is a beautiful B&B located near Siena. It's a easy drive to a lot of great hill towns, including Volterre, San Gimignano, Siena, Pienze, Montalcino, Radda, Monteriggioni, and Montepulciano. The location itself is beautiful, set on a hill in the country side. Claudia and Carlo are the most generous and gracious hosts we've ever had at a B&B. I can't tell you how many times we called for directions or restaurant recommendations while we were out touring. Both of the restaurants Claudia recommended were excellent, (il Pozzo in Monteriggione and Sotto le Fonti) in Siena and she made the reservations for us. The breakfasts were the best we had in Italy, with fresh meats, fresh local cheese, delicious pastries, eggs, cereal, fruits, breads. The only drawback is that there is nothing in walking distance. But i would not let that be a deterrent. There are plenty of places within a fairly short drive. Our room had an amazing view of the countryside and we slept with the windows open every night.

Room Tip: The smaller double room is next to a place where pigeons like to congregate early in the morning. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Would like to say that this was one of the best places we have ever stayed at, Claudia and Carlo made us feel really special, the views are spectacular, the peace and quite was unbelievable, was in a great place to explore Tuscany, breakfast was excellent, We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

La Canonica di Fungaia is an amazing place lost in the hills near Siena.

The location is excellent: 7km from Siena, within an hour drive from Firenze, San Gimignano, Montepulciano, etc... It is off the main roads, in a very small 'borgo' (currently under reconstruction - there were no construction works while we stayed there, but you may want to check that they are not being carried out while you'll be staying there).

The surroundings are beautiful and amazingly quiet which is fabulous after a day lost in the crowds of Siena... and you can relax by the swimming pool facing the hills. Great!

The owners are most charming and Natalia cooks the best breakfast (ask her for her ricotta, it was amazing). They are also very helpful in making recommendations for places to visit or restaurants to eat in.

The house itself is truly beautiful and charming. The room we stayed in was very nice with a terrific view. The bedding was not the best I've ever had but since I do not have any back problems (yet) I did not mind. The only "negative" is the lack of airco in the room. According to the owners, it is not necessary as the location remains rather cool, even during the summer, but we spent three nights in a room having around 26-28° which I could not stand... The fan (which stayed on all night long) did not really help either. But well, I believe this was an exceptional situation...

Overall, a truly amazing place which I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed with Claudia and Carlo for five nights and it was perfect. They were such gracious and friendly hosts and helped us plan just about everything we did while we were in the area. The place itself was perfect for us. We stayed in the suite which was upstairs and had a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside and the town of Siena. Our room was huge and attractively furnished.
The B&B itself is nestled next to a national park and there are numerous trails to hike on.
Each morning we were greeted warmly by our hosts and consumed a fabulous breakfast to fortify us for the day. We dined outside on the lovely grounds. We cannot wait so stay with Claudia and Carlo again on our next trip to Tuscany!

Room Tip: The corner suite upstairs is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troutman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
5.5 mi away
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
La Loggia - Villa Gloria
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
401 reviews
4.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 11 in Monteriggioni
959 reviews
4 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#3 of 11 in Monteriggioni
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 11 in Monteriggioni
207 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel I Platani
Hotel I Platani
#2 of 14 in Monteriggioni
188 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casalgallo
Casalgallo
#1 of 1 in Quercegrossa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Canonica di San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Canonica di San Michele

Address: Strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località Fungaia, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy (Formerly La Canonica di Fungaia)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range: $101 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B La Canonica di San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Canonica Di San Michele Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing