We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B La Canonica di San Michele
Ranked #5 of 19 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in May with 3 others, all because of previous reviews on TripAdvisor. Again, they did not disappoint. This place is an absolute gem. Having breakfast on the patio looking across at the Tuscan hills, listening to the doves (and nothing else) was so restful I hardly wanted to leave. It's requires a short drive on dirt road and a car is definitely required. Claudia was the perfect hostess and she provided a welcoming, cozy atmosphere, whether in the room, in the common areas, or on the patio. Would love to have spent more time there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuddies39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Italia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2011

la canonica is a a wonderful and quiet place 1o min to siena and monteriggioni. we stayed here for 4days with our small children. we enjoyed very much the small woods around the house and the famous locations all around. moreover, claudia and carlo, the owners, are wonderful guests, very helpful and full of tips about the trip. plus: the swimming pool (we look forward to have a swim next time), the delicious breakfast with handmade cakes, the cosy and very confortable rooms. we will come back in the spring or summer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matteobartocci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Nc
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My wife and I, along with another couple were fortunate to stay at La Canonica di Fungaia from October 24th to October 30th this year prior to sailing on a Transatlantic Cruise. When you initially read the reviews, the first thing that comes to mind is that it can't be that good. Wrong, if anything it is even better. I have to say that I don't think that there is a more comfortable place, with more welcoming hosts than Claudia and Carlo. Once you find the "white" ( graveled) road ( there is a sign FUNGAIA with an arrow to the right) it's a little bouncy, but slow an steady does it and, after negotiating the narrow gateway, you are welcomed and really are made to feel at home. The rooms are comfortable, immaculate, with modern plumbing and lots of nice hot water. Your hosts are gracious, more than accommodating, and you are treated just wonderfully. After a great night's sleep, breakfast has to be enjoyed to be believed, eggs, local meats and cheeses, wonderful breads, and coffee, both Italian and American. You would think, what more could be expected.

Well, one of our days was such that we were unable to get lunch, just didn't happen. So what did Claudia do, she whipped up an unbelievable snack with local cheese, wine, fruit, prosciutto, just delicious and very much appreciated.

I personally think that La Canonica has to be just one of the very best B&B's in the World and cannot wait to go back there again.

One tip: If you have a portable GPS that has maps for Italy, it makes getting around very easy. I took mine and was very glad that I did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

It is clear that Claudia and Carlo love sharing their home with their guests!
Delightfully off the beaten track, this former parsonage (the old Catholic Church and cemetery sit adjacent) is the quintessential Tuscan home. The flowers and garden are lovely (even in October) and I only wish it had been warm enough to spend a day outside just lounging and swimming in the pool. The room is spotless and cozy and our sitting room was welcoming.
The view from our bedroom window looked over the front yard and into the surrounding woods.
Nothing is too much trouble for Claudia & Carlo and we were very grateful for a lovely at-home dinner (when we were too tired to venture out); fresh coffee; and endless discussions about what to see and excellent directions.
I highly recommend this B&B for anybody visiting Tuscany!
Ellen & Thomas

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EllenTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were late getting to Sienna, so the rental car place was closed. We called Claudia, who runs this La Canonica di Fungaia with her husband Carlo, and she offered to have Carlo pick us up at the train station. After traveling almost all day, this was a great relief. When we got to the house, Claudia offered us dinner, but apologized for its simplicity: freshly cooked pasta with wine, antipasti, and freshly baked apple pie. You see, she usually doesn’t offer dinner to her guests, but that day all of her guests were either too tired to go out or didn't have plans, so she cooked dinner for them.

I was surprised at the level of comfort in the room. It was always warm enough, as not too feel damp, but airy at the same time. Although the bathroom was small, everything worked perfectly, with extra towels. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was always good.

The property is a former vicarage, and there is a small cemetery (offsite and enclosed within brick walls) and a quite beautiful church.

At the end, when we had to return our rental car, Carlo again offered to accompany us there and then take us to the train station. What a service!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu_andI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed with Claudia and Carlo in July for 3 nights. Lovely decorated and clean room, caring hosts, beaut breakfast (eggs were lovely!) and a great spot for anyone looking for a bit of peace and quiet. It was lovely to return and sit outside, just soaking in the view and quietness after a busy day. I would recommend you to stay here if you are driving through Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escapader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My wife, 2 teenagers and I spent 2 wonderful weeks in Italy in June. We spent 4 days in the countryside in Tuscany at La Canonica di Fungaia. This was the highlight of our trip. From the moment we arrived, Claudia and Carlo made us feel like we were part of their family. The B & B was absolutely beautiful. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was awesome, with home baked goods, meats, cereal, and yogurt. But the best part was the location and our wonderful hosts. We were able to venture out to multiple hill-towns, suggested by Claudia, which were spectacular. Claudia was always there to welcome us home. She went out of her way to make sure we had a wonderful time. We will always remember the beauty and splendor of Tuscany, and our wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
1.1 mi away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.8 mi away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
4.0 mi away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#4 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
#3 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria Il Colombaio
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Novelleto
Agriturismo Novelleto
#3 of 27 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Canonica di San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Canonica di San Michele

Property: B&B La Canonica di San Michele
Address: Strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località Fungaia, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy (Formerly La Canonica di Fungaia)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B La Canonica di San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Canonica Di San Michele Monteriggioni, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing