We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lindos - Love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindos

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
37 helpful votes
“Lindos - Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

I went to Lindos on 17th june 2009 and returned to England on 2nd july 2009! My boyfriend had been to lindos 7 years previous and this was his 4th time going there. Its a place you will defo want to go back year on year. We got off our transfer at lindos reception a 24hr place on the main flight days weds and sat. The woman who worked there was lovely and set our minds at rest till the reps met us. We stayed at Kiriaki/ kyriaki studios which is not far from reception. The room was clean and value for money. Lindos itself is picturesque with the roof top restuarants so you can make the most of the beautiful views. If you dont like walking its not the place for you. It can be very hilly and steep when reaching the beaches. But the local donkey taxi's are available for when you can not walk anymore. The acropolis is amazing best to visit around 4pm when its a little cooler costs 6euro to go in. I have to recommend Kolossos garden Bar. The owner Manolis made are stay extra special and his lovely barmaid Collete was there for all your alcoholic and dancing needs. Drinks were the cheapest on the island. If your after a yummy meal i recommend Dionysis or Dinosaur as we knew it as. Forget about a starter the main dishes are so big! For breakfast go to Billys bar yummy scrambled eggs on toast for 2 euro. The town becomes silent after 1pm and it would seem all are asleep but there are clubs to go to like Arches and Qupi that are open till 7am but have the best sound proofing ive ever seen! I loved every moment of Lindos and will defo go back and i am even planning on getting married there in the future.

Helpful?
2 Thank gina2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
18 helpful votes
“Lindos - a bit of Greek Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Kyriaki Appartments, Lindos, Rhodes
Date: July 9th 2009

We've just returned from a fortnight's holiday in the wonderful resort of Lindos on Rhodes.

Lindos is a delightful town that has managed to retain much of its authentic Greek idenity, despite the hoardes of holiday tourists and day-trippers that it understandably attracts. Extremely hilly, with winding narrow streets (and no cars permitted in most of the old village), Lindos isn't for the faint-hearted or those with mobility problems. The old town is dominated by the fortified Acropolis which is visited by hundreds (or even thousands) of people each day who ascend to it either by foot or by "taxi" (i.e. donkey). I would recommend visiting in the morning before the sun is at its strongest and the queues at their largest.

Lindos has a plethora of fine tavernas and restaurants (most of them rooftop based) offering a range of traditional Greek and more cosmopolitan fayre. We particularly enjoyed Dionysus and Acropolis down in the main town, but Agostino's - a more traditional Taverna at the top of the village and only a few minutes walk from our appartment - is also well worth a visit.

Lindos has several good beaches, all well served by snack bars of various sorts. 2 sun beds and an umbrella (a must in this climate) cost 8 euros a day.

The town itself is busy and has many gift shops, some of which it must be said are a little tacky, whilst others contain some real gems of local arts and crafts. The narrow streets and crowds give the centre something of the feel of the Turkish "souke". There are some fine cafe-bars, with The Captain's House being a particular favourite of ours.

By and large, we found the people of Lindos very welcoming and friendly.

The Kyriaki appartments (of which there are 6) are basic but comfortable. Their greatest asset is the breathtaking view across the town to the Acropolis (visible from no's 1,2 and 3). You should be prepared for some tiring up-hill walking when you're out and about. The plumbing in our appartment was tempremental even by Greek standards - the toilet cystern could take an eternity to refill! - but there were some concessions to modern technology e.g. an electric kettle (very un-Greek)! and air conditioning (available for 55 euros pw, which was perhaps a bit steep compared to a going rate of 45-50).

The appartments owner lives nearby and tended to be very noticeably (and noisily) present around the premises rather more than we found comfortable. During our stay, there was a rather heated altracation with some other guests about some breakages, which got rather unpleasant and resulted in several guests making a complaint to our (Thomas Cook) reps. Fortunately things seemed to calm down after this, and during the latter part of the stay we were more able to enjoy the peace and quiet that we had hoped, and paid, for.

As with many Greek resorts, there's a sense of Lindos changing repidly to accommodate tourists, and there are lots of new developments springing up on the outskirts. I'm not sure how long it will retain its relatively unspoilt charm, so now is the time to go.

I would wholeheartedly recommend Lindos as a resort. We would consider holidaying there again, although I doubt we would stay at Kyriaki. There are certainly more modern and spacious appartments around, but if you're prepared to put up with some of Kyriaki's quaintness, the view may well make up for it.

Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterTraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, but night life not suited to singles!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

Lindos is absolutely gorgeous. It is a small town and is very pitcuresque with lots of roof top restuarants. The food is lovely and so are the locals.

The beach is nice, but it is a fair trek so buy water for when you make you way back home and up that steep hill!

The bars have all been decorated to a high standard, in fact they reminded us of West End bars and the prices reflected this! 10 Euro for two vodkas! Approx 45 Euro for two main meals and wine!

The main reason for us writing this review is to highlight that the bars are not suitable for singles on holiday. They are quiet and any patrons are couples or older people.

We are single women in our 30s and found the night life boring. We don't want other singles making the same mistake as us, so please think carefully before booking a trip to Lindos if you are looking for night life and fun!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Janetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clemmons
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
“#1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

don't go, ever. you will give up everything in your life to stay there forever.

Helpful?
1 Thank wayneair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

Lindos is always a special place for us as we were married at St Pauls Bay Chapel back in 2003. We have just spent a week there and cannot wait to go back. Its a very unique place on Rhodes. Our favourite places to eat are "The Medeast", Olympia which is a newly opened roof top restaurant and "The Mythos Restaurant". A must while in Lindos is to go to the acropolis on a donkey which is an experience on its own........
... The views from the top of the Acropolis are stunning so well worth the climb up...The sea is a beautiful blue and very clear. We stayed at Eleni Studios which sits far back from the main road and outside of Lindos village. They are very modern studios and Eleni and Nadia are lovely people. The Swimming pool and the pool bar are very nice and are in lovely gardens....highly recommended. In the morning you hear the donkeys and see the goats coming down the mountain - its fab. Go and see Lindos for yourself as you wont be dissappointed......

Helpful?
2 Thank luluandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos