We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday in Lindos”
Review of Krana Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lindos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Krana Apartments
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We Have just returned from our third stay at The Krana apartments, and I have to say how fantastic they are. The rooms are typical Greek, simple but spotlessly clean. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, which was too big for us really but was the last room available when we booked, a year ago!

Fedra, Marina and Jenny, who run the place are really fantastic. Friendly, courteous and very hardworking. They really make sure you are looked after. We bumped into Marina in Lindos one evening and she insisted that we joined her and some other guests for a drink or two, how many other hotel owners would do that? Their own pool area and poolside bar/snack bar is lovely, and despite what some people have said, reasonably priced (the draught beer is the same price as the bars in Lindos) And Fedra's cooking is fantastic. There are plenty of quality sunbeds and the pool is great, there is also a jacuzzi, though we didn't use it this time.

Lindos itself, is wonderful, full of quaint little streets, shops, bars and great restaurants. Go and explore in the evening after all the day trippers have gone, is my advice. Our favourite restaurant is Dionysos, but we had equally good meals in Timmi's Cyprus Taverna and Mario's too. Our favourite haunts for breakfast or a beer were Billy's bar and Yanni's.

Ok, now the bad points, such as they are:

Thomas Cook are the only people who book at The Krana, and our experience with them was not the best. We were supposed to fly at 2:30pm, but this got changed to 3:30, then when we went to check in we were told there was a 3 hour delay, taking it to 6:30pm. Not so bad, but then they wanted to charge us £24 for excess baggage because we were just over 1kilo heavier than the allowance. I removed a pair of jeans from my case and put them in my hand luggage, which seemed acceptable to them. Why? The same weight went on to the plane, what difference does it make if those jeans are in the hold or the cabin?

When we arrived at Rhodes airport, There was a coach ready to take us to Lindos, which left as soon as we boarded, it turns out that some people had been on the coach for almost 2 hours waiting for us! The rep was full of apologies, but if I had been waiting that long, I'd have been fuming.

The Thomas Cook rep, Racheal, was lovely and spent more time at The Krana than any other holiday rep I have ever seen! She was very helpful and keen, not like most reps who seem very bored or only interested in having a good time themselves and not really caring about their clients.

So, all in all, I would say you can't beat Lindos or the Krana and I will definitely be doing my best to get back there next year!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank folkiebassplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 180 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

Went with my wife and child .We never really used pool area and the one time we did the owner accused my 2 year old of bringing sand into the kids pool, we had not been to the beach that day! My wife speaks fluent Greek and questioned the owner in her own language at which point she became verbally abusive.Cafe at pool is stupidly expensive, when we arrived at midnight there was no one to greet us or show us our rooms, a fellow guest rooted around found a piece of paper stuck to a side door telling us where to go.Overall a disgrace for the money, go at your peril!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zippy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed here last year wanting to have a peaceful break in lovely greek surroundings. It was wonderful. The place is kept really clean and the owners take pride in keeping their guests well provided for. The biggest surprise for us was when we arrived at midnight we opened the door of our studio and the room had a lovely fragrance and the bathroom, untypically for this price, was fully tiled and curtained. Really attractive and spotlessly clean.
The pool is spacious with comfortable loungers and you can get great snacks and authentic greek food at the pool bar area. Our view from the terrace was across the pool area to the hill beyond with the acropolis lit up at night on top.bliss. We got around easily by bus, picked up just down the steps from Krana so a couple of minutes away. Rhodes town is obviously facinating with all its history and just an hour away. Best in the afternoon if you're not into crowded streets. We also went to Pefkos beach a couple of times by bus which was good fun on the shingle beach and terrific lunch at the beachside taverna. The rest of the time we spent lazing at Krana as it's got everything you want.
In the evening you can dress up or go casually and hit the maze of streets down the hill in Lindos centre. We found an excellent selection of bars and restaurants. It's not so useful recommending as you'll maybe have different food tastes from us....you'll find good food for sure. The walk uphill afterwards is a nice experience as it reassures you that calories are being burned after the wonderful souvlaki, moussaka, pizza, kleftiko, or mussels saganaki you've just had. Then back to your terrace for a nightcap, and listening to the buzzing of the crickets as you look out onto the twinkling lights all around you. Fantastic and we'll definitely go back some time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekkaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The Krana Apartments are a lovely play to stay, located just outside the main part of Lindos, but a relatively easy walk into town and back. Some people might find the hill difficult, but anyone with a basic level of fitness should manage nicely. The manager of the Krana is friendly and welcoming, the apartments are clean and well provisioned, and the pool terrace is well maintained. Cooked breakfasts and snacks and drinks can be bought for reasonable prices, although the tavernas in Lindos itself are better for variety. The views across the town and acropolis are lovely. The only downside is that the pillows are very hard, but I have experienced this in several places across the Greek Islands.

I would highly recommend the Kran to anyone who wanted a quiet break in a nice location for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLLUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

I have just read the recent review by 'lodger1' and felt I had to write my own review- albeit 1 year late.! We booked the holiday thro Thos Cook, 1 week before travelling. The pre-booked T Cook transfers were terrible - we were left sitting on a coach for TWO hours before being taken to our Apartment. We arrived at 6am to the most beautiful sun rise . We had a wonderful apartment overlooking sea & acropolis and Marina the owner was most helpful- we only purchased a daily coffee from the bar, preferring to go down into Lindos, so we werent exactly big spenders for her. While at pool we had several chats with Marina-there seemed to be various problems with tour operators double booking the rooms, she actually produced a notice from one operator cancelling a booking for 6- the party arrived at 10pm unaware that they had been relocated else where, Marina then spent next hour trying to find a rep to sort out the booking. She intimated that she would not be reapplying to join the package tour deals for 2010 as she had so much repeat private business- I for one would return

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunoonOldmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Myself and my sister visited Rhodes for the first time, having booked into the Krana Apartments. If anyone is stopping in Lindos this is the place to stay. The Apartments are a family concern with mum and two sisters running the business. Due to this being a small complex, you get personal attention and nothing is too much trouble. Krana Apartments are spotlessly clean and the rooms are cleaned every day apart from Sundays. The pool area is great and was never crowded when we visited. There is a small bar and snack bar which is very reasonably priced. The location couldn't be better with a free bus just outside the apartments into Lindos Village if you don't want to walk - its not far in any event (approx 400 metres to the centre of the village). There is also an excellent bus service in the same area which takes you to all all the are the towns and villages and to Rhodes Town itself.

If you are stopping in Lindos - check Krana Apartments out - you won't be disappointed. I wouldn't consider stopping anywhere else if I visited Lindos again.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThereseBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We recently stayed at the Krana Apartments for 1 week. Having read all the positive reviews on trip advisor we were quite excited.

The apartments are in a great location with amazing views of the acropolis, the pool area is also lovely however, rooms are small and cramped with extremely hard beds and pillows.

The real disappointment of these apartments came though from the owner/manager who was simply RUDE to us throughout our stay. From the outset of our arrival she was unfriendly, unhelpful and at one point even told us she hates tourist!!!

The first day we tried to stay by the pool but, we were there the same time as a wedding party and all of the friends and family staying in other hotels came to Krana during the day as the pool area is so nice...this meant however, as PAYING guests there was no room for us to sunbath!!!

As mentioned there are some positive aspects to this accommodation but I have to say that the owner made us feel so unwelcome we spent as much time as possible away.

On reflection she probably didn't bother about us because we didn't spend money in the hugely expensive pool bar.

We were so so disappointed and upset by the way we had been treated. I honestly don't know why some people work in the hospitality industry.

My advice, there are many friendly and welcoming apartments in Lindos with equally good location, views and facility GO TO ONE OF THOSE.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lodger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#11 of 30 in Lindos
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lindos
714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krana Apartments

Address: Lindou - Lardou, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Lindos
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Krana Apartments Hotel Lindos
Krana Apartments Lindos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing