We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
450
26
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
450
26
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his team snack bar large corner bath self catering air con nothing is too much trouble monday evening plenty of sunbeds bbq night pool area weekly bbq see you next year rooms are spacious two weeks walk into town main beach fantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 485 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a great 14 days from 6th to 20th June 2918. We arrived at 1am and were met by Stavropol who had stayed on to meet us. He kindly showed us to our studio and carried my wife’s luggage. The bar by the pool was still open with about 5 or 6 guests enjoying their drinks. We were told that the bar would bee open till 1.30 and this allowed us a chance for a drink after the flight and bus transfer.

We were one of the last to be dropped off which added to our journey. It would be a great idea to organise a taxi or private transfer. The location of the Lindos Horizon is excellent as it is about 5 minutes walk from the bus station and main road. There is a small supermarket down on the right as you look towards the Acropolis. A larger supermarket is located beside the bus stop.

You can cross the road and walk down into Lindos town. There is a good taxi service up and down which is located at the”donkey station”. Most of the town is car- free full of narrow winding streets full of restaurants.

The Lindos Horizon has a snack bar. Raiders the swimming pool. Breakfasts are available and are fairly cheap. I have photo of the complete menu which you will see later. Some guests are in the Horizon most of the time. In Lindos town there is a plethora of fine restaurants. We ate in about 9 or 10 different restaurants. In my view the three best are Dionysis, Alex’s and Stefanos which are all side by side.

The Lindos Horizon is one of best and friendliest hotels that I have ever been in it is very clean, the staff work their socks off all the time. The owner Stavros is there all the time and deals with anything needed doing immediately putting guests first. The barman, Niko, is hardworking and has a great taste in rock music. All the food is cooked by an incredible lady who produces great meals and snacks. In all my time there I never heard a single complaint about the food.
There are blocks of studios and apartments. The design allows all rooms to have a sea view with a balcony to have breakfast or a drink at sunset. Would I return? Of course at the drop of a hat.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 856edwardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Just returned from yet another fantastic holiday to Horizons, the weather was beautiful especially as it was the first week of October - think we saw one cloud all week. Stravos and his team really are the perfect hosts, going the extra mile to ensure we have a great holiday, the apartments are spacious, clean and all boost an amazing view out to the Acropolis. Always plenty of comfy sun lounger eventhou the pool was very cold this time! The food in the poolbar is very good and not overly priced, we ate most lunchtimes which we wouldn't normally do. We go down to the village each night for dinner, there is so many to choose from but we always manage to fit in our favourites!! Thank you Stravos….see you next year!

Room tip: All rooms have an amazing view of Acropolis / sea
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MidwalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Just back after two weeks in Horizon. This is a small family run apartment complex and from the moment we arrived to find a staff member waiting at the gate to take our luggage to the farewell hug from Stavros the owner we felt welcomed and at home here. Everywhere is spotless and beautifully maintained. Pool area has sea view - plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. Pool bar offers food and bar day and night although the menu is British rather than Greek / Mediterranean which suits the guest profile which was exclusively British when we were there. This is representative of Lindos which we found to be a predominantly British resort.

Our studio Apartment was spacious with lovely view and large terrace - we asked for a quiet apt on top floor ( 2 storey) and that is what we had. Kitchen is basic but we hadn't intended to use it anyway! Plenty of hot water and nice large bathroom. Only quibble was very worn towels which we put down to being end of season. Location is super with a real sense of calm , no 'pool games ' or loud music and wild mountain sheep and goats on the hill beside pool which were fascinating to watch. 15 mins easy walk downhill to Lindos but there is a supermarket and a very good bar / restaurant mid way. Walk back up was not too steep for us but we often took a taxi as parts of the road are not well lit and have no footpath. Plenty of taxis and only €5 to get home.
The location was a lifesaver for us as we did not realise the extent of 'over tourism ' in Lindos. Yes , it is a quaint village with narrow cobbled streets , and the acropolis but it is so packed with tourists even end of Sept that it is unpleasant. Day trippers mean that there is literally no room to walk so we only went in during the day to climb the acropolis and see the historic church. Shops cater to the tourist souvenir market mainly with only a handful of nicer shops. Nights are a bit calmer and Restaurants are excellent and serve wonderful Greek food which was the only sense of Greece we found in Lindos. There are lots of 'English breakfasts ' and steak and chips on offer as well for those who want to stick to familiar food. We never had a bad meal in 14 nights. Favourite three restaurants Dionysos, Alex, Lindos Ice Bar ( mid way between Horizon and village).
While we won't return to Lindos we would definitely recommend Lindos Horizon.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank IrelandLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Just back from another fabulous stay at the Lindos Horizon. Stavros, Poppy and the team could not have been more helpful and as usual, our apartment and the grounds were spotless.
A good tip: This year, we booked directly with Stavros instead of using TUI. We booked our flights with British Airways and it worked out so much cheaper that we were able to stay for 18 nights instead of the usual 14. Obviously we had to factor in the extra spending money, but having a few quiet nights in sorted that out!
The food served during the day at the Lindos Horizons is very tasty and great value for money, but in the evenings we’d usually go down to the village to eat. Recommend are Dionysos; To Kamariko Taverna and the Empire of the Sun Chinese restaurant. In Pefkos there was the Jasmine Cocktail Cafe Bar.
I had a few health problems during my stay, and despite being a little under the weather himself, Stavros took excellent care of me, even contacting his own doctor so that I could have a chat with him. He really is an excellent host and I’m very grateful for all his help. Thanks Stavros. Take care and see you next year!

Room tip: All the rooms have a wonderful view of the Acropolis
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hils_Cronain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Now I'm home I see this is #1 & I can see why. We were welcomed by the owner Stavros & taken to our lovely apartment which was spacious & very well equipped for self catering & had plenty of storage space. We opted to pay for the air con & with daytime temperatures at 31/32 & evenings at 29 we found it essential. The bathroom was large with a corner bath & a window - very untypical for Greece. There was a large balcony with a table & 4 chairs & it was the best spot for peace & quiet as it overlooked the sea & Acropolis & got the sun most of the day & best of all, it was private.
The whole place is well designed & backs onto a rockface with oleander & jasmine which smells delicious as you walk up to your door. It's such a peaceful place & apart from the music at the pool bar (which we couldn't hear in our room or on the balcony) the only noises came from goats, sheep, donkeys, cockerels & birds!!
I can certainly see why people return year after year.
The only drawback to this solitude may be that you have to walk 5 minutes to the main road for buses & one of the supermarkets & a further 10 minutes downhill to the heart of Lindos. Sometimes you share that walk with the animals but thankfully no stray dogs!! There is a 50c (each way) shuttle for the road down to the square (which is a roundabout!) & back up but not in the evening. There are taxis. We found it a nice walk (allowing for road sharing with the buses, taxis & quadbikes) but some may find it too steep coming back up in the heat. At night there is adequate lighting & it's not too uneven. It may be worth checking shoes for goat poo though!!!
The pool bar/snack bar area is the only place you'll get free wi-fi & we didn't get good phone reception. This really is the place to 'turn off' in all manner!!

Monday night is BBQ night & you'd struggle to find a better 14 euro meal!! Then we had a quiz & a bottle of 'fizz' for the winning team - not us!!!

We had an issue with the air con (on a Sunday) when it suddenly stopped & blew the 'trip' & the consumer unit was sounding an alarm. We were in the room so I went across to Stavros at the bar to report it. He was on the case immediately & called out the electrician who came to fix it & replaced a part in the consumer unit. I didn't time it but it didn't seem more than half an hour to wait but Stavros was really apologetic that we had to wait so long. He said that being Sunday the guy had been out fishing but he said he needed him back urgently!!! They clearly care about their service & reputation.

Lindos itself is a charming village almost hidden from view at the foot of the Acropolis with 3 beaches. It has a maze of cobbled streets shaded by vines. There are a lot of steps but donkeys are on hand if you need a ride during the day. They have a man following behind with a 'pooper scoop' so the streets are kept clean. It's a lovely cool (relatively!) walk just browsing the shops & checking out where to eat & there are plenty of choices & certainly every place we ate was worthy of a return visit. The beaches are quite packed with sun loungers & parasols & the water is crystal clear.
Greek people are lovely, as is Greek food. From seeing other places as we went around during our week, Lindos is the only place we would choose to stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews