We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real greek experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lindos Athena Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrive at 5 o'clock in the morning and was shown to the door by Athena, more than required we expected a key in the door and a note on the reception door. The rooms are clean and basic, anyone who has visited Greece before knows the rooms are not as posh as Spain.

The studio room. Small bathroom with a shower, no bath. Small kitchenette 2 electric rings, fridge, electric kettle, units and a sink. also in the same room is 2 single beds, bedside cabinet, set of 4 drawers a wardrobe (lots of hangers in mine), a chair and TV (only 3 channels no charge). All nice and clean, clean towels and sheets every 2 to 3 days. Balcony was only just big enough for 2 , 2 chairs and a table. Air Con is 50 Euros a week.

The pool. It was cleaned and treated every night, plenty of sun beds most days. NOt all the hotels in Lindos have pools and the guests are encourage to use other hotels, everyone welcome, so if you do intend to stay around the pool all day get up early so you have a choice.

The pool bar. Its very well stocked. they serve food from when it opens til 2.30 in the afternoon. All the food is basic good food nothing to fancy, lots of empty plates. 6.50 Euro for a full English breakfast including hot drink. Drinks rough prices, bottles Strongbow 3.50 E, Mythos 2.50E, Magners 5E. Pint of local beer 3E. Long drinks vodka and coke 4E. Theo works the bar at night and is very entertaining, a bit of a character. He will pour you a shot and you feel oblidged to drink it, free of charge. The bar stays open all day and closes when there is not enough customers, after 11 pm the earliest but may stay open until 5 in the morning. Some guest that had the rooms very close to the bar said the noise had disturbed their sleep but they didn't ask to be moved, I mentioned this to the Thomas Cook rep he said all the people that wanted to move had been with no problems. Some people like something to complain about when it could have been easily rectified. We stayed in room 223 and our sleep was not compromised.

Lindos is absolutely stunning and full of history. It has 2 steep hills the 1st one takes you into the square and the 2nd down to the Beach. You can get a taxi up and down the 1st one to the square. The one to the beach is by foot or donkey. Not a place for people with walking difficulties. The restaurants and bars have roof gardens, the ground floor parts are open so lots of people watching. In between the bars are shops and supermarkets. The beaches are all shallow and mainly sandy, 2 in Lindos and 2 in St Pauls bay, all in walking distance.

Pefkos is the next village down and is flatter and cooler, it has the beach and tarvenas. The bars are more open and child friendly, some have slides, plastic ride ons , tramplines and bouching castles. The Bar Pefkos by night has entertainment on every night at 22.00 but the buses stop at 9 ish, so you have to get a taxi back, which is 8 Euros regardless of what time you get one. the bus is 1.60 Euro.

A visit to Rhodes old town is a must, only 5 Euros each way on a air con bus and takes roughly 80 minutes each way.

We loved the hotel, the whole experience and will return in 5 years. Maybe stay in Pefkos has the nightime entertaintment and the flatter paths were more appealing to us, but Lindos is an amazing place to stay or visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 223, we didn't hear the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireSunWorshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 269 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just got back from a week relaxing at lindos athena,what ever reviews you have read about this place being dirty and crap ignore. We went with an open mind after reading good and bad reviews. The apartments are spacious and CLEAN. Yes there are ants outside but you get them wherever you go, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The beach of lindos is only about 10 min walk.yes it's down hill but this is lindos we are talking about. The best resteraunt we found was lindos bar and resteraunt at the top of the hill near the bus station.The only faults we had was with Thomas cook as the plane was delayed for 1 hour going and 6 hours coming back. And the rep gives you very basic info.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve27669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I absolutely loved Lindos but not the Athena appartments. The accomodation was ok, what I had expected for a two star place but the total disregard for guests wasn't good. Unfortunately I was given the room opposite the pool bar (room 111) and adjacent to the outside loos by the pool, noisy just doesn't describe it.

Sadly there was a bunch of inconsiderate guests who drank til 4am most mornings and the more they drank the noisier they got. I could have cried the first night when I hadn't slept for a day and a half (night flight, decided to stay up for the day etc) and there was some idiots singing kareoke til 5am. Yes I did have earplugs but it didn't blot out the noise. The music behind the bar was pretty loud too, all week, and when I mentioned it I was basically told 'oh well'.

I wouldn't go there again, I'd rather pay a bit more and get a classier place to stay. Maybe I wasn't chucking enough money at them over the bar... Shame really as some of the other guests were fab and I'm still in touch with them.

Room Tip: Refuse any rooms near the pool bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week in September 2012, this is a family run place well looked after. Rooms are very basic but very comfortable as you do not stay in them very long because of the hot weather.Theo is the most helpfull person you can find ,as he showed us to our room and said is there anything u want just ask me.
The BBQ night at the Athena is not to be missed as its a good night will be had by all, we can not fault this hotel as we are going back next September,

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the bar as it can be very noisey at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

On arriving at the appartments in the early hours of sunday morning, we were met with a very friendly welcome from Theo. We were shown straight to our rooms which were basic but very clean which is what you expect in Greece. All the staff were very friendly as well as the guests. We stayed at the same time as a large group of London lads who stay at this place every year for 2 weeks, they were all friendly as well as rather noisy in the early hours of the morning. If you want an un disturbed sleep get a room away from the bar area. The old town of lindos is fantastic and eating meals on the roof terraces is the only way to do it, you get excellent views over the whole town. The acropolis is a must see, it is only about a 10 minute walk from the main town, but if you are lazy like me the donkey rides are an experience not to be missed, the cost of the donkey ride is 5 euros each way. Dont feel cruel on the donkeys as they are not like the old run down things you see on English beaches, they are well cared for and sturdy animals. The food in Lindos was the best i have ever tasted especially in Stephanies Taverna and Methos resturant. The prices are not too bad either but food and drink is cheaper in Rhodes town but by the time you get there its not really worth it. We took a trip to Rhodes town on the local bus this cost 5 euros each way and took 1 and a half hours but it was well worth a look and sitting on a cramped bus on the way back. I am looking to go back to Lindos next year as i enjoyed every second. I would probably not stay at the Athena again as some of the other hotels looked appealing. Just a word of warning Theo is a big drinker of shots so if you leave your other half with him for a few hours he will come back blind drunk and very ill. Over all i had a great time and i would recommend you go see for yourselves

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the apartment blocks, away from the pool and bar area are highly recomended if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I WILL START BY SAYING THAT IF THERE WAS A "GOOD" RATING THEN THIS IS WHAT WE WOULD AWARD THIS PLACE.
Arrived around 10pm and was shown to our studio apartment. Clean but very basic, with only two of everything and plastic plates. No toaster though.
Cannot fault the staff, as they are incredibly friendly and helpful at all times. We went to the barbecue on the Sunday evening, which was superb, with the homemade food as good as any we had sampled in the restaurents in the village.
Bar was good and well stocked.
The pool was lovely; clean and refreshing and welcome respite from the midday sun. The bar food was well cooked and tasty.
The surrounding area is a little run down, baron and there are several animals tethered up, which if you are an animal lover, can be a concern. Be aware that there are also a number of cats and kittens in the complex, who are all more then happy to help you out with your food!
This is all reflected in the price you pay to stay here and we did not have any problems whilst there at all however given the choice we would not stay there again as it cast us too much in cat food!!

Room Tip: Ask to be put away from the bar area as it can get lively!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B_JDerbysire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The overall look of the place was very pleasant. Theo showed us to our room, and said if we wanted anything, just to let him know. Yes, Greek accommodation is basic,but it suited us just fine!.

We loved the area, me personally loved feeding the local Donkeys.. there were all sorts of animals dotted around the place, which we loved. The Ice bar 10 mins away, was a pleasure to go to, the food was very good and the Waiters lovely. We also spent nights down in magical Lindos, eating on a Roof terrace... glorious.. seeing everywhere lit up. We really had a great holiday. The beaches are good too.

The downside was, we were opposite the bar on the ground floor.. at times it was really unbearable the noise into the early hours.( a large group of fella's arrived.late one night,let's just say they were letting their hair down.) We did complain and our rep Roxy and Socrates the owner sorted it out that we could move into "family/guest room " which was away from the bar.

We really appreciated this, and the last 2 nights of our weeks holiday were lovely and quiet at night. We would definitely stay there again, but would request a room up a level and away from the bar area. We have never gone to the same resort twice, but looking forward to going back here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.1 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#12 of 30 in Lindos
416 reviews
1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Lindos
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
745 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Athena Hotel

Address: Lindos - Krana | Rhodes - Greece, Lindos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lindos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lindos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: $36 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lindos Athena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Athena are family run apartments set within beautiful gardens on the top of the gem of Rhodes island... Lindos village ! The apartments are designed in a Greek traditional style with a nice swimming pool area and a pool bar on their side. Only 10-15 minutes walk away from the center of Lindos were all the magic begins!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lindos Athena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Athena Resort
Lindos Athena Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing