We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melenos was the perfect holiday for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
American in Scandieland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Melenos was the perfect holiday for us”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife and I along with our 13 month old daughter had the recent pleasure to stay at this hotel for my 40th birthday. It was an absolute joy. The excellent service began with Marina who assisted in our reservation, and kept us on a waiting list for a Senior Suite room - which we luckily did receive. Upon our arrival in Lindos, we were met by a small pickup to carry our luggage to the hotel, and a guide to help us find our way through the streets and donkeys to the reception.

This hotel is without a doubt everything that all of the other reviews in Tripadvisor say. The service was outstanding. Since we were traveling with a 1 year old, and the average daily high was 45C, we spent most of our afternoons in the hotel room enjoying our veranda. The room service was excellent - and there was no extra charge to take all of our meals in the room. We ate essentially every breakfast, lunch, and dinner on our balcony for 5 days - and could not have been happier. The staff were also very helpful with unusual requests including baby bottle washing, hot water, baby cot, etc. Greeks love children, and the entire staff made our daughter feel very welcome.

In addition, our return flight was unfortunately at 7:00am, which meant that we needed a taxi at 4:30am. This was not at all a problem, and Maria arranged everything. At 4:20, we received a knock at our door, and someone showed up to take our bags, and transport them to the square, where a taxi was waiting for us - and we arrived at the airport at 5:30 right on time. (An aside comment to some of the reviews on tripadvisor regarding problems with taxi payments with the Melenos transfers - we always paid the driver directly and there was no problem.)

So, while we give an enthusiastic "Excellent" rating for this hotel, we would like to make note of a few things that people should be aware of prior to their stay. I think that the review "“Melenos – The Good, the Bad and the ………..”" nicely sums up the potential downside to staying here. We were in room #9, which was wonderful - but some of the rooms could potentially be quite hot and noisy depending upon the conditions. There was a wedding during our stay, which was loud - as weddings tend to be, but once we shut our windows (and turned on our AC), we were not at all disturbed. One thing that was annoying was that the in-room safe was key-operated, meaning that one had to either carry the key everywhere (i.e., at the beach), or hide it in the room - which sort of defeats the purpose of a safe. In addition, the AC temperature and fan cannot be controlled locally, but have to be regulated centrally. We found the reception very responsive in making changes, it just seems an unnecessary complication.

All in all - we had a fantastic stay, and cannot thank the staff enough, including Marina, Maria, Eddie, Pericles, Aphrodite, and Yannis. We give an enthusiastic "Excellent" recommendation, and will absolutely return to the Melenos someday, but will be certain to know which room we book.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    38
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
153
428
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The professionalism and the hospitality of the staff at the Melenos Lindos is the icing on the cake of spectacular rooms in a beautifully decorated hotel that feels like home. Every staff member has a ready smile, particularly Marina who is in charge of the day to day running of the hotel. Marina was so helpful in booking us ferry tickets, arranging alternative accommodation for us in Lindos when we decided to extend our stay and the hotel was full, found accommodation for us in Symi, let us check out late, allowed us to leave our bags at the hotel overnight even though we moved accommodation, and printed out a few work documents that we couldn’t escape from (to name a few!)

As for the rooms themselves, they are beautifully appointed. The beds are amazingly comfortable (and large!); we loved the massive couch with plentiful cushions, despite the fact that it was a room for two; the large bathroom and the beautiful outdoor seating area just outside our suite that we could use exclusively. On arrival, Marina also presented us with a welcome bottle of wine which although almost label-less was lovely and a pleasure to drink, unlike other complimentary bottles of wine at many other hotels.

There aren’t any real drawbacks to the hotel and we couldn’t imagine a better place to stay in Lindos. The hotel is situated about 200m from the nearest beach, which although not the best beach we found, would probably suffice for a quick dip (did I mention the hotel provides the most beautiful beach towels?); parking is a fair distance from the hotel but is a manageable walk and understandable given the layout and the narrow streets of the town; and the water in our room got very hot very quickly and you have to take care not to burn yourself.

We loved our stay and would like to thank Marina and the team for making our stay as enjoyable as we could possibly imagine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirandaworldtrip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAX
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff is like family and the proud owner is on sight. The location is right below the acropolis and right above the sea. Absolutely the most unique and beautiful place I have ever stayed. The food incredible, the rooms spotless and the town adorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneecLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Excellent rooms and very helpful people. The restaurant is the best in town,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VKAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had our wedding here on 1st August and everything was perfect! Seven courses of unbelievable food and service was outstanding. You would never get this in the UK.
We also stayed the night here and the rooms are also perfect. The staff were happy to change the menu during the meal for some of our fussier guests and nothing was too much trouble!
Thanks again Melenos, a super memorable wedding!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maisiemoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2011

melinos lindos hotel is in the center of historical city of lindos, between the beach and the acopole with a fabulous view at 360 °, in the quietest part and tipycal part of lindos. hotel is the first class, the room are furnished with a great touch and all are with a private terrasse with a view on the sea and lagoon of lindos. it s the best place to stay and visit lindos and rhodes. Staff are very pleasant close to the client and the restaurant on the top of the roof has a absolutely impressive view with a very good cooking. warmely recommended, no mistake

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank market011961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our family of 4 visited Lindos Greece and were greeted with such hospitality from the staff at Melenos Lindos Hotel. They arranged a taxi to greet us, a car to pick up our luggage, conversation regarding the island, shops, restaurants, gifts and went out of their way to make our stay just great. Since we were a family they arranged for us to stay in a larger room that would allow us to stay together. The balcony from our room was just beautiful and we were able to enjoy the beauty of the island around us. The one negative issue was the hair dryer. There is an attachment that is not located in a safe location and it fell off onto the glass soap dish. We were charge 50 euro to replace this fixture. Just be very careful and make sure the attachment is not sitting on top of the hair dryer when you pick it up. Enjoy the island, the food, the wine and the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
1.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,387 reviews
1.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
350 reviews
16.3 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melenos Lindos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melenos Lindos Hotel

Property: Melenos Lindos Hotel
Address: Lindos 85107, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#3 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melenos Lindos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melenos Lindos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melenos Hotel Lindos
Lindos Melenos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing