We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, only spoiled by some of the guests”
Review of Hotel Lindos View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lindos View
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our 14th trip to the Lindos View and our second time there in 2013. It's a lovely place, located above the village of Lindos on the main east coast road running down Rhodes, around ten minutes walk downhill to the village but rather longer to get back as it is all uphill - you may wish to get a taxi back from the village.

The site is large with a beautiful reception building, two swimming pools, and eight accommodation blocks holding just under 90 rooms in total. The blocks are all two or three storeys high and there are no lifts, so be ready for stairs if you've asked for a high floor. Not all of the rooms have a view of the Acropolis of Lindos, particularly those on lower floors or those in the buildings towards the back of the site, but if this is really important to you you could always email the hotel in advance (as far in advance as possible) and the management will do their best.

Some people have commented on the rooms so I thought I'd add my piece here. The hotel has studios (a single room with bathroom), apartments (a single room divided into two with a glass or wood & glass partition, plus a bathroom), and duplex apartments (a two-storey room with two beds upstairs, two down, and a bathroom.) Some of the rooms are older than others, some have been refurbished, some have not. Of the blocks the 700 block is the newest, all "normal" apartments, and is located at the back of the site so not many rooms will give you a view of the Acropolis. There are I think four duplex apartments in total, some of which have been refurbished. The studios in the oldest blocks are partially refurbished, but others are not. The three main blocks (500, 600 and 800 - 45 rooms in total) are a mixture of studios and apartments and date back to 2001-2003 or so, and are not refurbished. If you want to see what the rooms look like take a look at the Lindos View website (Google it) and you'll see pictures of the room types - the ones with the wooden furniture are similar to the vast majority of the rooms, whereas the "blue" rooms are either refurbished ones or are in the 700 block. The oldest rooms have dark red furniture. No matter what type of room you have they are all kept spotlessly clean and are well maintained by the staff. Bear in mind that everyone is different - some people love the rooms with the red furniture because they like where they are on the site, or they just like the "feel" of the rooms, whereas some people like the modern look of the refurbished rooms, but others find their "mood lighting", showers in a glass cubicle in the bedroom, and jacuzzis a little unusual for their tastes. Personally I like the rooms with the wooden furniture best - we're all different. Ultimately if you've booked a particular type of room and have specific wishes, email the hotel in advance, but understand that they don't have an infinite supply of each type of room, and if they've all been allocated before you then you may be disappointed. As I said though, the rooms are spotlessly clean, well maintained, and in a lovely site.

The Lindos View is situated in lovely gardens which are constantly being looked after by Spiros and Vasillis, who you'll see rushing around the place cutting the grass, fixing things, and keeping the place tidy. The gardens are beautifully maintained with palm trees and bougainvillea climbing up the walls, and as you walk around you'll catch the smell of rosemary growing by the paths in places. It's a credit to Vasillis and Spiros that the place is so well maintained.

There is also an army of maids who arrive at 6.30 each morning (apart from Sunday - their day off) to clean the reception, then all of the rooms. Bedding and towels are changed regularly, and the maids soon learn your "pattern" as to when you leave your room each day, so you won't get disturbed when you try to sleep in.

In the main building, Alex and Rose are on hand at the reception desk to help you, and at night Manos takes over - it's manned 24 hours a day. There are safe deposit boxes and if you require air conditioning (you probably will) you can hire this on a weekly basis. The hotel also has a 24 hour bar, and a restaurant during the evenings. Regular entertainment is provided - a Greek night every second Monday, a singer / comedian each Tuesday, a barbecue and karaoke on Thursday, and on Sunday there is karaoke. Some people have complained on here about there being too much karaoke but it is two nights a week and nobody forces you to attend.

There's only one thing that spoils the Lindos View and sadly it's the guests. The hotel attracts a lot of large groups who are going to weddings, and they take over the place. When we went to the Lindos View in August there was one large wedding party which grew and grew over the course of two or three changeover days. They would go to the pool at around 7AM and claim a huge swathe of sunbeds for themselves, putting towels, lilos, shirts and the like onto the beds before disappearing again, and for much of the day several of those beds were unoccupied - they had claimed them seemingly "in case" they wanted to use them. Some days they would claim fifteen or sixteen beds but only ten people would turn up to use them, so for the rest of the day the remaining beds were unavailable for others to use them, which is frankly selfish. If anyone dared to sit near to them or in an area they had been in the day before they were glared at and snide remarks were made. Over the years this has happened more and more, and many of the couples and small family groups who previously stayed at the Lindos View seem to be staying elsewhere in Lindos now, apparently feeling pushed out by these huge parties.

Wedding parties aside, the Lindos View is a wonderful place and personally I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I go to Rhodes. In fact, whenever I stay elsewhere in Greece on other holidays I always ask myself how the place I'm in compares to the View, and so far nowhere else has come close. For me it's unbeatable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nasalhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 852 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

just returned from this beautiful hotel,the staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you it makes you feel so at home the hotel itself is spotlessly clean the gardens are so well kept we had a refurbished room it a long time since i have stayed in a room so beautiful and i could not fault it in any way,no matter where you looked it was just so lovely i could really recommend this hotel to any one it such a lovely friendly family hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter there is a bit of road noise at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed at the lindos view for a number of years now, and feel like we are going home whenever we return. I have travelled all over the world but have never found anywhere so friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the gardens are constantly tended and the setting perfect. What puts this hotel head and shoulders above the rest though is the warmth of the people. LIndos village is a treasure , with enough going on, and a variety of shops and restaurants, without the high rise/british breakfast atmosphere of so many other destinations I couldn't rate our holiday any higher. We booked for next year as soon as we returned home and I can see this being the only choice for years and years to come. I love everything about the Lindos view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in the Lindos View hotel for a week this September. The location of the hotel is excellent being about 10 minutes away from Lindos itself and about the same from the delightful beach at St Paul's bay. As previous reviewers have mentioned the hotel is spotlessly clean and extremely well maintained. All the staff were excellent being helpful and extremely friendly. The breakfasts were extremely good with the leanest bacon I have ever eaten in any European hotel. Most hotels serve up bacon that is mainly fat. The one bedroom apartment was very spacious with very good self catering equipment. The air conditioning worked extremely well. The only improvement I might suggest to the management of the hotel is a little more flexibility with breakfast choice would have been welcome. Although the cooked breakfasts were excellent, some mornings I would have wished simply a cereal followed by some toast. For some odd reason this was not possible. All in all an excellent hotel and I recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Lindos.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Returned home from Lindos View 18th September.
Travelled with a party of 22 for our wedding. Everyone in the party said what an excellent choice of accommodation. Most of us had refurbished rooms but the ones who didn't were just as happy. Rooms were kept very clean as was pool & reception areas. Food at the pool bar was a great standard and the daytime staff were very friendly and helpful. Only letdown was the nightstaff weren't quite as friendly. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willow1982-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Another visit to the Lindos View. Many of the clientele are repeat visitors to the hotel and for very good reason. A family run establishment who strive to make your stay there as enjoyable as possible. All of the staff work absolutely flat out, most every day of the holiday season. The grounds and rooms are kept absolutely spotless by the team of cleaners and 'odd-job' men, The receptionists are there to help you 24 hours a day, the kitchen staff, the bar staff and the family behind the scenes keeping things running as smoothly as possible. A lot of reviewees make a big deal about the renovated rooms. I have stayed in different rooms on my previous visits and one thing you can say about the rooms is that EVERY room is spotlessly clean with a bed, clean bedding, clean towels and a small kitchenette capable of making light snacks. The Hotel has approx 90 rooms and updates as many of the the rooms bedroom furniture and decor every season as is financially viable. The hotels rooms are contracted to TUI or Thomas Cook during the 6 month summer season and it is them who your room is booked with. Should a room with an older wardrobe affect your visit....If it does then there is something wrong, get out and explore what Rhodes has to offer. It is a beautiful Island with so much to see and do. Did I mention this is by far the best situated hotel in Rhodes overlooking the quaint old village of Lindos and the Acropolis. I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: Don't let the room selection issue affect your stay! The Hotel is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayBWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by wonderful helpful staff rooms were very nice and also very clean. Hotel and staff were also great. Only let down was the a la carte restaurant above the hotel. Any a la carte restaurant that serves chips with its meals isn't a la carte and didn't feel the food was value for money paid. But there are so many wonderful places to eat in the village and the rooftop dining is a wonderful experience with awesome food and no hastle from the locals to eat in they're restaurants makes the whole experience even better. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martstar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.7 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lindos
718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
0.4 mi away
Caesar's Gardens Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindos View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindos View

Address: Lindos - Rhodes, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#6 Family Hotel in Lindos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: $63 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lindos View 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to be a canvas upon which our guests can color their island dreams. Our outstanding, friendly service and carefully crafted luxury that guests enjoy, are elements that achieve to perfect their relaxing stay in Lindos View Hotel.The treasured memories of our guests are our priority and so we do our best to ensure that your stay is fondly etched in your mind. We aim to be a cosmopolitan hotel and a destination for seekers of unique and relaxing experiences from the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lindos View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Apartments Lindos
View Apartments Hotel Lindos
Hotel Lindos View Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing