We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly hotel - ideal for a weeks holiday !”
Review of Lindos Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindos Sun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly hotel - ideal for a weeks holiday !”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel . Arrived later in the evening and met by very friendly staff . The kitchen had closed but we were provided with sandwiches which was a nice touch . The hotel is clean and bright with a large dining room and a lovely outside terrace where you can eat and drink . There is daily maid service and towels are changed daily . The staff work very hard to provide a great service but one more person around the place would make a diffence . Perhaps because it was the end of the season the staff numbers had been reduced , I don.t know , but the staff that were there had to work very hard - one girl was waiting on in the dining room , then in the snack bar and then again in the restaurant in the evening , sometimes working on her own - always very pleasant and never complaining ! The snack bar was the same and at times you had to wait up to 30mins for a baguette and a toasted sandwich with drinks ! Don't go if it looks busy !!
At breakfast each morning the glasses cups etc were running out at regular intervals .When we asked for a glass, plate , fork etc we were told that they were being washed and would be there in a minute . this happened on every day of our stay there . Can I suggest they purchase some extras to stop this happening so regularly !I stayed in room 503 which was in a block of 4rooms set apart from the main hotel block. It was in front of the swimming pool with a great view but we felt a bit like we were in the servants quarters as did a couple of our near neighbours . It appeared to me that these were at one time some outbuildings that had been converted to rooms . We joked that we could imagine it once being a stable block and could visualise the horses heads peeking out over the doors .These rooms had no patio doors and opening and closing the wooden ones was very noisy no matter how quiet you tried to be .The hotel is quite a way out of Lindos and took a good 20-25 minutes to walk in . A taxi cost 6 euros . It would be not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. I would suggest hiring a car for a few days if you want to see more of the Island .Overall we did enjoy our stay . We met some lovely people ! I would describe this as an Aparthotel rather than a hotel . The rooms did remind me of self catering rooms that we stayed in a long time ago when our children were small minus the cooking facilities !

Room Tip: Rooms 501-503 are in a separate block from the main building but do have good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    229
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
100
409
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay even for weekend break.clean --nice stuff great value quality for money! Thank u for relaxing me even for 2 days. I appriaciate a lot your fullfilled all my requests..what a nice view and how quite it was!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have just arrived back from a week in Lindos, was invited to a wedding, so wanted somewhere to chill for the week and not too close to town, and then we found the Lindos Sun, It beat all our expectations, we read the reviews on Tripadvisor and was pleased with what we read, the pictures looked unreal, until you arrive and you realise that it is just like that!.
Steeped with Greek charm, the hotel is typically Greek, in traditional white and blue, it is clean, well presented and the staff couldn't be more charming, the hotel manager is beautiful, welcoming and should be very proud of what she has maintained, Xenia and Christina are also an asset, but to be honoust

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulmacka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Lindos Sun in early September 2013, just for a week. On arrival we were enchanted by the room, furnished in traditional, grecian blue furniture, and opened the patio window to a view of a blue, blue sea and cascades of pink bougainvillea framing the window. Beautiful.
Air conditioning was complementary and the addition of a small fridge in the room was a bonus. Rooms were cleaned every day by a very friendly cleaning lady who always had a smile on her face and went out of her way to try a few words of english.
The swimming pool was large and clean and we had no problem at all in getting a sunbed as there were more than enough to go round. Pleasant gardens surround the pool and the cascades of bougainvillea around the hotel was breathtaking.
The food was excellent. Breakfast was a feast - everything that you could possibly want was there. Cooked breakfast, greek yogurt and fruit, continental etc. You name it, they had it.
Lunch was taken at the pool bar, served by Xenia and another lady, for which nothing was too much trouble. A good selection was available every day.
The evening meals were brilliant. Plenty of choice again. Soup/salads/meat/pasta/fish - anything you could possibly need. Chef fussed around and made sure that everything was in good order and the lady maitre d' ran the front of house with smooth efficiency. Both with a ready smile.
The two main assets to this hotel were the two girls (Christina and Xenia) who ran the bar at night. Their english was excellent, both had smiles on their faces all the time and nothing was too much trouble for them. These two made this hotel the success it is as they made everyone feel welcome.
Lindos was not far away (maybe 15 minutes walk) but in 40 degree heat it could be a bit taxing but there are buses and at nightime a taxi back to the hotel was only 6 euros. Lindos is beautiful, especially St Paul's bay, with many roof top tavernas and plenty of shopping.
We returned to the UK totally relaxed and chilled and as we are attending a wedding in Lindos in July 2014 we have already booked to stay here again - we loved it so much.

Room Tip: We had a sea view which was beuatiful but there are a few bungalows around the pool with both a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lellieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassin-la-Demi-Lune, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a week of relaxation, the personal is very welcoming and efficient, the food very good and varied, we recommend it.The only problem is that the next beach (Lindos) needs a 20 mn walk under the sun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alain p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Back in the cold UK for a week now, and we still miss The Lindos Sun Hotel. We were in Lindos for a wedding at the Lindos Memories hotel, which was truly a lovely beautiful day, with the wedding on the beach. We were staying with very dear friends at the Lindos Sun, and We was so pleased with the choice of our hotel. Our room didn't have a sea view, but they offered us a room having this the following day, we kept our original room, as the view of the mountain/hills was just as nice,plus our room had a comfortable double bed, and was one of the refurbished rooms (111), The room was very bright, and cleaned every day, by our lovely cheerful cleaner. The rooms were air conditioned, and with a fridge, which was a bonus, plus plenty of hot water. The choice of food at meal times was very good, So thanks to the chef and his staff. Natashia and all the staff were extremely friendly, and nothing was to much trouble for them especially Christina and the young lady who seemed to be there all day and evening. The swimming pool was fantastic, always plenty of sun beds available. If there has to be a negative, I think the service at times at the pool cafe was a little slow so just allow for this when ordering. The walk to Lindos Town is up hill, and takes approx 25 minutes, but there is a bus stop outside the hotel, and the village is well worth the walk, lots of little shops and tavernas. We would certainly like to revisit this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I never normally visit the same hotel twice, but I had to with this hotel! Its so traditional and Greek which is rare these days as most hotels cater for the English too much with bingo and quizzes and karaoke nights...Its set about 20 minutes out of the main town of Lindos, which I think is a perfect walking distance and means the hotel is quiet with no noise from the main town. The breakfast is the same each day but there is a fantastic selection of fresh food, whether you want cereal, pastries, cooked breakfast, bread, ham and cheese, fruit, greek yoghurt... it has the whole lot! My partner and I only ate at the hotel once for our evening meal on the bbq night and this was fantastic, again a great selection of meat and salads all cook outside for you to watch which was nice. We ate in Lindos as the rooftop restaurants are breath taking and didn't want to miss out on these fantastic meals each evening. The pool bar is great and has a good selection of lunchtime snacks, ice creams and drinks and is run by 2 girls. It can get busy around 2pm as all the food is freshly made and this is a lot of work for the girls on there own so there might be a wait for your dinner! The pool bar food is charged to your room, I would recommend paying this off at reception each morning as it may come as a bit of a shock on the last day! We clocked up about 50 euro a day on food drink and ice cream! The rooms are spotless clean and very basic, but just what we needed. The maids come in every day to clean the rooms. Air conditioning is included in the price which is a god send! The pool is beautiful and kept extremely clean, as are all the gardens. This hotel is aimed at couples which means lying round the pool there are no screaming kids jumping in its the most peaceful hotel I've ever visited! I would definitely visit for a third time as I think ill find another hotel that will top this!! Thank you once again for another fantastic holiday!

Room Tip: We had 412 both times we stayed as we requested it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindos hotels
1.5 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
777 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
0.5 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lindos Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Sun Hotel

Property: Lindos Sun Hotel
Address: Psaltos Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#14 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Greek hospitality awaits you from our experienced and friendly staff who are here to make your stay with us one of your most enjoyable experiences. This elegant hotel with its Lindian traditional decor, offers its guests a high standard of service but its intimate size ensures a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lindos Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Sun Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing