We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a superb setting”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
South Yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a superb setting”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This was our first trip to Rhodes and after we had read many of the reviews on trip advisor we chose our hotel (the Lindos Mare). We had booked a junior suite and on arrival could not have been more pleased, the room was spacious, well decorated, very clean and commanded magnificent views over Vlicha bay.
The staff at the Mare are wonderful, cannot do enough for you and always greet you with a smile. The food quality was very good and always plenty of variety. Lunch at the two pool bars was also very good quality and portions were quite large so be prepared to put on a few extra pounds (I guess most people are prepared for that on holiday anyway).
The pool areas are nice and you can usually get a sunbed. The beach is worth a visit and the sunbeds/parasols here are free, the sea is crystal clear and warm and quite safe for swimming and snorkelling.
Vlicha bay is not a very busy place, just a couple of tavernas/bars and one or two supermarkets. There is a water sports centre on the beach with Jet Ski’s, banana boat, doughnuts etc. but we didn’t see many people taking part.
As has previously been said a trip into Lindos is not really a walk away, mainly because of the lack of a footpath, we did walked it once and it took about 35 minutes but it certainly wouldn’t be safe to do at night because of the traffic. Getting around is easy (even without a car) as public transport runs to all the main places. We went into Rhodes town on the bus and it was very easy.
This hotel is easily a 4 star; we would not hesitate to recommend it to friends or family and would definitely return again.
Hope this short review helps.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    193
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
313
844
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This is certainly the best hotel we have stayed in would certainly give 100% recommendation to any one considering a stay. The hotel was impeccably clean with polite considerate staff nothing was ever too much trouble. There was a large variety of food available at both breakfast & dinner which was obviously prepared with care & attention. The only minor negative was that both alcoholic & soft drinks were very expensive. We got married whilst in Lindos - the hotel only found out on the day of the wedding but when we returned we found they had decorated our room, provided champagne and fruit, brought us breakfast in bed the following morning and gave us a wedding present! We felt so very special! We would definately stay there again without any hesitation. What a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkHamiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This hotel is one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. The hotel is built on a hillside with split levels (not for the disabled or infirm though). Our room was on a high floor, a junior suite overlooking the sea, and what views they were of the bay below. The decor was modern, refreshing and very clean (definately 4 star + standards). Showering whilst looking out to sea was something very different..
Their are 2 pools, a large one and a smaller one on the level below. We spent most of our time on the top one as the pool was great to swim in. Both are lovely. Sunbeds are of good quality, wooden / cushioned with nice big parasols, also people do not seem to rush to reserve beds early in a morning, however they did fill up by 9.30am-10am. There is a beach below of which you can use the parsols / beds free (as part of hotel), we spent allot of time down here as the breeze was nice from the sea. A waiter is on hand to supply you drinks from the pool bar if you do not wish to get up. However 200 yds down the beach there is a supermarket where you can purchase water for under a euro (3 euros a bottle at the hotel). Entertainment is good every other night, Abba/Beatles/Supremes, and you can particpate or just sit back and watch with no pressure. We were on a b & b basis only and breakfast was of a good selection. The only downside for us been on this basis was it was not walking distance to Lindos village, you really needed a taxi and are paying (8 euro one way / 5 to return). This can add up over a week. However we had a car so this was not a major issue for us. Lindos village has some great roof top restaurants / bars, venture away from the hotel as it is worth it even if just for one night. To sum up our holiday and the Lindos Mare, fantastic you will not be disappointed if you book here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda7Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We have just returned from the Lindos Mare where we stayed for 2 weeks in June and had our wedding there. What can i say we had the most amazing time and our wedding exceeded my expectations and this was all down to Efi the wedding coordinator at the hotel. I booked my holiday through Thomas Cook but arranged my wedding direct with Efi at the hotel it was a year in the planning and i have had fantastic service all of the way through i would recommend anyone to do it direct. I had my hair and makeup done on the day, Bev the hairdresser made my hair look fantastic and Anna did a fantastic job with mine and my bridesmaids makeup. The day was a success from the start we had a lovely Mercedes take us to St Paul's Bay where we had our wedding service we had musicians walk me down to the chapel they were fantastic. The reception room at the hotel looked beautiful we had it in the cocktail veranda with the breathtaking views of the bay. We chose the Greek menu which was four course and the best food ever 3 tier wedding cake and wonderful service. The photographer and DVD man were also fantastic made us all feel very relaxed and our photos are amazing. I would recommend that you have the DVD as well as photos. We had a party of 47 join us for our wedding and every single person said that it exceeded all of there expectations and we are all very sad that it is over. If you want to get married abroad and you want a beautiful place to get married do not hesitate to book this hotel and let Efi give you a wedding of your dreams. We had a Junior suite room with a very big balcony sea view and a view of the whole of the bay the rooms are fantastic everything is clean all of the staff are helpful and friendly, especially our friends in the bar Manolis & Jana. Get well Michaelos!!! Mick & Nat Harris Evesham.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnhevesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex girl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My husband and I went to Lindos between 3rd and 16th June 2010, we stayed at the Lindos Mare hotel. What can i say , it was wonderful. Our room was spacious , clean and the view was to die for. We were in room 3033 just could not fault it. the hotel overall was brilliant. the staff could not do enough for you. We only had breakfast twice during our stay, not because there was anything wrong with it , its just because we would rather eat later in the day, therefore we swapped most days for the lunch which was lovely and the staff were again fantastic, they took the trouble to get to know you and always had a smile for you. One evening we swapped the breakfast towards the Al La Carte evening meal, i can honestly say it was lovely could not fault it in any way. That all being said it now brings me onto the reception bar and Manolis who actually made us laugh every eveing with his good sense of humour and friendliness. He made the best cocktails (better than Stavros downstairs) and kept all of us young and old entertained. We came across a few people who had returned to the hotel year after year, which must say it all really. We cabbed into lindos most nights after our pre dinner drinks in the bar, and the resturants were very good, one of the best we found was on the taxi square near the manilis bar. Its the one with the veranda overlooking the square with one table out there which we went to twice, the food was excellant as was our waiter "Olly" we had read previously that after the meal they give you hot doughnuts with almonds and honey sauce with ice cream, these were to die for. i had the chicken past on both occasions just becasue it was so tasty , the 1st time my husband had the veal, which he said was excellant, the 2nd time he had the mustart pork, which he said was the best he had ever tasted, praise in deed you must try this resturant and it was very reasnoable too. We also ate at Stephanies , we sat up stairs on the terrace and again the food was very good and served very well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeypusspuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Well what i can i say.....
We arrived at the Lindos Mare on 02 June 2010 as we were attending a family wedding in the vicinity (not the hotel). We were shown to the reception and checked in with minimal fuss by the kind and couteous receptionists. We were then guided towards our rooms which just so happened to be at the very bottom of a very steep hill on which the hotel is based.

We were told before booking that the hotel had underwent a fully refurb of all rooms, well let me assure you that is not the case with the rooms at the bottom of the hill. Upon entering the room we found there to be two single beds (not the double we reqested) the bathroom was very basic as was the rest of the room, if it had not been for the pictures in the brochure i would not have been too upset but be warned these rooms do not look anything like the brochure. Saying this the rooms were clean and had a lovely sea view which we had requested. We went to reception to talk about the rooms and they offered to let us change but only in 3 days time. (We were compensated by a greek night ticket each more on that later!!!!!!!)

With regards to the food on offer at the hotel, this is where i had my main gripes. On the half board option you have the option of breakfast and luch up to the value of 12 euros or breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was ok with a range of continental style dishes and cooked breakfasts although they did not seem to grab the concept of poached eggs which have not been overcooked. Lunch which was avaliable via the a la carte reasturant with stunning views over the bay, sadly the food did not live up to the location. Just a warning do not have the calamari which is quite simply awful, frozen which you would not expect of in greece!!!!!!! As for dinner well this was held in the rather stuffy reaturant area where men must wear trousers (also not stated in the brochure) The dinner is ok for the first time you visit but gets rather tedious after that.

The Greek night which i made reference to earlier was priced at 26 euros per person for this you to eat at the a la carte restaurant. The starters do not vary from the normal dinner and the mains is avaliable via a buffet for which you have to queue for anything up to 15 minutes. When you get to the buffet there is a rather lame excuse for greek food cold feta parsels, the dreaded calamari (cold) and kebab (if the cook has bothered to cook this in time or learnt how to carve the doner from the skewer). Luckily we got this for free otherwise i would have been asking for my money back!!!!

The pools and beach cant be faulted although i would say that the location was not great and meant that cabs were a must to reach anywhere of note mainly Lindos. Another point which grated was the price of everything in Greece. A beer was priced at around 5 euros which is quite steep for a hotel with cocktails costing 7 euros, cabs seemed to make up the price as they went along.

All in all i would say i still enjoyed my time but i would not recommend this hotel as it is not a 4 star as it is billed(3 star in my opinion) i have stayed at resorts far nicer and better quality and mainly in turkey which i feel is far better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRumbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed in the Lindos Mare for a week at the beginning of June. There were 18 of us who stayed here and the hotel staff could not do enough for us. Myself and my partner got married here and Efi is just amazing. Anything you want for your day, she ensures you get! She makes it so easy and takes all the stress and worry away from you! We got married at St Pauls Bay and then back to the hotel for the reception where Savas and his staff were fantastic throughout and ensured our guests wine was always topped up and anything we needed, we had. The Food was fantastic on the day and so many guests commented on this! If you are planning to get married in Lindos, ensure you use Efi and the Lindos Mare, you will not be disappointed!
With regards to the stay at the hotel, the food was nice, breakfast was varied and lunch was served at the a la carte restaurant and this was reasonably priced and lovely. For Dinner again there was a variety plus lovely desserts!! The drinks here are expensive, but there are some tavernas down on the beach which are slightly cheaper plus Lindos is 5 mins away and has lots of beautiful roof top tavernas and restaurants!
The staff at the hotel are great, always smiling and nothing is ever too much trouble! The views are amazing. The hotel does have quite a few steps so this should be considered although there are lifts everywhere!
All in all, we had a fantastic stay and an even better wedding which Efi and the staff at Lindos Mare should be proud of!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,232 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
16.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,587 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
401 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare: relaxing, elegant & welcoming Built into hillside terraces with panoramic views over beautiful Vlicha Bay, just 2.5 kilometres from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the hotel to the beach. Undoubtedly one of Rhodes’ most treasured retreats, the elegant Lindos Mare is a place to unwind to the slow rhythm of island life. Recent renovations to all areas, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. It’s no wonder that many guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing