We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Lindos Mare gave us everything we needed for a restful holiday in a beautiful setting. The hotel and staff are a credit to the Management. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the staff are immaculate in both manners and dress; they are all deeply committed to what they do and to making their guests feel special. The location of the hotel in the next bay to Lindos which is just a short bus/taxi ride away. The food was amazing and certainly ranks among the best we have ever had on our travels. We booked a suite (514) and it was beautifully furnished; even though it was on a lower level, we still had an amazing view. Entertainment was good, especially the "Drifters" and the Greek Dancing on Tuesday night was brilliant with the staff doing their bit to make a great show for their guests. As we prefer to have restful holidays, the amount of entertainment was just right and suited this standard of hotel. Please do not change anything. We hope to return in the future. Thanks Lindos Mare for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brightspark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear “brightspark24”,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on this website.

I was delighted to learn that our team were able to provide such a warm welcome to Lindos Mare Hotel, and that you enjoyed in overall your holidays with us. I was also glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the food selections served in our restaurants.

We thank you for your positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel, the location and our entertainment. Here in Lindos Mare, we endeavor to ensure all our guests’ experiences are as comfortable as possible and I am delighted that you experienced this from our staff.

I do hope that in the near future, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel, for another fabulous experience.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    190
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
299
830
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Superb hotel, clean good sized well equipped room with beautiful views, Friendly staff with a special mention to 'Spiderman' in the main restaurant who made us laugh & Victoria in the pool bar with her lovely smile. Fantastic food, lovely beach with waiter service. We can’t wait to go back ‘Thankyou Lindos Mare’ for a great holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mersha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear “mersha”

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website.

We are delighted that you selected Lindos Mare for your stay in Rhodes and so pleased that you found the service and hospitality to your liking. The team work so hard to deliver high standards of Greek hospitality and it is so rewarding for them when they are recognised and appreciated for this.

I do hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lindos Mare, for another thoroughly enjoyable visit.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel was exceptionally special for us and an enormous effort was made by all the hotel staff to see that everyone was made to feel extremely welcome and also well looked after. From the decor and cleanliness of our room,The air conditioning, the hotel grounds, exceptional quality and variety of food available, it was wonderful.

A fridge and safe were available in the bedroom and were useful In addition sun loungers and shades were provided on the beach and free to hotel residents.

The view from our sea-view room and many of the hotel areas was breath-taking and beautiful.The hotel staff worked exceptionally hard but always had a smile and were very friendly and polite.

We had no problem getting a lounger by the sea or near the pool. Very hot for us to adventure too far so we relaxed most days on the beach or by the pool and the odd trip to Lindos in the morning or evenings. The 4 lifts available were very useful for travelling in from floor to floor in the heat and it is worth asking where they are if you need them.

Entertainment was on approx 3 times a week and the acts were very good One act in particular, The Drifters tribute, we felt were fabulous and as we were there for two weeks saw then twice.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - it was perfect for us and if we go to Rhodes again we would go back there.

Room Tip: A sea view room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adventuror4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear “Adventuror”,

It is always a pleasure to read your review and I am happy that you enjoyed your holidays here in Lindos Mare.

Thank you for your comments concerning our hotel entertainment, the location and the beach facilities. I was pleased that you found the room decoration, cleanliness, and room facilities were to your preference.

Your kind notes regarding our staff are most welcome. I was delighted that they were able to display their professionalism and helpfulness during your stay. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed also the good taste, as well as our variety of food selections we serve in our restaurant.

Thank you very much for selecting Lindos Mare for your stay in Rhodes. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in Room 213 from 9th July to 16th July 2014. The Hotel was lovely and very clean. The staff cannot be praised enough they were very friendly and helpful and were always on hand to offer any help that you required. Our room with a Sea View was excellent and very clean and spacious. Any thing we required we only had to ask. I would recommend this hotel and would go there again.

Gary and Amanda

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear “Amanda r”,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us on this website.

I was delighted to learn that your experience with us was so memorable, and that it was our friendly and helpful team that really made the difference. All our team members in the hotel work hard to ensure our guests’ expectations are exceeded on every stay, and I am so pleased that they were able to do just that for you.

I do hope that in the near future, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lindos Mare, for another outstanding experience.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We visited the Lindos Mare for the 5th time this year for two weeks 25th June to 9th July. We can say yet again that it was a fabulous holiday and this is really made so by all the wonderful staff at the Hotel. The room had a spectacular view and was ‘A’ star clean, the food was great with lots of choice both for breakfast and for evening diner, the pools and garden areas are great, we could always get a sun bed and we loved the cocktails designed for us by Vaggelis in the Vergina bar. One evening we swapped our normal dinner for the voucher towards the Pelagos A La Carte restaurant and we had amazing food, wine and service, definately worth the treat! We chatted to other couples who we recognized from previous visits and met new people who have been back to this Hotel many times for the great place it is. Above all though it is the staff-every single one of them, that is the Heart and Soul of this place and make it so special. We will be back most definitely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandJG206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear “SandJG206”,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website following your recent stay.

I was pleased that you had another enjoyable experience on your recent stay in our hotel. We thank you for highlighting many details during your holidays, such as the cocktails in our Vergina Lounge bar and also the dinner experience you had in our Pelagos A la Carte restaurant. It is also pleasing that our hotel facilities such as the guestrooms, the food selections and our excellent service have met your expectations.

We endeavor to ensure all our guests’ experiences are as comfortable as possible and I am delighted that you experienced this from our staff.

Thank you for always selecting Lindos Mare for your stay in Rhodes. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel offered excellent all around amazing service (Stefano), delicious meals with their bountiful buffet, beautiful comfortable rooms, great pools and beachfront with full service. There was nothing we could need nor want that was not provided for. Great for adults and children too!

Room Tip: View of the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear “Candie G”,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on this website and thank you for selecting Lindos Mare for your stay in Rhodes.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and our facilities and service have met your expectation.

We continually aim to deliver high standards of Greek hospitality to delight our guests and I am very pleased that you experienced this from the team. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our first time to Greece / Rhodes. We'd used TA to help find this hotel and booked directly (many other UK guests seemed to be with Thomson, which we'd not considered). We'd got a junior suite on the upper levels. Guests were a real mix from across Europe - Brits, Germans, East Europeans, etc.

Overall we were very impressed. We went second week of July so just before peak season. The hotel felt fullish but there was always space on the beach or by the pool.

As others have noted, the staff are all very friendly.This runs from the waiters/waitresses through maids and to the management. English is spoken by all. We asked for extra pillows - got them. The shower-screen slightly broke - it got fixed. Nothing ever seemed too much of a problem.

Highlights - amazing view of the bay. Wonderful food (almost too much in the buffet style main dining). Sunshine. A chilled relaxed feeling.

Downsides - hard to be picky. Getting a table outside for dinner was hit & miss. I think we managed 2 nights out of 5 in the main restaurant (buffet style). Eating inside was a little more cafeteria-like - i.e. lacked any intimacy for a couple. But, again, food really good quality, and every night something new.

There are three main hot meals that can be waiter-served, or just stick to the hot/cold buffet, which is just as good. Wine choice was a little limited, but look out for the excellent Moschofilero Boutari (white).

The view from our balcony (room 133, but same for 132-136) is initially over the gravel covering the roof of the room below, rather than straight to the view/bay. Minor quibbles.

The hotel is on a hillside. It's possible to walk from top to bottom using a series of flights of stairs. There also a number of lifts/elevators from level to level, and we used those too. Very accessible. Walking off dinner or lunch up the 100 steps back to our room felt the healthy option, although we did use lifts from time to time.

The Lindos Blu is the sister hotel right next door. One night we booked (through the Mare reception, and one of the Mare staff escorted through to the Blu's reception) for the gourmet restaurant for dinner, also enjoying pre-dinner cocktails. We had considered staying at the Blu (couples only, I think) but thought it a bit pricey. The quality is two or three notches higher than the Mare and quite probably worth the extra cost. But, it's the same view, same sunshine, and the two hotels share the same beach. I think bar prices were also the same. If we return to Rhodes we might well consider the Blu instead, but could equally see us going back to the Mare (although generally we don't return to the same venues).

The Mare has some feature nights in the a la carte restaurant, which is fully outdoor situated on the pool level. We saw a Motown tribute from the adjoining pool bar one night, and a Greek music/dancing night.

Because we booked directly we needed to arrange the airport transfer with the hotel. All taxis seem to be black Mercs. The standard fee is €75 paid in cash to the driver. A taxi taken from the airport would be €65, but at least we knew our car would be there. The drive is around 50 mins. We failed to eek out our Euros properly, so needed to have the driver on the return leg detour to find an ATM. These are not that frequent, so plan ahead if independently travelling.

The Mare is located 2 miles north of the town of Lindos. The walk is along a busy road (think UK A road), with no pavement. I wouldn't want to do it (plus it's too hot to walk in July). Taxi into town is €8 each way, or time the bus for just €1.50. A very nice little town and worth a half-day explore and walk. We had a wonderful lunch at Maria's Taverner. Seek it out! Excellent fresh food.

Rhodes town is 50km to the north. A taxi would be €70 each way. We took the bus for €5 each, each way. Takes 70 mins or so. The trip back was a bit of a scrum on boarding to get a seat. However, buses are clean, air-con, on time, and seemingly well driven, with polite drivers. Can't ask for more. The hotel reception has the bus timetable. Seems to run every 30/60 minutes daytime. Near where the bus terminates in Rhodes is a Visitor Centre where the agent helped direct us to Nireas, a fish restaurant, and we were not disappointed for a late lunch. We stayed in the old town, exploring the castle, a church, a mosque, and back streets and history.

A side trip another day was to the island if Symi. The Thomson rep said she could arrange it door-to-door even though we weren't travelling with them. Instead we opted for independent. That meant the 6.45am bus to Rhodes, arriving 8.10am, then a long-ish walk around to the main commercial port for the Dodecanese ferry, at €20 each. The ferry leaves at 9.30am. It arrives at a the Symi monastery of Panomitis around 10.45am for an hour, then sails on to Symi's main town for 12.30pm. The ferry departs 4.30pm and back to Rhodes for 6.10pm, so plenty of time for a seafood lunch and amble around the town. Very very pretty, with the usual tourist type shopping but no hard sell, as far as we can tell. Departing the ferry, we turned right and walked around the quieter part of the habour, finding the Odyessia restaurant for lunch. Very nice.

Not a fault of the Mare whatsoever, but waiting for the return bus in Rhodes after our Symi trip we got ripped off for drinks in a café/bar. A HUGE shame that places still scam tourists.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiovanniMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanasis T, General Manager at Lindos Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear “GiovanniMondo“,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent holiday at Lindos Mare.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many of details during your stay, such as the view, the A La carte restaurant and the hotel location. Thank you for highlighting to other readers that you enjoyed the Tribute music night and the Greek night organized during your stay.

Your description of your time with us was such a pleasure to read, and it genuinely fills me with pride to read about the memorable experience our team was able to create for you.

Thank you once again for your time. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lindos Mare in the near future.

Best regards,

Thanasis Tougounzoglou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#2 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare is a boutique hotel built on many different levels on a sun-kissed hillside with panoramic views of beautiful Vliha Bay, only 2,5 kilometers from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the complex to the beach front. The recent renovations combined with the existing impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of discrete luxury and tranquillity resulting in the perfect leisurely holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing