We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great staff and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great staff and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful two weeks at the Mare in July.
The location is stunning, make sure you book a sea view as it is well worth it.
The hotel is on many levels built into the hillside.
The two restaurants are very good, the main restaurant caters for breakfast and dinner.
The breakfast has everything you could possibly want and is a buffet.
Dinner has a wide ranging buffet for hot and cold food. You can have this for all courses, but there are three choices each day which are served to your table. Wines are almost exclusively from Rhodes, but they are very good in the main.
The staff cannot do enough for you. They are without doubt the most friendly helpful staff I have come across in a hotel for a long time.
The hotel is spotless and there is a relaxing ambience.
The al a carte restaurant is very good and the portions are huge. so be aware if ordering starters!
There is a Greek night each week alternating between seafood and meat specialities. Both were very good although the entertainment was the same for both nights and some variety would have been welcomed.
Other entertainment was tribute acts, of which the Beatles were very good. They played their instruments rather than sing karaoke style.

The rooms are a good size although it is strange to have a window from bedroom into the bathroom. There is a blind to close this off.

There are 2 pools and the hotel has part of the beach which is only a few yards away. This ensures plenty of sunbeds even when the hotel was full.
If I had one gripe it is that the price of drinks is on the high side. 4 euros for a 40cl lager.
However this did not spoil our holiday in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanSmith57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    190
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
294
816
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The sea, the beach and the views more than compensate for a few shortcomings. Here are the main points:
The sea is absolutely clean, and most of the time very quiet. The seabed goes down very slowly, so it is ideal for children or non-swimmers. In front of the hotel the beach is sandy – not golden sand, rather a bit on the dark side . My wife did not need the plastic shoes she had bought for this vacation, except when she went on a walk along the beach to the other side of the bay.
Thanks to the structure of the hotel which is built like a nest into the rocks of this hill you enjoy a beautiful view of the bay below and the landscape beyond. There is nothing nicer than to take a drink at the terrace bar next to the reception watching the sun disappear behind the nearby mountains. As a result of the architecture of the hotel there are many steps going down to the beach, but with the help of three elevators and one cable-car people like me who have difficulties climbing stairs there was no problem going up to the rooms or to the reception.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. During the high-season from mid-June to mid-September the Greek employees are re-enforced by trainees from Slovakia, and all speak very well English, working together very harmoniously.
Food and drinks are served on different levels: two very attentive beach attendants also serve you food and drinks on the beach. The Meltemi restaurants just above the beach offers light dishes for lunch. The main restaurant offers a choice of three main courses and a very large buffet with salads, first courses and desserts. The à-la-carte restaurant next to the main pool enjoys a beautiful view but might improve a bit on the quality of the food or better its preparation.
The Spa offers very good massages, though a bit on the expensive side. The only negative impression was that the steam bath and the sauna are not heated , you have to inform them in advance if you want to make use of it. I think during high-season at least these services should be made available even without pre-advice.
Overall impression: a very well managed hotel at an enviable location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaRenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We returned from two weeks at the Lindos Mare earlier this week. It is an absolutely wonderful holiday hotel - the best our family has ever stayed at. The service throughout the fortnight was impeccable and the staff are the best of any hotel I have ever experienced - professional and charming. The beach is beautiful - with clear blue waters. The main restaurant serves a delicious and huge choice for breakfast & dinner. All the other facilities, two pools, spa, a la carte restaurants and bars are equally excellent. The room was perfect. comfortable, spacious, a great shower, a lovely terrace with great views. Excellent air con - which was essential in August. We will definitely return to this lovely hotel. One warning - the temperature in Lindos is always 5 - 7 degrees hotter than the rest of Rhodes, because it is surrounded by rocky hills which capture and retain the heat. We expected 31 degrees but it was generally 37 degrees. We didn't mind - just take it easy and stay close to water.

Room Tip: We were allocated rooms 506 and 507 which are at the lowest level close to the second smaller pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabbiRizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my family and the food and facilities were great. However, Wifi connection was rather poor and frustrating. Otherwise, all the staff was very professional and all the staff restaurant was always helpful and very kind to every one. Will definitely recommend this hotel to families with young children. The playground should be protected from the sun heat as it is unpracticable during summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 243NoraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from our 2 week honeymoon at the Lindos Mare. The hotel is fantastic, the staff cannot do enough for you and the food is delicious! We haven't been to Rhodes before but we have stayed at lots of other Greek Islands and this is our new fave. From past experiences, Greek hotels and appartments can be very basic, but there was nothing basic about this place. The hotel has easy access to a fab beach, tavernas, supermarket and obviously the facilities in the hotel e.g. pool, bars, restaurants, spa. With previous holidays, we usually to go into town and find nice little tavernas to eat at, but we did this once because the food was so lovely at the buffet and a la carte restaurant. Gentlemen take note...you will need long trousers to dine at night time. We were not aware of this when packing, so the 2 pairs of jeans my husband took got some serious wear! Other than that little hiccup, we had an amazing honeymoon and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suite, the bathroom is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jungle_Boogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at The Lindos Mare hotel and WOW what can we say, a great time had by all. The hotel is in a great location, kept very clean and all the friendly, helpful staff work tirelessly to meet your every need. The hotel is on different levels which does mean lots of steps but you know that when you book it. There are lifts to use but we choose to use the steps and told ourselves we could then have an extra dessert with our evening meal! Reception is at the top with a lovely bar and terrace to sit and look out over the bay, whilst enjoying a cocktail. The main restaurant is half way down the hotel, along with the main pool and pool bar, with another pool and bar at the bottom level leading out to the beach. Sunbeds on the beach are free of charge and there is waiter service from the hotel, for food and drinks.
The food for breakfast, lunch and evening meal was of high standard and there was always so much to choose from. We were on half board basis but like to eat out occasionally, so swapped our evening meal for lunch and ventured into Lindos. Taxi fares are 8 euros there and 6 euros back [2 euro call out charge is the difference].
Beach/pool towels are supplied free of charge, so no need to take your own. Men have to wear long trousers to the evening meal, which we thought added a touch of class to the hotel. We used the tennis court which cost 10 euros total, to hire the court and rackets/balls for 1 hour, great fun.
It's a must to go into Lindos town, stunning and take a walk up to see the Acropolis. We went into Rhodes town on the local bus which picked us up outside the hotel and this also is a great place to visit.
If you can, book a room with a sea view, as the view over the bay is wonderful to wake up to every morning. All rooms have a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.
It was sad leaving this wonderful hotel and it's staff behind, we would definitely return. A big thanks to Michalis and his wonderful staff team.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view in the middle of hotel setting. We had room 210 and it was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevcar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Lindos Mare in June 2013 after a lovely start to our holiday in a taxi transfer we arrived at the Lindos Mare. We did request a high room which they did advise us we could have the following day and offered us an upgrade for the first night. We decided against this as really didn't want to have to move rooms again the following day. They showed us to a room on the second floor but made it quite clear if we were not happy with it they would move us. To be honest the room was lovely with the most fantastic views over the sea, you could even see the sea from the bathroom! We were very happy with our room.
The hotel is so luxurious we never ever had a problem getting a sunbed no matter what time of day we went around the pool.
The food was amazing and we got a table on the terrace every morning and evening.
We ate at the BBQ and the Fish night and again the food was fabulous and the entertainment amazing. The staff are truly the best staff I have ever come across in a Hotel they are so professional and work so hard along with being extremely friendly.
The entertainment in the hotel was really good they have this about 3 times a week so on the other evenings we got a taxi into Lindos which was great and it was nice to do both.
When we arrived there was a Lindos Rock Festival on which made Lindos very busy the first few days however the people who came for this left after about 5 days into our holiday which made Lindos quieter it was nice to have the mix but think I preferred it when it was quieter.
We had a fantastic holiday and will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare is a boutique hotel built on many different levels on a sun-kissed hillside with panoramic views of beautiful Vliha Bay, only 2,5 kilometers from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the complex to the beach front. The recent renovations combined with the existing impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of discrete luxury and tranquillity resulting in the perfect leisurely holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing