We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool Hotel with amazing view over vlicha bay”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel the last week of august and it completely lived up to our expectations. We booked a suite with our 2 children and we were given an incredible 2 rooms, huge terrace overlooking vlicha bay and a very nice bathroom. Décor is modern chic with lavender, lime and cream colours. The Hotel has a very nice spa with excellent staff and reasonable prices. The swimming pool is very big but the beach is so lovely that we hardly used the main and the other small pool.
The Mare together with Lindos Blu (for couples only-no kids) have a reserved area on vlicha bay which is actually in the nicest part of the bay with rather fine sand, whereas at the opposite end it's just pebbles. There are 3 restaurants: breakfast and dinner are served in the main restaurant which to our disappointment was an indoor restaurant with rather cold air conditioning, and even though food was very good with an amazing choice it was a bit of a shame not being able to sit outside. For lunch the pool restaurant served really good dishes, international and of course impeccably executed greek specialities. We never tried the pool snack bar. If you have kids expect very little entertainment for them in terms of miniclubs, there was only a very young girl who offered to take our children to a dedicated area with drawing and colouring activities. In the evening there were some shows, possibly 3 in a week and they were quite good. Reception and suites are at the right top of the hill while a funicular and various lifts take you down to the restaurants and finally the beach. Do not go for this Hotel if you have very young children or have walking difficulties as there is a lot of walking up and down the stairs to do. Dont miss the nearby Lindos Town with its amazing Acropolis (taxis are very cheap €6 to 8) definitely worth a visit.
Overall it was a beautiful experience and we would no doubt recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marilena-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 766 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

This 4 star resort is set on the side of a hill about 4 km outside of Lindos. The scenerary and view from our room was incredible, the balcony massive. Our room was also modern and clean.
The pool is very big and you are a steep but short walk to the beach. The walk to town is easy and there is an option to catch a bus every hour.
The service was a bit mixed, some of the staff were very friendly including the manager, but some of the staff were aloof and snobby. Breakfast buffet was included and was very generous, however the dinner buffet was 20 Euro pp plus drinks, and everything else cost to use, including the air hockey, billiards table, tennis court. Laundry was by the item not bag.
Only the table tennis and entertainment from the 3 cats were free, the latter making up for attempts to grab some extra money from you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirkyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked Thomson A la Carte trip for last week in October on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Yes it was end of season & weather variable but that was to be expected & did not detract from the high standard of the service and quality of the hotel. My major concern on booking was ease of access to all parts of the hotel & beach due to walking difficulties but the lift system throughout the main block and again to the lower pool level was excellent. Worth going purely for the funicular down from reception to the main pool level

The sea view rooms on level I were superb.

The service, quality and general friendliness of Stavros and his team in the Main Restaurant was the icing on the cake - and what pastries there are on offer - take stretch clothes!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allanr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Made a last minute booking via Holiday Hypermarket only 10 days before we went there in mid October. Pleasantly surprised to find we had a room with a seaview and a taxi transfer included in the price. Although the hotel is built into a hill with reception at the top, it is soon easy to learn to navigate around the three bars, two swimming pools, spa and two restaurants. From the moment we arrived we received 1st class service from every member of staff who were friendly, polite and efficient. Excellent choice of food for breakfast and dinner. It was my wife's birthday during our stay and when we returned to our room in the evening there was a bottle of bubblywaiting on ice and a basket of fruit!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonbridgebrian210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Reading the other reviews of this hotel, it looks as though this hotel has the winning recipe for a great holiday. And I agree! My son and I were there during October and we had no storm clouds as is usual at that time, I swam every day in the warm sea. The hotel a lovely light and flowing space which on every level gives you the opportunity to take in and experience the beautiful view and colours, I have never experienced such a blue. The 2 lifts help you around the hotel from reception down to the beach which is sandy and clean. The staff absolutely are the cherry on the top, everyone we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful and always with a smile. I shared a Jnr Suite with my son which gave us plenty of space, the rooms are contemporary, ours was pale orange a good colour with a feel good factor. A balcony which although on the side of the hotel gave a good view of Vilha Bay 126. and Lindos Blu next door. Lively interesting Lindos village is 2.5km from the hotel to which if you don't feel like walking, reception will call a taxi, we didn't catch the local bus. Here there is the Acropolis, lots of retail therapy, St. Pauls Bay, the Main beach with its glass bottom boat. We took advantage of a day trip to Marmaris, Turkey, via ferry, very colourful, beautiful. Car hire is easy from the hotel which I would take advantage of next time as there is plenty to see on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Once again we have had a wonderful holiday guided by Trip Advisor reviewers. Not only were we able to find out lots of interesting details about the hotel and Lindos town, we were also guided as to which group of rooms to select from. The hotel was excellent. The rooms are refurbished and very comfortable. The beach is easily accessible and during October the sea was warm.
The two best features of the hotel are the very friendly, helpful staff and the quality of the food. One week was not enough. This is our only regret.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent. It is definitely worth booking a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewcastleAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from mid sept to beginning of October. We flew to Rhodes for our wedding and so wanted the best. We were not disappointed. We travelled as two adults and 3 young children- two of which are twins and have a side by side double buggy, this was our only major issue. Because the hotel is built into a hill, it has many levels and lifts to get you around. Our double buggy, however did not fit in many of the lifts so we had to carry it up and down the stairs, it kept us fit, but in the heat and with an older child to consider, it was a pain!

Our room was 3204, one of the junior suits and we were bowled over, it was beautiful! Our twins had an accident with the step on the first day as the room was split level but they soon learnt it was there and after that it was fine. The rron was clean, light, cool and big. We had 2 travel cots put in for us with room to spare.

Our views were magnificent!! The pools were lovely, the park could do with modernising a bit and being made a vit safer aroubd the steps as there isn't much there but we had plenty of other things to do.

Lindos is a gorgeous place to see and we paid 6-8 euros a time for a taxi so bot bad at all, there is a bus but we found taxis easier and more comfortable with the children. We all ate very well, the range was brilliant and the restaurant staff made our stay easier by placing our high chairs in the same place every meal time.

Overall our wedding and holiday were amazing and we will definitely return but perhaps when we no longer need a buggy!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_Samantha_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,359 reviews
16.1 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lindos
718 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: $132 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare: relaxing, elegant & welcoming Built into hillside terraces with panoramic views over beautiful Vlicha Bay, just 2.5 kilometres from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the hotel to the beach. Undoubtedly one of Rhodes’ most treasured retreats, the elegant Lindos Mare is a place to unwind to the slow rhythm of island life. Recent renovations to all areas, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. It’s no wonder that many guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing