We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Reading the other reviews of this hotel, it looks as though this hotel has the winning recipe for a great holiday. And I agree! My son and I were there during October and we had no storm clouds as is usual at that time, I swam every day in the warm sea. The hotel a lovely light and flowing space which on every level gives you the opportunity to take in and experience the beautiful view and colours, I have never experienced such a blue. The 2 lifts help you around the hotel from reception down to the beach which is sandy and clean. The staff absolutely are the cherry on the top, everyone we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful and always with a smile. I shared a Jnr Suite with my son which gave us plenty of space, the rooms are contemporary, ours was pale orange a good colour with a feel good factor. A balcony which although on the side of the hotel gave a good view of Vilha Bay 126. and Lindos Blu next door. Lively interesting Lindos village is 2.5km from the hotel to which if you don't feel like walking, reception will call a taxi, we didn't catch the local bus. Here there is the Acropolis, lots of retail therapy, St. Pauls Bay, the Main beach with its glass bottom boat. We took advantage of a day trip to Marmaris, Turkey, via ferry, very colourful, beautiful. Car hire is easy from the hotel which I would take advantage of next time as there is plenty to see on the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    193
    29
    14
    2
See reviews for
313
844
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Once again we have had a wonderful holiday guided by Trip Advisor reviewers. Not only were we able to find out lots of interesting details about the hotel and Lindos town, we were also guided as to which group of rooms to select from. The hotel was excellent. The rooms are refurbished and very comfortable. The beach is easily accessible and during October the sea was warm.
The two best features of the hotel are the very friendly, helpful staff and the quality of the food. One week was not enough. This is our only regret.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were excellent. It is definitely worth booking a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from mid sept to beginning of October. We flew to Rhodes for our wedding and so wanted the best. We were not disappointed. We travelled as two adults and 3 young children- two of which are twins and have a side by side double buggy, this was our only major issue. Because the hotel is built into a hill, it has many levels and lifts to get you around. Our double buggy, however did not fit in many of the lifts so we had to carry it up and down the stairs, it kept us fit, but in the heat and with an older child to consider, it was a pain!

Our room was 3204, one of the junior suits and we were bowled over, it was beautiful! Our twins had an accident with the step on the first day as the room was split level but they soon learnt it was there and after that it was fine. The rron was clean, light, cool and big. We had 2 travel cots put in for us with room to spare.

Our views were magnificent!! The pools were lovely, the park could do with modernising a bit and being made a vit safer aroubd the steps as there isn't much there but we had plenty of other things to do.

Lindos is a gorgeous place to see and we paid 6-8 euros a time for a taxi so bot bad at all, there is a bus but we found taxis easier and more comfortable with the children. We all ate very well, the range was brilliant and the restaurant staff made our stay easier by placing our high chairs in the same place every meal time.

Overall our wedding and holiday were amazing and we will definitely return but perhaps when we no longer need a buggy!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Samantha_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

we have just returned from a 10 night stay at the lindos mare.we booked directly with the hotel and used thomas cook for the flights from manchester and this saved us over 400 pounds on the price quoted by thomson.the hotel is brilliant we stayed in a junior suite in room 135 which had the best views over vilchafrom the balcony.but what really makes this hotel special is the staff. from the cleaners to management they are of the highest calibre a special mention must go to the restaurant staff who are first class.one last point over the years of travelling this is the only hotel my wife and myself have ever returned to we last stayed in 2006 and always said we would return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boodame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Although this is a Thomson Gold hotel we travelled there independantly using Easyjet and ResortHoppa. The flight, airport and hotel transport setup went without a hitch and saved us quite a bit in comparison to the packages on offer. We stayed at the Mare for 11 nights in total and were overall very impressed.

The Lindos Mare is situated on the cliffside of Vlicha Bay so when you arrive at the hotel it's a little misleading as the entrance is rather small and understated, but the hotel is quite large and spills down from the top to the bottom of the hill. This means you get great views from most of the rooms, ,however it does mean lots of steps and lifts. This may make it a poor choice for people who are less mobile as you also have to walk between the lifts and there are a steps in between in some cases. The reception area is spacious and houses the main bar which has the best views over the bay, a jewellery shop and car hire booth. The first lift down to the main pool is actually quite fun as its a bright green fernicular (or the wheely bin lift as we called it). The main pool is quite large with very comfy sunbeds and a large seating area, plus there is a seperate childrens pool, however as the hotel is built into the cliffside a good proportion of the sunbeds are shaded at some point during the day.

Also at the pool bar area is a pool / snack bar and the ala carte restaurant. We ate there one night and it was OK but not the best meal we had in Lindos. This is also where the entertainment and theme nights take place. On the floor below is the main restuarant thats used for breakfast and half board guest. We never ate there in the evening, but we did breakfast there and I think its one of the largest choices I've seen in a hotel and it was all fresh and excellent quality. The staff were super efficient as well with food replenished and plates taken away in the blink of an eye. Taking the lifts or stairs further down to the beach you will come across a smaller pool and bar / snack bar which is shared with the Lindos Blu. Most of the time we were there, this was our prefered daytime location as it was a bit quieter and the the staff were, as in all the hotel, very attentive. From the Beach bar you can cross the raod to the hotels beach are which had plenty of sunbeds, duckboards to walk across and waiters to get you drinks and food from the pool bar an excellent and unexpected setup.

We booked a junior Suite on B&B basis and the room and facilities were excellent. We had a garden room overlooking the bay with a patio area. Most of the patio and balconies are shaded but as this kept the heat out of the room it wasnt an issue. Do be aware that the cats at the hotel will adopt you wether you like it or not so if you have cat allergies go for a room non garden room (they are very clean and looked after). The room we had was a good size and deceorated in a bright and modern fashion. The tea making facilites and a fridge were most welcome and the hotel has a mini market where you can get some of the essentials, a larger supermarket is available done on the beach. The modern aspect of the room does lead to a couple of design affectations that could be better, firstly storage is fairly limited. There is a good sized wardrobe and 3 draws, but thats it. No draws in the bedside units or the dressing table. The second is the picture window bathrooms. Its seems to be the latest trendy design craze to bring the bathroom into the bedroom, well it photographs well and gives good light but its completely impracticle. There is a blind which you can drop so the wife doesnt have to gaze upon you on the toilet, however its not a balckout blind and therefore if you go to the loo in the night then the whole room lights up like Vegas. Final point rasied by my wife is that there is no full length mirror and apparently using the ones in the lifts isnt practicle.

The Hotel is on Vlicha Bay and there are a couple of bars and restaurants on the beach itself and the sister Hotel Lindos Blu is accessible from the Mare so there are some choices if yu dont want to venture into Lindos town. Getting into town is easy, there is a bus stop outside the hotel and busses run fairly frequently (its 1.50Euro to Lindos and 5Euro to Rhodes) a timetable is posted in reception. You can walk into town and the views over the bay are amazing, however I wouldnt advise walking at night as like most of Greece there are no pavements. A Taxi is the most convenient method of getting to town, though they do have a strange pricing policy. A taxi from the rank in Lindos to the Hotel is 6Euro, however call a taxi from the hotel to go into Lindos and this is 8Euro..apprently because they have to come from Lindos?

If you are on half board you may be tempted to stay within the confines of the hotel but both Lindos and Rhodes are worth a visit. There are loads of restaurants in Lindos town offering a huge selection, including indian and chinese. We stuck to Greek and I can recommend a few Restaurants in particular Dionsys. Arhontiko and our favourite Ambrosia. You must also visit the Lindos landmark the Acropolis. It's worth the walk for the great views and the history, however be warned it's not suitable for those with a fear of heights or if you have trouble walking. The EU Health and safety laws dont apply to Greece and so the walls and staircases dont have barriers or rails, apparently there have been some fatalities in the past. So enjoy but take care. You can get a donkey ride up to the gate of the Acropolis but there are still plenty of uneven ground and steps inside.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at the Lindos Mare. Its a lovely warm and welcoming hotel and its initial impression is deceiving. We had thought about staying at the Lindos Blu next door and went across to it a couple of times, its more modern and funky than the Mare, but its too cold and austere for us. We got the choice right with the Mare. The hotel is spotless, well laid out and the staff were just fantastic (special thanks to Petra at the beach bar). We'll certainly choose the Lindos Mare if we return to Lindos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor if you have difficulty walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LilBeethoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Arrived late at night and our first impression was not brilliant as the Hotel seemed a little dated in style and decor.Within 24 hours we couldn`t speak highly enough of this superb hotel.We stayed in a junior suite which was clean spacious and very well maintained.The beds being more than comfy which is a surprise for Greece.The breakfasts were outstanding and matched any worldwide 5 star groups offerings for choice,quality and organisation.The evening meals were again very very good - if you couldn`t find something to enjoy on the menu then I think you may have a problem.Not fine dining but good,well prepared and with excellent choices.The cakes being well above the normal hotel mediocrity.The staff were cheery ,helpful and very diligent,The nearby beach was a bonus along with the free sunbeds/umbrellas.There are a lot of steps but with the utilisation of the lifts this shouldn`t be a problem for anybody.Overall simply superb

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from staying 14 nights at the Lindos Mare and found it the most beautiful Hotel with lovely sea views,Friendly staff and amazing food! We stayed Half Board, and found most days we were swaping our evening meal for lunchtime menu's, leaving us free to do whatever we wish in the evening! You can do this free of charge on any day as long as you let reception know by 12 midday... and we were enjoying things like T-Bone Steak, Lamb, Chicken, Pasta's & Pizza's! It was just the best.... Although the main person I would like to thank would be our wedding co-ordinator Efi Steer, who could not do enough for us from the moment we arrived! We got married at St Pauls Chapel on 1st October, and had the reception back at the Lindos Mare! We booked a silver package, but Efi always gave us Gold star treatment! Everyone that joined us on our wedding abroad, loved it and didn't want to come home! I have just receieved the DVD and Photo's of our wedding and they brought a tear to my eye from how amazing our day was:) For anyone thinking about getting married in Lindos, I would highly recommend booking with Efi at the Lindos Mare :) Amanda... Now known as Mrs Burns :)xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manderoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,232 reviews
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
16.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,587 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
Boutique 5 Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kiotari
401 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 30 in Lindos
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Property: Lindos Mare Hotel
Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare: relaxing, elegant & welcoming Built into hillside terraces with panoramic views over beautiful Vlicha Bay, just 2.5 kilometres from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the hotel to the beach. Undoubtedly one of Rhodes’ most treasured retreats, the elegant Lindos Mare is a place to unwind to the slow rhythm of island life. Recent renovations to all areas, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. It’s no wonder that many guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing