We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all; magnificent”
Review of Lindos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindos Mare Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 10, 2011

It is indeed difficult to find something new about Lindos Mare, that has not yet been said.
Therefore in short; wonderful experience and one week was too short a time there. To mention some issues that specifically made our stay so magnificent; the beauty of the beach, the breath taking views, Lindos town short taxi ride away and the quality of food. The hotel may be of 4 star, but service is 5, no doubt. 5 start hotels are often somewhat formal, but in Lindos Mare the atmosphere was very relaxed and yet polite and efficient. Next time we’ll stay 2 weeks for sure and I envy those who are going there now.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AEROTRAVELLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
There are newer reviews for Lindos Mare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

Not being able to get into Lindos Blu which was full for the dates we wanted to stay (25th May-1st June) we stayed in the sister hotel next door, the Lindos Mare. We had stayed in Lindos Blu last year and having tried both hotels you are bound to compare and there are slight differences. Lindos Blu being newer, has glass lifts, glass balcony panels so as to not spoil your view of the bay and more luxurious sun loungers etc. etc. The actual bedrooms in both hotels are decorated very simiiar with exactly the same bathroom fittings. Both hotels have a main pool and small quieter pool. The only problem with Lindos Mare in our opinion was in the dining room at breakfast.The tables were squashed up together putting a table for two, inches away from another table for two. It was fairly awkward to get to some of the tables because of the amount of tables in there. At times it was really busy with extra tables being slotted in where they could. We were not there in peak season where i would imagine it would be a lot worse. The dining room at Lindos Blu is very spacious, well over double the size so this cramped dining experience is avoided. Having said that, that is the only gripe we had with the hotel. The staff are pleasant, food was fairly good, plenty choice (but sometimes had to wait for breakfast items to be refilled). Slight differences come with a price tag, while the Lindos Blu is excellent in all respects, it was double the price, making the Lindos Mare good value.
On our last evening we dined in Lindos at Broccolinos (an Italian) as it had been recommended on another Tripadvisor posting and had sea bream all bones, skin etc removed, superb!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite when booking for £98.00 for the week that had a big square sunny terra...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsMac349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks in mid June 2011 and it was one of the best holidays we’ve ever had, we will definitely be coming back.

I’m not going to repeat all the superlatives other reviewers have written – everything positive and good they have said about Lindos Mare and its friendly staff is true, and then some.

I’ll try and fill in some of the info that you might find helpful.

We booked via Thomsons. I got a quote off the web and then walked into my local branch and they matched the web price. This gives you the web saving plus the benefits of dealing face to face with someone.

The Thomson rep in the hotel, Aimee, was brilliant. She always seemed to be there and we booked 3 tours with her: 2 Cities (Lindos and Rhodes), West Coast, and Rhodes by Knight. All were great.

We also hired a car. There is a Rodos Cars office in the hotel reception area, and they do very good deals with zero excess. The guy running it is Martin from Manchester who has been on the island for 10 years and is very helpful. There is ample parking space at the hotel. We drove out north to Tsambika and Agathi beaches. Both are excellent sandy beaches with plenty of sun loungers, cafes, toilets. Sun loungers and umbrellas are 8 euros at both beaches. We preferred Agathi, it’s nearer. Both are clearly signposted from the main road. We also drove to the 7 springs (Epta Piges), and butterfly valley. Both are worth a visit.

The hotel is built into the hillside at the south end of Vlicha bay a couple of kilometres north of Lindos, and tumbles down the hillside to the beach. Consequently it is a bit labyrinthine and doesn’t follow the normal ‘square block plonked on a beach’ format. It takes four lifts to get from reception at the top of the hotel down to the beach at the bottom. The first lift from reception is really a funicular and goes down via floors D, E, F and H (no, me neither!) H is where the pool, pool bar and a la carte restaurant are. The mini market is on F. The other lifts go down via floors 2 to 0, 3 to 0, and 4 to 0. (Are you keeping up with me?). I make that potentially 17 floors I can’t believe there are that many floors! Finding the 4 lifts takes a day or two; they could really do with a yellow line on the floor leading from one lift to another down to the beach. (You could always walk down the stairs to the beach via the gardens!). I would say the hotel is not ideal for wheelchairs or those of limited mobility.

The beach at the Lindos Mare end of Vlicha Bay is sandy and pleasant, and is reached by crossing over a narrow, but quiet, road from the beach bar. Fronting on to the beach bar is a small infinity pool with sun loungers (See photo). There are ample sun loungers on the beach for private use of Lindos Mare (make sure you sit on the blue loungers) and its sister up market Lindos Blu Hotel. Lindos Blu snuggles direct up against Lindos Mare (See photo). As you walk north up the beach to the other hotels it gets gradually more and more shingle until its unpleasant to walk on, but the sand is fine at Lindos Mare. There is a super market up the beach and various bars and hotels. We liked the bar at the Rotunda, which for some reason has the name Azzura on the entrance (?) And is the first one you come to.

Our room was a junior suite on the reception floor and had a marvellous view of the bay across to Feraklos castle. The bathroom has a picture window into the bedroom! (see photo), but there is a blind you can roll down. The sky is really clear at night, and from our balcony it was possible to see the Milky Way.

The main pool is quite large and would be good for doing lengths and has a kid’s paddling pool next to it. There is a notice saying that any towels left on sun loungers at 9am will be removed, but I didn’t see this happening. By 10am all loungers had been taken up. We didn’t use the main pool, not because of any problem with it, we just preferred the beach. There is a kid’s playground with swings, a slide and see-saw, just down from the main pool.

There’s a spa with mini gym. The gym has a jogger, sit-down peddling machine, cross trainer, a fearsome looking exerciser and various weights and dumbbells. The controls are in English with a quick-start button.

They have some pretty good entertainment laid on at the pool bar, mainly tribute bands: Beatles (excellent!), Abba, Supremes, and Drifters. There is a Greek Night once a week on Tuesday in the a la carte restaurant.

They cater for wedding receptions which seem to happen almost daily. These are held in the conference room next to reception, and are not obtrusive.

There is a free internet PC in reception, but I couldn’t find any trace of a virus checker running on it, so be careful if accessing on-line banking. I tried Yahoo mail, but it said the security certificate had expired.

The bar at reception is great (see photo). It has a balcony looking down on the pool, and across the bay, with great views. We preferred this to the pool bar, it was more relaxing.

The only thing we could pick fault with is the food which was a bit up and down. In the main it was quite good, but for example I had a veal entrecote that was tough as an old boot, but the next night the veal bourguignon melted in the mouth. Strangely for a Greek restaurant hummus, taramasalata, pita bread and dolmades were conspicuous by their absence, except on Greek Night.

You can catch the bus into Lindos from the end of the drive. When we went to catch the 10am bus it went past full up. What we didn’t know was that there was another one coming in tandem, so we started to walk. It took 35 minutes to walk to the main square including stopping time to take in the excellent views on the way. We caught a taxi back from the main square. There is a list of fixed fares next to the rank to various places. It seems like it’s a fixed fare of 6 euros to get to Lindos Mare. Since the bus fare is 3.20 Euros for two it doesn’t seem a bad deal getting the taxi. If you catch the bus there is a free shuttle down the hill (and back) from the bus stop in Lindos at the top of the hill to the main square at the bottom of the hill.

Rhodes Town is worth a visit, you couldn’t possibly do it all in one day, and it’s shopping heaven, there’s even a Marks & Spencers just outside the old town walls!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nitroSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week at the tail end of June. Overall the hotel is excellent; clean, fresh and excellent food. The staff are the true assets of the hotel; every single employee seemed to go that extra mile in every single department.

The managers in the restaurant are entertaining and it's the first time I've experienced "Happy Birthday" being sung in 4 or 5 different languages at the one time!

We will return but perhaps around September as it did get rather hot when we stayed.

Thanks to all the team at the hotel - we really appreciated and enjoyed our stay with you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManagerEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We travelled 17th June till 30th June 2011, we got married at St Pauls Bay on Friday 24th June its was beautiful, the hotel was outstanding, as soon as we arrived we met Efi from the hotel who went through everything with us so simple, the food they did us for the wedding was beautiful. The staff couldn't do enough for you our favourite was Savvas. The rooms was immaculate, clean sheets, towels etc everyday. We will definitely be booking the same hotel for our first wedding anniversary. Mr & Mrs Julian, Russ and Tracy x

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Don't know what to say about this place that hadn't been said already.
This is our 4th stay at the Mare and it's not often that you find a hotel that gets better and better everytime you stay.
We stayed in a junior suite which was great for the 2 adults and 1 child (7).
We booked direct with Christina on the hotel website and take a taxi from the airport which is 65 euros.
This is a very friendly hotel and as reviews have said before the staff are first class. I would feel ashamed to mention anyone incase I left someone out.
This is not a 5 star nose stuck in the air stuffy hotel, it's elegant
classy and very chilled.
The pool is large and is never over busy the smaller pool at the bottom of the hotel is very peaceful.
The sunbeds on the beach are great and the bar service on the beach is amazing and an excellent touch.
We were halfboard and eat a few time in the a la carte pelagos at night you can also exchange your dinner for the lunch voucher which I have to say is amazing. This time we also had dinner a few
times in the main restaurant.
We love to go into Lindos at night , there isn't entertaiment everynight at the hotel and it's a good laugh.
The Greek night for me is amazing and the staff take part and have a blast.
There is a right mix of ages and nationality at this hotel and thus works well.
There is a large number of repeat guests who come back to this hotel and when you come you will see why. I think it well priced and value for money and if you want to have a nice gin & tonic served to you with your bowl of crisps and nuts and with a waitress who is happy to serve you then £5 is really reasonable.
Ladies the hairdryers in the room are fab no need to bring your own !

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel is a must, the staff from the cleaners to the managers are a credit. The rooms are superb, the food and selection was brilliant, a choice of two pools or the hotels private beach which has a great waiter service, so there is no need to move. They even supply you with large beach towels so you can save on your weight allowance, I am sorry but I cannot complain about anything concerning this hotel. Also they even allow you to change your evening meal to a lunch incase you wish to eat in one of the many restaurants in Lindos town. Some great characters, Michalis(Rafa Benitez) and Savvas(Jim Carrey), restaurant managers, and the top man himself Michalis on reception, nothing was any trouble whatsoever to him. many thanks for a tremendous time and thanks for making our anniversary so special.

Room Tip: request a high level sea view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadslads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,308 reviews
16.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
1.7 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
733 reviews
23.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos Mare Hotel

Address: 46th Km Ethniki Odos Rhodes-Lindos | Vlicha Beach, Lindos 851 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lindos
#2 Green Hotel in Lindos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lindos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: $98 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindos Mare: relaxing, elegant & welcoming Built into hillside terraces with panoramic views over beautiful Vlicha Bay, just 2.5 kilometres from the picturesque village of Lindos. A series of lifts, including a cable car, link the hotel to the beach. Undoubtedly one of Rhodes’ most treasured retreats, the elegant Lindos Mare is a place to unwind to the slow rhythm of island life. Recent renovations to all areas, together with impeccable service and excellent cuisine, create an atmosphere of elegance and tranquillity in which to enjoy the perfect relaxing holiday. It’s no wonder that many guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos Mare Hotel Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing