We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful,clean,friendly but basic!”
Review of Eleni's Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lindos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eleni's Studios
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Lindos
Reviewed July 22, 2012

the studios are well located,shops nearby,short walk to the bus stand,lindos of course is perfection!the studios are clean(thanks to nadia,elenis right hand lady)very basic though,& the most uncomfortable bed ive ever slept in!we opted for the part time air"con"as it only works when you are in the room,(7 euros a day),there is a weekly barbeque(15 euros)whichwas ok,but in town the choice is better,lovley pool,well kept garden,i think eleni needs to invest a little more to improve the comfort of the rooms though.overall we had great holiday.

Room Tip: we had a basement room which was nice & cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank franceseccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

Lindos as a resort is hard to beat; lots of tavernas, bars and restaurants in the town (Alex's was good) and 2 beaches.

Eleni Studios though is a mixed bag. The room was big, the kitchen area reasonably well equipped in a haphazard and slightly gungy way (I had to wash everything before use) but the bed was so uncomfortable it could have been used as a method of torture! Notices telling you of linen change twice a week are incorrect (only one change) and warnings of bills raised for stained towels (ours were threadbare and holey) were rather ungracious. I had to buy bleach (the lavatory was disgustingly stained) and loo rolls since they weren't replaced at all all week. Don't get me started on the dust and cobwebs under the basin in the bathroom. The room was 'cleaned' every other day - I'm not sure what was actually done, certainly the floor was not swept and mopped, nor was the loo cleaned (we came back one day to find urine all around the porcelain, not there before we had gone out I hasten to add) hence the necessity to buy bleach.

We paid 60euros for aircon from 21.00 - 09.00hrs and the use of the safe for a week. Due to a late departure we also paid 30euros to keep our room 'til 18.00hrs - this facility is not advertised, we heard it in passing from another guest.

The pool was fine and there were always enough sunbeds and parasols. The pool bar was adequate but expensive, but again the rules made it user unfriendly. Forcing people off their sunbeds and to the tables in the shade to have a drink is surely counter productive for sales. Eating or drinking your own supplies is prohibited at the poolside.

The studios are set in a pleasant garden and having a basement studio was very good, the terrace was shady from 11am onwards. The sun dips below the hillside at around 19.00 hours, so there is never evening sunshine to sit in no matter which side of the studios you sit! They are also well located with 2 supermarkets in easy reach and the main bus-stop only a short walk away.

All in all, I cannot recommend Eleni Studios; we noticed that there was alot of return custom, some couples have been using them for 10 years, perhaps their standards and expectations are much lower then ours, perhaps they are better served for being returnees? Disappointing, it has the potential to be so much better.

Room Tip: Basement studios are cooler through the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Uxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We went to Eleni Studios in June and as far as the location was concerned it was situated where we expected it to be as we'd been to Lindos before so no disappointment there. It is nice and quiet but we found it just a bit too basic. The kitchen consisted of two small rings and a kettle. No toaster, oven or microwave. Very little crockery. We were only there for a week and tended to eat out at night in Lindos which was just as well as trying to self-cater would have been very difficult.
The plus points were the quietness, the studio was a good size, quite spacious, the pool bar was reasonably priced (always empty when we were there) the pool itself was quite a good size. And the young woman who was Eleni's helper was always very nice and pleasant. Along with two other couples, we booked for the weekly barbecue at 15 euros a head but it was not very good and poor value.

Apart from the poor kitchen areas, the other main minus point was the sunbeds. There actually were enough sunbeds but unfortunately half of them were on the side of the pool that had grass, very very long grass. There wasn't enough room on the other side of the pool to move them so they lay unused. The holiday rep actually commented on the length of the grass one day when we were chatting, it was nearly knee high. The air conditioning was extra, 7 euros a day to have it switched on from 9pm until 9am. 12 euros a day all day.

Apart from Eleni herself there was only one young woman to do everything and we got the impression that they were struggling to manage everything.

We wouldn't go back to Eleni. We don't like big busy hotels but we found this accommodation to be just too basic. With a little bit of investment it could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mop52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed as a group of three friends at Eleni Studios between 20th-27th July 2011 and found that it far exceeded our expectations. The room itself was spacious, well furnished and clean.
The pool area is incredibly well kept, and the backdrop to the studios is stunning. To reiterate other people's comments, we never had a problem getting a sunbed. We used the snack bar on occasion; soft drinks and ice creams were reasonably priced. Also, Eleni's freshly squeezed orange juice is a must!
We opted for the part-time air con, 9pm-9am which suited us fine, keeping the room relatively cool throughout the day. Found the staff perfectly helpful and friendly whenever we encountered them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren_121990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

A good mix of new and old i.e new apartment blocks such as Lindos Gardens and Horizon and then there's the donkey's, goats and shacks of the old Greece a nice blend. You can here donkeys braying and goats rutting frequently we enjoyed this. Not a place for children in fact Lindos in the summer is not for children its toooooooooo hot for them. I would say this place would suit couples who are active as the walk into the village is challenging in 40 c heat. The rooms are large, clean and with a great balcony with good views. Delightful private gardens and a lovely pool. Only thirteen studios so always a sunbed available anytime of day. We attended the weekly BBQ to meet the other guests and enjoyed it.
Nadia who runs the place is lovely works very hard and has a smile for everyone.
100 Euros for air con which works well 20 Euros for a safe...drinks 3.50 for a beer 2.50 for a small white wine 0.80 for a small bottle of water.
Trips to Symi didnt enjoy the crowds on the ferrys not a good day for us Symi is nice though 70 Euros for this.
We really enjoyed our stay at Elenis in Lindos super time.

Room Tip: Buy food and water from the nearby supermarket and wear mossy repellant at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abboWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Eleni Studios are larger than average, clean and comfortably furnished, set in attractive well-maintained gardens with a pool. It's a nice quiet location - if anything will disturb your sleep it will be donkeys or dogs, not nightlife.

As so often in Greece, crockery, glasses etc. were a bit random and limited, but we managed OK with what we had, eating in a couple of evenings. The bed was more comfortable than many we've experienced in Greece, but for the first two nights (when the weather wasn't great) I was cold in bed, as no extra blankets were provided. (I appreciate that for most of the year being too hot is the issue, but it doesn't seem too much to ask for extra blankets early or late in the season.)

Cleaning the room 4 times during our week stay was sufficient in our view, but given the toilet paper rules in Greece, it would have been nice to have the bin emptied daily.

The apartments have been built to take advantage of the view of the acropolis. This means that the balconies get the morning sun, but in the evening are quite dull. We like to sit and have a drink in the evening sunshine before dinner, so this was a bit disappointing. Furthermore, as we were there early in the season, the cafe bar by the pool was only open from 10.00 - 3.00, so even though parts of the garden did get the sun until 6ish, you couldn't get a drink there either.

We saw almost nothing of the staff there, but in our brief encounters with them, they were pleasant and friendly.

Previous reviewers have commented that the studios are a long way from the centre of the village, and up a steep hill. I think this could be off-putting. Yes, it is a little walk to the village, but there is a friendly small supermarket just across the road, and the bus stop (to get to Rhodes Town and nearby places like Lardos and Pefkos) is only a very short walk. Also, if the steep hill IS too much for you, there's a slightly longer but less steep way into the village via the second entrance (which takes you in near a couple of very good restaurants). During the daytime there is a free shuttle bus from the bus stop to the square at the entrance to the village - so long as your need to use it doesn't coincide with the arrival or departure of the large fleet of cruise ship trip buses (Tip: don't spend mornings in Lindos!), this is handy.

For what we paid (last minutish booking) we had good value for money at the Eleni Studios, but we've stayed in more atmospheric places in other parts of Greece.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank SeafoodQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The studios are comfortable, the price is good, the pool area lovely, its a long walk up the hill from town on a hot afternoon but even that isnt so bad. The thing is that Eleni the owner really doesnt seem to like tourists, she was rude, angry and insulting towards us over a minor misunderstanding which couldve been resolved very easily and spoiled what couldve been a wonderful time in Lindos. We will return to Lindos but nowhere near Eleni. Good luck, hope you catch her on a good day if you choose to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pvk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lindos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
851 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Studios
George Studios
#26 of 30 in Lindos
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domna Studios
Domna Studios
#19 of 30 in Lindos
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yota Beach Hotel
Yota Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Vlycha
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#11 of 30 in Lindos
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleni's Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleni's Studios

Address: Lindos Avenue, Lindos 851 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lindos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lindos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lindos
#12 Family Hotel in Lindos
Price Range: $56 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleni's Aaprtments are set in a quiet away of afandou - only a 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minute stroll to the main village of Afandou. Apartments sleep from 2-5 persons. Swimming pool with free use of sunbeds, breakfast and snack bar. We are a small and friendly family run hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eleni Studios Hotel Afandou
Eleni's Studios Lindos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing