We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avra”
Review of Avra Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lindos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avra Apartments
Ranked #31 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Lindos
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked a two week holiday from 8.6.13 to 22.6.13 as a surprise for my wife's 50th birthday. These were the worst appartments I have stayed at in over 30 years of travelling abroad.

We arrived on the Saturday to be told by the representative that remote controls would be left by the maid for the air conditioning. When they were not available he promised to sort this out at the welcome party in the morning. This was not done and his excuse was that the maids who hold them had refused to come out. We therefore had to suffer two days without air conditioning. Sam then went on to comment that we could open the windows as there was no air conditioning. I therefore pointed out to him that on the coach to the resort he had told us that there was a mosquito problem and we shoul buy plug ins!! Also we were on the ground floor, so this would have clearly posed security issues.On the subject of security there were no safe deposit boxes available anywhere near the apartments so we had to carry our passports and all of our money around with us permanently. Furthermore on leaving we were told to leave our cases out at 8 a.m even though we were not being picked up until 12.45 - what should we then tell airport staff when we are asked whether our cases had been left unattended??

On arrival we noticed that there was no kettle, only a little greek pot to boil water. This was laughable as 1 hour later we were still waiting for hot water for a cup of tea. We therefore asked the rep on two separarate occasions if it was possible to get a kettle. His second lie of the holiday was to tell us that he couldn't get one, when in fact we later discovered that he gave out two kettles to people who arrived after us! The cooking stove itself also had very little power in it and when we tried to cook some bacon that we had brought with us it was till doing absolutely nothing in the frying pan 15 minutes after we had turned the cooker on.

There were also numerous other issues-

When we arrived we were given one toilet roll. This ran out and we asked for another only to be told that you only get one at the Avra.

The maid service was abysmal. When she made the bed, she just threw the sheet over - one day my wife's glasses and top were still under the sheet! She barely mopped the floor and on the only occasion she did which I think was just for show it was a sloppy one handed effort. We didn't get a sheet change until after 9 days and some of the towels we were given had holes in them.

The shower had to be held above your head and the area itself was tiny. In the shower room water was coming up through the drain when we arrived.

The room itself was gloomy and poorly lit

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snorz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

My family and I have been holidaying in Lindos for 20 years, we have stayed in several appartments over the years and to be honest they are all very similar. Very basic often two single beds a wardrobe and a dressing table. The kitchen areas are usually two electric rings, a fridge and a sink. We discovered the Avra appartments about 10 years ago and only stay here when in Lindos. The previous reviews of Avra are completely true the cleaning falls far below standard I take wipes and buy bleach on the first day and give the place a quick going over myself. The shower curtains are old and you wouldn't want it touching you so we tuck ours up and just let the water go over the bathroom floor. (we leave a towel outside of the bathroom door to avoid slips). Yes the cleaner does come round early...even if you are in bed or getting dressed she just comes right in and yes the mop is filthy we now take a note translated into Greek asking her not to come and just to change the sheets once a week. We also take a travel kettle, mugs, tea towels, dish spounge, sharp knife and our own cutlary as the kitchen equipment is as bad as other reviewers have described we also take our own towels and a few loo rolls and liquid hand soap as none of these are supplied or satisfactory in the rooms. Be aware that the air con costs 50 euros for a week payable to the cleaner if you can find her on your arrival. So far these appartments sound awful so why stay here year after year? They really are not as bad as they sound so long as you know what to expect and have prepared yourselves by taking a few extra bits of your own as we do. We love Lindos, and are total beach lovers, these are the only appartments on the beach and it is so convient being able to pop back to your room for cold drinks or an afternoon snooze or to collect bits and pieces during the day and for me I like to be able to freshen up and wait for the coolness of the evening before walking up into the village (this can be a struggle in the strong heat of the day). The village is just a short walk up the hill where you will find wonderful restaurants to suit every budget our favorites are Ambrosia (with the very wonderful George. We come here every year for our anniversary, we pre order the Lobster pasta which is not on the menu anymore so you need to speak to the owner Geaorge a few days in advance and trust me this is so worth it) and The Melenos Hotel which is directly under the Acropolis, has amazing sea views and a really lovely cocktail bar. Also there are some lovely beach tavernas, Nefali which is next to the appartments and offers avra guests a 10% discount, Mediteranio and Mare Mare which are located on the small beach and are open late into the evening, Mare Mare have candle lit tables on the beach which makes for a lovely romantic feel to the evening and they serve the best calamari in lindos. The Avra appartments are of a low standard but I think that the same can be said for most of the appartments in Lindos, but Lindos really is somewhere special, everyone that you meet will either have been here before or will be coming back so don't let the accomodation put you off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Veggie_shira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hello All,
We always stay at Avra Studios. The location is just perfect, right on the main beach. It's a short walk up the hill to the main square and the start of the village. The apartments are a bit tired and the cleaner isn't the most diligent but we couldn't imagine a trip to Lindos without staying at Avra. A few years back, this place was incredibly cheap. However, prices appear to be on the rise. If you want everything just so then this place isn't for you. If you want peacefull, basic accommodation on the beach within a short ten minute walk from the village then this is the place for you.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LulusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed 3 times at the avra apartments and I will definitely go again i love it.

The apartments are very very basic. If you can get a first floor 1 bed apartment you get a huge balcony and they are much lighter. If you get one of the studios they are quite dark. That being said they have everything you need and the location is fantastic, right on the gorgeous beach.
Lindos itself is one of my favourite places in Greece. The town is so pretty and the food is delicious. Our favourite place (which i cant remember the name of) is the greek cypriot resteraunt on the road that veers left as you walk into town. The food and service is great.

If you want somewhere basic to sleep at night but want to spend most of your time on the beach and seeing the beautiful sights of Rhodes then the Avra apartments are perfect!

Room Tip: one bedroom apartments on top of the resteraunt- much lighter and have big balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemma87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here with two girlfriends for chilled out holiday & we got just what we wanted at a great price - approx £600 for 3 adults for the first week in August. Total bargin! From start to finish our holiday was brilliant, including the flight. We booked online with olympic holidays & just must have hit a lucky bargin window of opportunity, so we took it and and no regrets whatsover. I was a little nervous as we could have booked Lindos Gardens for the same price, but we were delighted at beach location. Yes, it is basic and after reading reviews I even brought a set of picnic crockery, but there was no need - it was well enough equited, think we bought a chopping knife - no big deal. Given the location and typical friendly Greek hospitality we could not have asked for anything more. If you want to kick back and relax with a group of friends and familly, and still feel that you're in Greece - then book a holiday here! My idea of hell would be all inclusive, five star "pretend resort/ complex", especially in Greece because you just wouldn't feel the lovely Greek vide - whereas here you certainly will. While on this trip we visited both Rhodes town on a day trip and island hopped to Santorini & we were only there for a week! We will be returning as soon as possible, as flying direct from Belfast is expensive and limited. A wee freshening up of the apartments would be wonderful, but not essential if the price is right. Also, the restaurants in the village are wonderful - try Methos for great views and wonderful food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Gilly_Gump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed in lindos a numerous of times which i love but i have got to say if you do stay in avra be ready to take your gloves because the cleaner doesn't really clean alot and mops around with a dirty mop and thats about it, the rooms are very basic and really need refurbishing, i hope the owners do actually do something about it this winter but we will see, it's location is just brill ,right on the beach and the actual vallage is about 10 mins walk up a hill or along the beach but as for lindos its beautiful, if you dont like basic try one of the hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank mon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have stayed at these apartments about 6 times now. Don't expect luxury, but they are basic typically greek apartments just about 100 strides from your beach bed & sea. Brilliant!! What more could you want. There are 3 tavernas on the beach and a 15 min walk takes you to a smaller beach with at least 6 tavernas on. Its about 15 mins up hill into town, but very quick getting home. This is the perfect place to stay if you like 'beach life' lying in the sun (like I do) or swinmming and snorkelling like my husband.

Room Tip: apartment facing sea, then you get a table and chairs to sit at in the day/evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Ruthie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindos
0.2 mi away
Melenos Lindos Hotel
Melenos Lindos Hotel
#3 of 30 in Lindos
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lambis Studios
Lambis Studios
#12 of 30 in Lindos
414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yota Beach Hotel
Yota Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Vlycha
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
840 reviews
5.0 mi away
Paul's Garden Studios
Paul's Garden Studios
#4 of 18 in Haraki
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Galini Lindos
Villa Galini Lindos
#8 of 55 in Lindos
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Apartments

Address: Lindos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Lindos
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Avra Apartments Hotel Lindos
Avra Apartments Lindos, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing