We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Ambrosia Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 87 Restaurants in Lindos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went to this restaurant as recommended by guests at our hotel (Amy, Richard & Lewis). They had been 3 times before and rated it very highly. We were not disappointed.
We were on Honeymoon so although we were in an All Inclusive Hotel we decided to eat out in Lindos and have a slap up meal with the Euros we'd been given as wedding presents.
This place was perfect, the restaurant was gorgeous, cosy and romantically lit without being too dark, we were sat in a courtyard and it took us about half an hour to realise we were even outside. George the owner was very impressive with his knowledge of the food and wine and his demonstrations on how to handle and eat the various seafood were welcome and amusing but in a good way. I had spaghetti with prawns and was given a set of pliers and what looked like a scalpel. They were big and needed some effort to shell. My husband's prawns however, were the size of Lobster so he needed a little more help!! Overall we loved it, food, service, drink, the fact that we were left to sit at our table for 3 hours without being ushered away, it was amazing.
It is a little on the expensive side but I think well worth it and not like the usual fodder in Lindos. Definitely worth a trip for a treat. If you only eat in Lindos once go here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeti1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    84
    29
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Deservedly Up There with the Best in Lindos”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There is no doubt that Ambrosia deserves it's place alongside Mavrikos and Melanos Lindos as a must-visit food destination in Lindos. The line of people waiting to get in is no fluke.

The place itself is small and intimate with plenty of space for couples to have a romantic meal, no need for roof top views when in such a wonderfully appointed restaurant that is very classy. The food is delightful and very contemporary backed up with some excellent service and nice touches.

The only negative was that there was an over saucing of the food somewhat but that is very picky and reflects the high standards that a place like this sets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryAbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Classy joint”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recommended by our hotel this is a ground floor restaurant as distinct from the usual roof top restaurants. Good quality food and upmarket from the usual taverna type. The owner takes time to explain the menu and provides recommended wines to accompany each course. Worth trying for a special occasion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodiesHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, sadly disappointing food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been regular visitors to Ambrosia over the years and have always been blown away by the place, but when we went to Lindos in June we felt that things had changed at Ambrosia and the food lacked that special something it had had before. We suspected there was a new chef and maybe they were taking time to settle in, so we hoped that when we returned in August the restaurant would have returned to its best.

On arrival the restaurant is still amazing - a tiny building with a few tables, very intimate, more for couples and small groups than families or wedding parties. It is beautifully lit, air conditioned, and is immaculate from top to bottom. George, Litsa, Dimitris and Maria make you feel welcome and provide attentive service, topping up your wine as your glass gets a little low, but it isn't overwhelming - it's wonderful. Every time you eat there it feels special.

The menu is small but George knows it inside out. Ask a question about a dish and he can answer it, right down to the ingredients in the sauces. If you want to change something you can, so if you're not happy that your chicken comes with couscous just ask and you can have something else. There is a good wine list but once you have picked your dishes you can ask George to suggest a wine and he'll advise you, and don't worry - he doesn't leap to the upper end of the list, he suggested two of the cheapest ones on our visits and they were both excellent, and neither was a variety we'd have chosen by ourselves.

Unfortunately we were still disappointed by the food this time around - maybe the chef needs a little longer to settle in, or maybe the sources of the ingredients have changed? On our first visit my girlfriend had pasta and said it was very nice, but my lamb shank was quite tough and rather tasteless, unlike all of the other lamb dishes I had elsewhere in Lindos. The second visit we both had the chicken and felt it was undercooked, red patches in areas, others looking a little too "glassy" for our liking, so we left much of it. It was such a shame as the sauce and the overall presentation was lovely.

I really hope things will have changed when we return next year because we know just how good Ambrosia can be, but this time I'm sorry to say we think the restaurant deserves 5* for the atmosphere and the service, but just 3 for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasalhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This resturant is a MUST if you are in Lindos. We ate here 3 years ago when my husband and I were on our honeymoon. It's so good we went 3 times in one wk and have just returned to Lindos especially to take our son as its somewhere we have spoken highly of since. Our son is nearly 14 and says its the best resturant his ever been to, he loved everything about it from the food to George and his family (not forgetting Alfie). The food and service is outstanding. We can't wait to return next year and our son (Lewis) is insisting when his old enough his coming to work for you George ;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ambrosia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing